YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

sohguanh

Sometimes the investment instruments matter too. I don't think in year 2000 there is ETF in market? Also that time to invest directly into US market as retail investors fees are exorbitant not to mention if they support fractional shares. Also in year 2000 SGX 1 lot is 1000 shares not 100 unit so same X dollars can buy lesser number of stock. Lastly year 2000 don't think got Spore Savings Bond too. I use year 2000 as a timeline as e.g

d5dude

No I wrote networth (total assets - total liabilities), not liquid networth, and its ~3m SGD for myself, and 2-3m SGD for my wife, so I have no idea how you can put me in the 5m - 10m USD bracket when I'm nowhere near that level.

The estimates cited in the linked article are for Singapore resident adults (not households), they do not include children of the truly rich (UHNW) or foreigners who are here on EPs but are not SPRs or SCs, many of them are high level execs who are easily millionaires, my boss is one such fine example. Its also not clear how wealth is defined in the CS report, is it total net wealth or net investable networth? The latter does not include primary residence, it makes a huge difference in SG.

Roughly 20% of SG's population live in private properties, another ~10% of the population live in HDB flats that are worth close to, or more than 1m. This alone tells me that there must be more than 270k USD millionaires in SG. So no, I dun think that puts me in the well to do category, barely making it to the USD millionaire club doesnt mean much in SG these days. I foresee that I will have to switch to public transport when the COE on my car runs out, can't see myself paying 100+k for COE, just can't afford it anymore.
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/we...individuals-in-singapore-and-globally-in-2021
Knight frank agrees with me...

revhappy

Jun has been horrible month.

YTD investment growth: -10.31%
YTD networth growth: -7.17%
YTD inflow: 3.14%
Equity ratio: 72.66%

Only solace is still have job and income coming in. Watching portfolio butchered like this is great motivation to keep working, lol.

Jul has been such a relief!

YTD investment growth: -6.36%
YTD networth growth: -2.6%
YTD inflow: 3.76%
Equity ratio: 62.16%

My portfolio grew about 4% this month, so it is now *only* 6.36% down for the year. If I take into account salary savings inflow it is down 2.6%. I have pared back some of my aggressive equity allocation to more balanced level of 62%. I plan to allocate new savings to equities, so it should gradually increase to 70% overtime.

limster

Jul has been such a relief!

YTD investment growth: -6.36%
YTD networth growth: -2.6%
YTD inflow: 3.76%
Equity ratio: 62.16%

My portfolio grew about 4% this month, so it is now *only* 6.36% down for the year. If I take into account salary savings inflow it is down 2.6%. I have pared back some of my aggressive equity allocation to more balanced level of 62%. I plan to allocate new savings to equities, so it should gradually increase to 70% overtime.

FLtPRL1.jpg

congrats! my portfolio recovery has slowed down, only up 1% since last month while US market recovered by a lot more. I'm still optimistic I can breakeven by the end of this year.

revhappy

My preference is to measure performance yearly/YTD, so that
* I can analyse after each year how to improve my portfolio performance - why some years I did better than benchmark, some years worse than benchmark.
* YTD performance helps me do some target setting for what return I expect for the year. For 2022, I'm looking at breakeven which will 'protect' my gains from 2021.

As for % return, while its useful to monitor yearly performance for the purpose of tactical adjustments to your strategy and I don't think the long term % returns matter that much.

For example, someone who is fully vested with a long time in market may have a smaller % return than someone who goes in and out of the market briefly with small amounts, but in reality, the total $$$ value increase is much higher.

After 10 years+ investing, what is more important is your networth, whether you made your first million already, and then the next step of how many years you take to make your 2nd million.

I restructured my networth tracker this weekend, to see how much I actually saved from my salary over the years, how much I deployed in various asset classes and what are the absolute gains I made from each asset class. I believe this gives me as complete picture as possible.

In 2009 end my networth was 87k SGD and since then in 12.5 years I saved a grand total of 852k from my salary. I made net cumulative return of 341k. So total networth as of now stands at 1280k
So 87k+852k+341k = 1280k

I have 57% in equities and remaining in bonds. No real estate or CPF.
Equities is further split into 1/3rd India equities(my home country), 1/3rd Asia equities and 1/3rd global equities.
Bonds are again my home local currency bonds.

Below is the tracker; all figures converted to SGD '000. YTD means year to date(just cumulative figure from the starting of that year until the last month of the year or current month, if that year is not yet finished)

g3xU3nt.png

This year i.e. YTD 2022, my networth is flat. I was 1277k beginning of the year, notional loss due to falling markets is 60k while my savings so far this year is 62k.

Out of each asset class, this year both Asia and Global markets I am down 15% in both, but India markets have been strong so overall equities are down about 9%. Bonds are up by 0.57%, so that cushions the blow overall investment performance this year is -4.68%.

churnmaster

I restructured my networth tracker this weekend, to see how much I actually saved from my salary over the years, how much I deployed in various asset classes and what are the absolute gains I made from each asset class. I believe this gives me as complete picture as possible.

