Xiaomi MiTV2 help

i1magic

I myself has a 49" mitv for about 1.5 yrs already. one thing I noticed about my miTV is that it has heat issue after playing for a while. I place this mitv in my bedroom..I then place a fan blowing directly into the back of the mitv, now I can play the tv for many hours. I also disable my auto update function and my mitv version is still at 1.1.63 stable.. cheers

I got my Mi TV 2 55" in Aug 2015.

*touchwood* So far so good. Doesn't seems to have any heat issue or whatever problem.

Firmware 1.1.70 is one of the best. 1.1.63 should be not bad also. Those after 1.1.70 is not so good liao.

Anyway, if really cannot tahan, just buy a separate Android TV box.

sEnG55

Nice. How much and how did you buy the Mi TV 3?

Ok. Try this first :

1. Unplug all cables then plug them back in again
2. Try viewing video from YouTube, do you get that problem

Need to isolate the problem. Sometimes, it could be just due to the HDMI cable that you use, that's why I say watch from YouTube (should be from the Soundbar via the Mi-cable to TV only).
I bought via ezbuy prime for around 1k with the subwoofer option.

I don't have Youtube app in my MiTV as it is not rooted..

I'm also considering to purchase another MiPort cable to try, hopefully it's due to that.

How about the manual update of the software? Any idea where to download the firmware and manual update or you always wait for it to auto download?

Thanks.

Quest

I'm also considering to purchase another MiPort cable to try, hopefully it's due to that.

How about the manual update of the software? Any idea where to download the firmware and manual update or you always wait for it to auto download?

Thanks.

Try doing a factory rest, u can install YouTube using apk file.

sEnG55

Try doing a factory rest, u can install YouTube using apk file.

Hi, can guide the method for factory reset?

Oh Youtube without the google sign in not much use... i save alot of subscription in my account :)

launm88

Henry Ng

Let me remind others of my experience with LG (which you already know).

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/102945085-post828.html

You already know because you are in that thread trying to convince me to buy LG again. Seriously, I am not Xiaomi salesman but are you LG salesman or distributor or whatever that could be hurt if LG sales is not good?

Honestly in Sg the market is small so we really do not have much choice but to go for Samsung, LG or Sony Tv. Alternatively you can get a cheap Tv like Skyworth then connect a android Tv box to it to watch. I am trying this method in one of my guess room. I am doing it just to test it out. So far so good.

i1magic

Thanks.

Wah lau .... only $1K ... damn cheap.

My Mi TV 2 55" is also not rooted. Just download this apk :

http://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google...utube-android-tv-1-3-11-android-apk-download/

Put on thumbdrive and plug it into the Mi TV and install from there.

Don't bother about messing with the firmware. Just get another Android TV and use that one. You can try anything on that.

i1magic

Oh Youtube without the google sign in not much use... i save alot of subscription in my account :)

Can try this, should be about the same.

Yah lah. Got YouTube and no subscription is better than no YouTube at all right?

i1magic

Honestly in Sg the market is small so we really do not have much choice but to go for Samsung, LG or Sony Tv. Alternatively you can get a cheap Tv like Skyworth then connect a android Tv box to it to watch. I am trying this method in one of my guess room. I am doing it just to test it out. So far so good.

Wah .... on this post :

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/102949218-post829.html

You say SkyWorth no good. But now you change liao .... can accept SkyWorth liao. Think if you could get to try one of the Mi TVs ... you may also accept them like Samsung and LG liao. LOL!

Henry Ng

Wah .... on this post :

You say SkyWorth no good. But now you change liao .... can accept SkyWorth liao. Think if you could get to try one of the Mi TVs ... you may also accept them like Samsung and LG liao. LOL!

MiTv can not la because it is chinese interface. And once spoilt is throw and Skyworth is super cheap so it is ok to throw la. Skyworth tuner not good but HDMI to android Tv box is ok.

i1magic

Wah .... on this post :

MiTv can not la because it is chinese interface. And once spoilt is throw and Skyworth is super cheap so it is ok to throw la. Skyworth tuner not good but HDMI to android Tv box is ok.

No lah, my Mi TV 2 55" interface is in English. Use this method :

The LG 42" TV that I have also spoilt liao then throw, same same mah. Anyway, if the Mi TV 2 55" and SkyWorth 42" TV were to both last > 3.5yrs, I will not buy all this so-called branded TVs again.

Quest

There's reset in the option...go play ard...
My 55" MiTV3 also has sudden black screen after firmware upgrade.

Have to revert old firmware & factory reset...now no such issue

sEnG55

There's reset in the option...go play ard...
My 55" MiTV3 also has sudden black screen after firmware upgrade.

Have to revert old firmware & factory reset...now no such issue
Thanks bro, i spotted that option now. Didn't realise that since my UI in chinese and have to read carefully the words. Will try to factory reset to see if it resolves the blackout issue.

Btw what firmware version you on now?

sEnG55

Can try this, should be about the same.

Yah lah. Got YouTube and no subscription is better than no YouTube at all right?
thanks bro for the video, i try the factory reset by Quest first..

Learnt how to do a soft reboot from the video... didn't know long time the power button got another menu. :)

BlueCloud85

Just dropped by the Xiaomi store at suntec. The salesgirl said they will be carrying the 65" and 70" early next year(Jan - feb).

With official warranty and great price, this will be a good competition to the Korean TV

Stallone

Just dropped by the Xiaomi store at suntec. The salesgirl said they will be carrying the 65" and 70" early next year(Jan - feb).

With official warranty and great price, this will be a good competition to the Korean TV
gd to hear, getting my credit card ready!

Quest

Thanks bro, i spotted that option now. Didn't realise that since my UI in chinese and have to read carefully the words. Will try to factory reset to see if it resolves the blackout issue.

Btw what firmware version you on now?

Now back to 1.2.6 which was default come with the TV.....

Now cannot get new firmware prompt liao even pressing check for update...

i1magic

My guess is that the price range for the Mi TV 3S 65" with subwoofer and surround speakers would be about $2,299 with 1yr warranty.

If it is at that price, would you still buy this?

i1magic

Henry Ng, from next year, should have Mi TV 3S 65" with local warranty liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.