YTD 2025 Networth tracking thread

limster

sharp unemployment maybe, but sharp recession?
firstly, govt bureaucracy dont generate revenue, so i dun see how it would have significant impact on GDP.
2ndly, DOGE is aimed at cutting bureaucratic inefficiency, so if executed properly, it sld cut biz cost and improve productivity.

Elon Musk and Trump both shrewd businessman so i dont think they will do smthing stupid to manufacture a recession.

Elon Musk obviously want to sell more Tesla to fund all his various "projects" but some people see recession everywhere, even as interest rates are being cut.... 😅

Jirachi

Also, can someone please request a wellness check for the bears and sideliners?

I am sure that they're super heartbroken now.
Such suffering so much WOW 🐶🐶

The high price of being too "smart".
dont worry about them lah, they probably think every ATH is a bubble and they are "smart" for staying out of it.
There are people in finance now that fear everything and not buying anything. This is real world experience coming from my friends

laokorkor

There are people in finance now that fear everything and not buying anything. This is real world experience coming from my friends
Yes, there're many super conservative "investors" who put money in SGS/FD/endowment/whole life and earn inflation-rate like returns.

OTOH, there're many super aggressive "investors" who apply for jumbo mortgage for an expensive home, or, 100% all-in on cryptos, equities, derivatives etc.

Both ways, IMHO, lack foresight.

The best way forward, my dear friends, is a balance approach, with a bit in each pile - home, bonds (CPF), equities, emergency fund etc and let capitalism does its job. This has the best chance of success.

d9_lives

I also don't hold many stocks atm.
Many are ath, I really don't know what to buy now.
Prolly will throw some bones to AVGO.

Learned my lesson from 2021, should have taken profit.
But 2024 lesson is like, should have diamond hands. Left few hundred ks on the table from selling too early.

Investing/Gambling is really difficult.

Jirachi

Yes, there're many super conservative "investors" who put money in SGS/FD/endowment/whole life and earn inflation-rate like returns.
They are friends who trade CFD and options. But they have been shorting because of fear of the markets. They are not anything risk adversed at all.

limster

lkh7zle.jpg

The IBKR webpage no longer allows you to compare your performance to World Index (previously can compare to VT), now can only compare to single country index like S&P500, like that my portfolio sure lose liao :unsure:

Since the bears earlier this year were predicting 'consumer recession' in 2024 but I continued buying stocks, I should be grateful for a positive return. :cool: I am satisfied with nearly 15% for 2024, as it builds on my 20% 2023 return. My 2024 passive income also hit an all-time high.... 💸 💲 🏧

d5dude

I also don't hold many stocks atm.
Many are ath, I really don't know what to buy now.
Prolly will throw some bones to AVGO.

Learned my lesson from 2021, should have taken profit.
But 2024 lesson is like, should have diamond hands. Left few hundred ks on the table from selling too early.

Investing/Gambling is really difficult.

You are playing with leverage and time-sensitive financial derivatives like options, it was always going to be very hard...

Long term investing is not difficult at all, just need to figure out what is worth holding on to for long term and never sell (other than to rebalance portfolio).

d9_lives

You are playing with leverage and time-sensitive financial derivatives like options, it was always going to be very hard...

Long term investing is not difficult at all, just need to figure out what is worth holding on to for long term and never sell (other than to rebalance portfolio).

Indeed.
When I am entering retirement (prolly in 3-4y), I will switch 90% to etf, div stocks, and forget.

limster

Indeed.
When I am entering retirement (prolly in 3-4y), I will switch 90% to etf, div stocks, and forget.

90% in boring investments and setting aside 10% for stock trading is a good idea, keep yourself mentally alert, also something to do while passing the time while travelling in a train, airplane, ship, or just waiting for one....

highsulphur

90% in boring investments and setting aside 10% for stock trading is a good idea, keep yourself mentally alert, also something to do while passing the time while travelling in a train, airplane, ship, or just waiting for one....
Just keep logging on and admire your ETF balance while travelling if you are bored

stanlawj

Indeed.
I'm going to bet you will only retire a short while. Most ppl who successfully make more than 100% return in a year cannot resist the lure of the market because the brain is already wired to look at the world a certain way.

DevilPlate

I'm going to bet you will only retire a short while. Most ppl who successfully make more than 100% return in a year cannot resist the lure of the market because the brain is already wired to look at the world a certain way.

d5dude

This kind of returns are not sustainable over the long run, its very easy to make money in the stock market but very difficult to keep those winnings.

d9_lives

Not sure if I get this right.
Technically I am double dipping.
The idle cash in ibkr is enjoying 3-4% while being used as collateral for csp.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.