In 2009 end my networth was 87k SGD and since then in 12.5 years I saved a grand total of 852k from my salary. I made net cumulative return of 341k. So total networth as of now stands at 1280k
So 87k+852k+341k = 1280k

Equities is further split into 1/3rd India equities(my home country), 1/3rd Asia equities and 1/3rd global equities.
Bonds are again my home local currency bonds.

Below is the tracker; all figures converted to SGD '000. YTD means year to date(just cumulative figure from the starting of that year until the last month of the year or current month, if that year is not yet finished)

g3xU3nt.png

This year i.e. YTD 2022, my networth is flat. I was 1277k beginning of the year, notional loss due to falling markets is 60k while my savings so far this year is 62k.

Out of each asset class, this year both Asia and Global markets I am down 15% in both, but India markets have been strong so overall equities are down about 9%. Bonds are up by 0.57%, so that cushions the blow overall investment performance this year is -4.68%.
Well done. Your XIRR about 4.5-6% pa in SGD terms ?

sohguanh

Thanks for sharing your personal finance. Above means you have been working for 10+ years in Spore (I presume) and not having any CPF means on work pass. Lucky you becuz during those bull run market years one can easily beat the 2.5% or even 4% CPF give. But now is a bear market I guess you are hit for which everyone is hit.

soneat

For my case,
1. Kids. They have always been high achievers. If they want to go overseas to further their education, they have to fight for their own scholarships. For local universities, I have made provisions for a law and medicine degree.
2. Parents. Yes chornic health issues, so they r receiving subsidised medical care. Not ideal but it can still be tolerated.

Life events and mishaps are inevitable. Just got to manage along the way. Life goes on. : D
And so interestingly, after retiring for 2 years+, I am returning to the workforce (by choice) soon and more importantly will be enjoying a substantial increase (over the last drawn). So will be piling 100% of these excess into war chest.:)

limster

As of 31 August, my IBKR portfolio is down 9.6% so I am still outperforming VT 📉 📉 📉 :eek:
Today is short covering, but next week, if IWDA reaches $72, I'll continue buying as prices are starting to look good!

boroangel

2022 has been good to me so far, despite some terrible purchases (Robinhood, Rivian etc) last year, I am up about 10% YTD on my IBKR portfolio, mainly helped by a significant oil portfolio I have kept since Covid and bought more last year, also short positions mainly SQQQ.

Was a good move looking back getting rid of BP and Shell stocks last year and moving into companies like PBR, and most of the Permian producers (EOG, FANG, OXY, DVN , CLR , APA etc). PBR was just a dividend monster since late last year and gave me great capital gains, same with OXY. Have since sold all my oil portfolio over the last 2 months, the last being last week. Only keeping PSX now and going short on XLE through XLGS leveraged, and kept SQQQ and SARK, plus a big bunch of stocks that are still in the red. Trading SQQQ and SARK since Dec last year cushioned some of these impact.

Been really cutting down on my equity portfolio , and have gone to about 80% cash from 60% cash 2 months ago. Hiding in T-bills now mainly. Don't see much better places to put the cash to work now, and equities I feel is still not the place to be.

revhappy

2022 has been good to me so far, despite some terrible purchases (Robinhood, Rivian etc) last year, I am up about 10% YTD on my IBKR portfolio, mainly helped by a significant oil portfolio I have kept since Covid and bought more last year, also short positions mainly SQQQ.

Was a good move looking back getting rid of BP and Shell stocks last year and moving into companies like PBR, and most of the Permian producers (EOG, FANG, OXY, DVN , CLR , APA etc). PBR was just a dividend monster since late last year and gave me great capital gains, same with OXY. Have since sold all my oil portfolio over the last 2 months, the last being last week. Only keeping PSX now and going short on XLE through XLGS leveraged, and kept SQQQ and SARK, plus a big bunch of stocks that are still in the red. Trading SQQQ and SARK since Dec last year cushioned some of these impact.

Been really cutting down on my equity portfolio , and have gone to about 80% cash from 60% cash 2 months ago. Hiding in T-bills now mainly. Don't see much better places to put the cash to work now, and equities I feel is still not the place to be.
I believe you just need one data point from either the jobs numbers or the CPI to produce the "Mother of all short covering" rally. The market is incredibly short. So although medium term I am not that optimistic about equities. But in the very short term, I believe there is plenty of gun powder to rocket the markets higher. So you need to be extremely nimble if you want to time the markets.

I could be completely wrong as always. :)

churnmaster

Well done.

I’m up about 4% YTD on my IBKR portfolio. Dragged down by precious metals at this point. Some of the bull spread positions have also been a drag, which I should have avoided. Mostly in cash now invested in T bills.

The next few months / qtrs should be exciting.

theMKR

moi ish still -93% since inception.... up 2% YTD.

guess, moi can never recover :sad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.