kazuki666

Ordered a few casings to play with. :D

TB2uHm0fpXXXXbXXXXXXXXXXXXX_!!1110015260.jpg

TB2oKlifXXXXXc0XpXXXXXXXXXX-1700473990.jpg

kokitty

I'm very interested in this phone, however my concern is where to service it if there is anything wrong, since it is yet to be released by Xiaomi Sg. Any idea if Adix or Mobile Bee is able to do repairs if i buy from them?

even if Adix or Mobile Bee is willing to help you, must send back to China for repairs... the to and forth courier fees + admin fees for a sub $200 phone is not worth it. If really spoilt, then writing it off and move on is easier.

Suggest you wait for the SG set to get released. Shouldn't be that long a wait now. 1+ month ago, i was tempted to get a non SG set too but decided against it.

kazuki666

I'm very interested in this phone, however my concern is where to service it if there is anything wrong, since it is yet to be released by Xiaomi Sg. Any idea if Adix or Mobile Bee is able to do repairs if i buy from them?

First of all, you need to know if you buy from any of the dealers now and then later Mi Singapore releases le, they also will charge you if you bring to them for repairs hor.

Then, are you prepared to research by yourself how to flash your phone so that it is able to "behaves" like normal android phones? I am a newbie to chinese imported phone myself, so I was quite shocked the amount of efforts I had to do so that I can use my regular Google apps on this phone. However, if you need help on this area, I will be most glad to help as much as I can. Thats the whole idea of a forum mah. :)

Next, who to buy from. Well, its really to each individual le. My personal experience with Adix82, I say he is worth going to. Reasonable price, and great service and attitude from him.

Lastly, this phone is not expensive lah, and I feel its ok to do most of my daily stuff. I have yet to try my regular games on this phone, but I believe it should perform as well too.

cslim35

Anyone uses note 2 with google cardboard? Can see pixels on the screen when watching video?

clay9477

Thanks all for the reply.

Yup I know that when Xiaomi eventually launch it SG I would need to pay for the servicing as it is an export set, just concern that before they bring it in, even if I willing to pay also can't find anyone to fix it.

My Redmi 1 was great, but Redmi 2 is still giving me lots of problems even after couple of trips down the service center so have lost some faith in this brand.

Will try to decide by tonight since the citibank promo on lazada is really attractive!

I think need to correct the misinformation. Even if SG release the set, as long as it is not a local set, Xiaomi Service centre will not repair even if you offer to pay. It's their policy. Only repair is send back to china via courier or visit SLS.

kazuki666

I think need to correct the misinformation. Even if SG release the set, as long as it is not a local set, Xiaomi Service centre will not repair even if you offer to pay. It's their policy. Only repair is send back to china via courier or visit SLS.

oh, really ah? Because i heard ppl say can wor. But then Redmi phone not worth to repair lor. Buy at $200+, then repair $100++ not worth lor imo.

clay9477

Good news. Back covers are slowly releasing.

m.mi.com/index.html#ac=product&op=view&commodity_id=1153300083

cscs3

I am reading some forums saying to download the Google Installer apk, some forums say get GApps. Whats the difference between the both?

I did installed Google Installer le, but somehow the feel is still not there. Also, i am missing the google contacts too.

Use this:
http://en.miui.com/thread-91398-1-1.html
However, those Chinese application will be left in the phone for those parallel imported one.

laironpark

Buying chinese export gadget is hit or miss kind of situation. Best is to buy from those with shop warranty cover. If the retailer do not offer any warranty, then buy from those that self-collect rather than delivery. In that way, you can check on the spot to make sure that it is at least working and not a dead machine upon unboxing. But pls check with the merchant whether they allow you to exchange it on the spot in such cases. I share the same opinion here that for a $200+ phone, it is not that worthwhile on the cost and time to sent back to china for repair. If you are a regular user and not a tech enthusiast like some of us here, then it is better to wait for Xiaomi to officially launch in Singapore.

clay9477

Bros, do you all know how to use the miui forums? Can search via your device one...

en.miui.com/thread-157254-1-1.html

Above link is unofficial multi rom with gapps installed. If you want preinstalled gapps look at the second post of that topic.

clay9477

Buying chinese export gadget is hit or miss kind of situation. Best is to buy from those with shop warranty cover. If the retailer do not offer any warranty, then buy from those that self-collect rather than delivery. In that way, you can check on the spot to make sure that it is at least working and not a dead machine upon unboxing. But pls check with the merchant whether they allow you to exchange it on the spot in such cases. I share the same opinion here that for a $200+ phone, it is not that worthwhile on the cost and time to sent back to china for repair. If you are a regular user and not a tech enthusiast like some of us here, then it is better to wait for Xiaomi to officially launch in Singapore.

Agreed bro. Too many people think IT stuff is like ABC search google abit think very pro liao...in fact it is not requires vast knowledge and understanding. Export phones not for new users i feel. More for advanced.

mehmeh91

how long does it take to fully charge ur redmi note 2 from 0-100% etc?mine took about 4+ using ipad charger :s22:

kazuki666

Hi guys. I need some help with whatsapp. I was trying to restore whatsapp on my new phone. The chatgroups and messages look wrong after restoring, so I uninstalled the whatsapp and install again. Then I kana this verification error... :(

87b5856c-6cdd-42f2-8db9-71dd21a63812.jpg

Besides waiting for another 22 hours, is there any other solution? I tried to clearing cache, uninstall and install back the app, but it doesn't work... :'(
It feels kinda crippled without whatsapp for the next one day....

Ender

Just let What'sapp call you lah.. It just pin number spoken in voice.

kazuki666

Heng. it managed to unlock and everything restored well. Now my phone is all ready to use le. :s12:

ArcticCheetah

Don't know want to buy this or not
Pros:
Good specs for price
Wireless AC
Cons:
No warranty
No global rom but can install GApps
4G but my data is only 3G
Redmi still fine so this feels like a waste of money.

kazuki666

Don't know want to buy this or not
Pros:
Good specs for price
Wireless AC
Cons:
No warranty (That means you have good "reason" to change a new phone 1 year later)
No global rom but can install GApps (it worked for me. :D )
4G but my data is only 3G (I am also using 3G leh, didnt want to recontract)
Redmi still fine so this feels like a waste of money. (I am going to be a good child and give my mum my Redmi 1 to use :p )

Just to entice you further.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.