Xiaomi redmi note

Frederick84

You can use any charger you like but please use original charger because those third party ones - the quality of components used, the circuit design etc all not up to standard. So its either the output is low, or the regulation is very poor (noise, spikes etc)

Those studied electrical engineering will know about it.

According to the industry standard, computer usb port is standard 5V 500 mA. USB 3.0 is 5V 0.9 A. Chargers can range from 0.5A to 2A.

Important note: it's the circuit in phone that will decide the amount of current to take in before the charger decide.

E.g. iPhone is 1A device
Using iPad charger to charge iPhone won't result in shorter charging time.

E.g. iPad is 1.5A/2A device
Using iPhone charger to charge iPad will result in longer charging time because the ipad wants large current but charger can only provide 1A.

Apple has its own way to detect the charger/device, so even if you plug in redmi note it may ended up with just 0.5A only.

HTC One is 1.5A and LG G2 is 1.8A. Redmi Note, surprisingly is only at 1A.

no la then it's current

current is dependent on the device's circuitry and the voltage, the charger merely has a rated max current output

most computer usb ports are limited to only 0.5A. smartphones and their chargers are mostly now designed to draw up to 1A. special devices like the ipad and other specially designed phones use up to 2.1A (so u need special 2.1A or 10W usb chargers to charge)

if your device current draw is rated higher than your particular charger/socket is rated to provide, two things can happen:
1) slow charge
2) no charge

that's all

there was a bit of discussion a while back because the official redmi note charger is rated at 1A, but it charged the 3100mAh redmi note faster than other phones (e.g. my old 1800mAh THL W8, which took nearly twice as long to go from 0 to full)

ok..

large current charger -> charge -> low current device = faster ?

low current charger -> charge -> high current device = slower ?

the rate of charge will be diff if i use charge of diff current right ??

so will the rate of charge for example.. LG G2 phone current is high.. charge 20 times le.. suddenly i use LG optimus one charger(low cuurent) charge another 10 times.. each charge is when battery is 10% charge to 100% without disturb then stop..

will the battery life be affected ??

lets say i alternate between charger of high and charger of low current.. what will happen to the battery life ??

tjkb230

ok..

large current charger -> charge -> low current device = faster ?

low current charger -> charge -> high current device = slower ?

the rate of charge will be diff if i use charge of diff current right ??

so will the rate of charge for example.. LG G2 phone current is high.. charge 20 times le.. suddenly i use LG optimus one charger(low cuurent) charge another 10 times.. each charge is when battery is 10% charge to 100% without disturb then stop..

will the battery life be affected ??

lets say i alternate between charger of high and charger of low current.. what will happen to the battery life ??

My previous experience with iPhone 4S.

The iPhone is shipped with 1A charger, so I assume it as 1A device.

1. I use the charger to charge, took me 1.5 hours.
2. I use computer's USB 2.0 port to charge, took me about 3 hours or more.
3. I use iPad charger (the 10W one), took me 1.5 hours.

Point 2: limitation is at charging port side, so it takes twice as long to charge (0.5A vs 1A)
Point 3: limitation is at phone side, so no matter how big the charger you use, it will still be 1.5 hours.

Hope it helps.

Regarding using a high amp or low amp charger to charge, I believe there will be a slight impact. The biggest enemy of the battery is heat. A huge current could potentially heat up the battery more. So it's a give and take here.

redsox

For those who have updated to build 30.0, does your screenshots go to external sdcard? Mine still stays in phone storage.

whoooo

My previous experience with iPhone 4S.

The iPhone is shipped with 1A charger, so I assume it as 1A device.

1. I use the charger to charge, took me 1.5 hours.
2. I use computer's USB 2.0 port to charge, took me about 3 hours or more.
3. I use iPad charger (the 10W one), took me 1.5 hours.

Point 2: limitation is at charging port side, so it takes twice as long to charge (0.5A vs 1A)
Point 3: limitation is at phone side, so no matter how big the charger you use, it will still be 1.5 hours.

Hope it helps.

Regarding using a high amp or low amp charger to charge, I believe there will be a slight impact. The biggest enemy of the battery is heat. A huge current could potentially heat up the battery more. So it's a give and take here.

I did a test earlier using doctor usb with readings. Can refernce
boring day at office. I tot I test some charger and cables.

Using Ipad 2A to charge Note the safety circuits cut in to prevent over-current

Using XM Powerbank short cable
D4stHWW.jpg

Using XM Phone cable

BvyoBsA.jpg

Using the 3rd party M1 charger (rated 1A) which came with my 1st redmi (yes the Cheesepie M1 gave me a 3rd party charger instead of original)

Using XM Powerbank short cable

sRSPOqJ.jpg

Using XM Phone cable

LhoIpWz.jpg

charging Xiaomi PowerBank using the same setup :D

Ipad 2A PB cable
F5yqe6O.jpg

with XM cable
lva3Cgg.jpg

3rd party XM PB cable
jhzoSGg.jpg

]

TUV2008

For those who have updated to build 30.0, does your screenshots go to external sdcard? Mine still stays in phone storage.

I rashly dun understand why they invented a SD card and make it so user unfriendly to use it????

How can I set the default for SD card to store photos????

hyper_megaman

anyone here using global rom can give advice?

I'm considering flashing to global rom now but i have a few questions:

(1) are there any problems with using global rom on our sg redmi notes? E.g. hardware incompatibility, etc
(2) are there any problems with the china>global rom shift? I'm on v 29 now planning to go v 30 global
(3) once i'm on the global rom, any updates functionality won't be affected right? I will still continue to auto get notified of updates, and it will be for global rom?
(4) I won't have to wipe my installed apps and user data to flash to global right?
(5) MIUI ROM for Redmi Note - MIUI Downloads - MIUI Official Community. i got my rom here, it's correct right?
repeating my qn

Edit: Dear me, just realised i got it backwards

I meant to say flashing from global --> china

Nakedtoes

I rashly dun understand why they invented a SD card and make it so user unfriendly to use it????

How can I set the default for SD card to store photos????

this is google android problem... they decided on kit kat not to allow copy to sd card

halocast

Sibei sian, my NOTE keeps dropping internet connection now n then. Damn dulan.

it could be yr area connection.. and not xiaomi phone. if it persists maybe u wanna go service centre?

maybe u wanna try putting to 3g only? :s11:

eurofunk

can update to v30 from v29 without losing any data/sms/call history? Non rooted phone

eddy2099sg

can update to v30 from v29 without losing any data/sms/call history? Non rooted phone

Nothing is lost when you update. The backup is just a precaution but I have not encountered a situation where I needed to restore from that.

micgoh

Just put up my redmi note for sale. Its used but for $130, i hope its of good value to those who wants it and didnt want to wait for the next sales.

geckoSG

it could be yr area connection.. and not xiaomi phone. if it persists maybe u wanna go service centre?

maybe u wanna try putting to 3g only? :s11:

I thought so too, but it drops across SG. Another guy also faces this on his singtel network in comex thread

laironpark

I thought so too, but it drops across SG. Another guy also faces this on his singtel network in comex thread

My fren had the same problem with unstable 3G until he logout and disabled micloud. Seems to work for him. Maybe can give it a try and see whether it will fix the problem. For me, I deleted micloud on day one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.