Xiaomi MiTV2 help

mazzel

Thanks i1magic for the info and the video embed, so have you changed yours to English Language menu.
I wonder the Xhome is better than the Shafa app.
I guess this depends on what you would like to do :)
The XHome App is, in my opinion, the easiest way to switch 90% of the TV to english. Some menues stay Chinese, as some buttons are actually pictures. But for daily use this is definetly more then enough :)

Uno_Hu

Thank you mazzel. I wouldn't know if my Xiaomi TV3 would come with which firmware version. So is there any difference? As long as either of the app can be used to convert language menu.
Where can I download the apk?

i1magic

Thanks i1magic for the info and the video embed, so have you changed yours to English Language menu.
I wonder the Xhome is better than the Shafa app. What about the OTG cable for the T2 tuner? Managed to work around it on the T230?

My Mi TV 2 55" came already in English. It was done by the seller. I asked the seller, they told me that their charges is $100 for coming down to install those apps + conversion to English.

I am tempted to do a factory reset of my Mi TV 2 back to 1.1.70.

The 2 main app which I will need to confirm can work are :

1. YouTube app
2. TV Plus 2.0 app

Does any of you who got the Mi TV on your own? Installed and confirm that both of this app will work even without PlayStore?

Uno_Hu

My Mi TV 2 55" came already in English. It was done by the seller. I asked the seller, they told me that their charges is $100 for coming down to install those apps + conversion to English.

1. YouTube app
2. TV Plus 2.0 app

Does any of you who got the Mi TV on your own? Installed and confirm that both of this app will work even without PlayStore?

From the video that was presented by this JAT it looks like even you do a factory reset of the Mi TV 2 you can't revert it back to 1.1.70

ipaq4444

Another introduction of Mi TV 3 60".

Apparently, the Mi TV 3 has a power point. But the soundbar, does not. It draws power from the TV via the Mi Port.

That means that the Mi TV 3 soundbar can ONLY be use with Mi TV 3.

But luckily, there is another version of the soundbar that comes with it's own power point.

website say the Mi Tv3 soundbar can be connect to any tv panel but i am wondering if it connect to Mi Tv 3 via the Mi port then how to connect to Mi Tv 2 or other Tv without the Mi port?

i1magic

1. YouTube app
2. TV Plus 2.0 app

From the video that was presented by this JAT it looks like even you do a factory reset of the Mi TV 2 you can't revert it back to 1.1.70

The TV I got was in Aug 2015. As I have said, I actually accidentally updated to 1.1.82 (Stable).

Now, I am not sure whether is there still the original 1.1.70 (Stable) firmware embedded somewhere in the TV.

Somebody posted awhile ago that he did a factory reset and the TV was reset to 1.1.70 (Stable).

I am not sure lah but got chance.

Uno_Hu

Hmnn....good luck on your factory reset. After watching the video. Nothing will go wrong I'm sure.

Passer

Spent my weekend tinkering with my mitv 2.

Previously i always update once got new updates as I believed updates brings improvements but how I know the recent ones brings the ads, so irritating. Once on TV got ads. Luckily still can work around.

Finally got it rooted and disable the ads and update prompt.

Anyway changing the Lang to English is easy and don't need root. Just need to sideload one apk will do.

Sent from Huawei NEXUS 6P using GAGT

i1magic

Previously i always update once got new updates as I believed updates brings improvements but how I know the recent ones brings the ads, so irritating. Once on TV got ads. Luckily still can work around.

Anyway changing the Lang to English is easy and don't need root. Just need to sideload one apk will do.

Wah .... please share the steps here leh.

So your TV firmware version now is 1.1.92 (Stable)? Or 1.1.70 (Stable)?

Uno_Hu

Ya lo please share with us ;) many thanks in advance.

kherro

Hi Guys,

I'm thinking of getting the Xiaomi tv2 40inch.

I understand that i can get it in sls right?

I also asking whether is there anyone noes where can hire someone to do the wall mounting?

Thanks!

geeker

The TV I got was in Aug 2015. As I have said, I actually accidentally updated to 1.1.82 (Stable).

Now, I am not sure whether is there still the original 1.1.70 (Stable) firmware embedded somewhere in the TV.

Somebody posted awhile ago that he did a factory reset and the TV was reset to 1.1.70 (Stable).

I am not sure lah but got chance.

Don't bother with the factory reset cos I've done it and the firmware still remain at 1.1.82 after that.

jinxiang

Thank you mazzel. I wouldn't know if my Xiaomi TV3 would come with which firmware version. So is there any difference? As long as either of the app can be used to convert language menu.
Where can I download the apk?
Hi Uno_Hu,

I'm very keen to get a Mi TV3 60inch.....just curious if you have got yours? Where did you order from?

Uno_Hu

Hi Uno_Hu,

I'm very keen to get a Mi TV3 60inch.....just curious if you have got yours? Where did you order from?

It has just been ship with ETA 6th Feb. I used 65daigou Buy4me. Please give them a call and check the procedures with their friendly Singapore office CSO.

moron+genius

It has just been ship with ETA 6th Feb. I used 65daigou Buy4me. Please give them a call and check the procedures with their friendly Singapore office CSO.
do we have to pay gst when it reach SG? How is it paid? Shipper pay 4 us and charge us or we pay direct to custom?

i1magic

Don't bother with the factory reset cos I've done it and the firmware still remain at 1.1.82 after that.

Wah lau ... serious ah? *sigh*

By the way, when you play video on YouTube, is it smooth? It is jerky on my Mi TV 2 now.

pspeter

1. YouTube app
2. TV Plus 2.0 app

my mitv still with fw 1.1.70, I can confirm that "Youtube for Android TV v1.2.7" can work nicely but not perfectly (can play up to 1080p, but cannot use phone to play on TV, cannot log in youtube acc...etc) sadly the latest v1.3.8 not working correctly.

P/S: you can download from apkmirror, "Youtube for Android TV" is working, "Youtube for Google TV" & other not working...

pspeter

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.