YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

highsulphur

1M55 is definitely doable individually.

4M65 is possible for that small group of people who have high salary, high bonus, possibly multiple streams of CPF-contributing income and continue to work till 60+

To hold multiple jobs that pay you over 6k, max bonus every year to reach cpf cap every year over a period of 20 years?

polyglob

To hold multiple jobs that pay you over 6k, max bonus every year to reach cpf cap every year over a period of 20 years?

No over 20 years, no. Usually high salary comes later.

But anyhow I myself will not reach 4M65 and therefore not interested to open a spreadsheet to do the calculations. :s13:

On 2nd thought - if 4M65 refers to couple, then maybe one person 2M65 upon reaching 1M55 is doable if continue working at high salary?

Starrynitee

https://www.dollarsandsense.sg/1-million-65-using-cpf-heres-math-behind-1m65-concept/

This is the link for those who are interested in the maths.. but i wld say its flawed to some extent.
It assumes when u started working at 23 ur pay is at least 3.5k and that 500k is inclusive of SA and medisave. Most pple will use cpf to pay for mortgage, in a way the 4% compounded might not be achievable.. so end of the day its a qn of whether u want ur cpf paper number to look nice or u prefer to cash out and buy property..

polyglob

https://www.dollarsandsense.sg/1-million-65-using-cpf-heres-math-behind-1m65-concept/

This is the link for those who are interested in the maths.. but i wld say its flawed to some extent.
It assumes when u started working at 23 ur pay is at least 3.5k and that 500k is inclusive of SA and medisave. Most pple will use cpf to pay for mortgage, in a way the 4% compounded might not be achievable.. so end of the day its a qn of whether u want ur cpf paper number to look nice or u prefer to cash out and buy property..

Housing is paid using OA. I have outstanding 300k+ OA usage including accrued interest but SA used is only few K.

Starrynitee

Housing is paid using OA. I have outstanding 300k+ OA usage including accrued interest but SA used is only few K.

Yes housing is via OA thats why if u used cpf for housing.. end of the day u probably get that much in cpf.. as in 1m by 55 in cpf acct..

d9_lives

1M55 is the notion that if a couple each hits FRS at some youngish age, then by the magic of compounding they will each have ~500k when they are 55.

Actually I am a bit confused - sometimes it is called 1M65 and sometimes it is 4M65.

There's a Telegram group if you are interested to know more.

If couple, it should be 1M45 right?
500k each by 45.

peppermint7

For ppl who will be happy whenever they look at their cpf balance 🤭

Some prefer to retire on CPF Life.
Some prefer to rely on collecting dividends on stock.
Others prefer rental income

To each his own.
No right nor wrong. So long the path you choose is sustainable

*never be caught unprepared when retirement comes can liao

d9_lives

Could be. Nowadays I heard fresh grad got start at 3.5k. When I was fresh grad my starting pay just over 2k, and my senior told me he started at 1.5k.

My starting pay was 1.8k, no bonus, no AWS, no commision, no allowances.
My cpf will hit 300k by end of this year.

limster

1M55 excluding the property you live in is enough for early retirement. If instead of early retirement you work all the way till 65, 2M65+ is no problem because investment gains + salary should easily hit 2m, so its a lifestyle choice.

1m55 + property can retire and survive
2m65+ + property can retire with a little higher standard of living

highsulphur

1M55 excluding the property you live in is enough for early retirement. If instead of early retirement you work all the way till 65, 2M65+ is no problem because investment gains + salary should easily hit 2m, so its a lifestyle choice.

1m55 + property can retire and survive
2m65+ + property can retire with a little higher standard of living

I have ex senior colleagues who have net worth north of 20m still working as professionals past 55. Guess its not entirely about the money for them.

Gitaro

My networth
Property Condo (which I live in) - abt $1.2 mil

HDB (rented out) - abt $400k
Cash and other liquid assets - abt $1 mil

CPF
SA - $270k
Medisave - $54k
OA - $100k

Working class. Age 55. Retriring next year.

Wifefy already retired long ago. She had some savings in the region of low $100k.

Update (in the midst of COVID-19) changes in RED. Not haolian, just show all that working class bloke like me can, everyone here also can, with some luck and hard work and deferred gratification early on, of course.

[/COLOR]My networth May 20 (total about $2.75 mil everything in tng sa tng kor, but not including wifey's money)

Property Condo (which I live in) - abt $1.2 mil (No change)

HDB (rented out) - abt $400k (no change - still rented out)
Cash and other liquid assets - abt $600K (after transferring cash to CPF for 2.5%, and equity loss of about $100K)

CPF (idea is to get 2.5% return, post-55 I can withdraw anytime after FRS settled.)
SA - $100k (after deduction for FRS)
Medisave - $54ki
OA - $400k
RA - $180K++ under CPFLife FRS

Working class. Age 55. Retiring next year. (Retired liao i the midst of COVID-19, might as well)

Wifefy already retired long ago. She had some savings in the region of low $100k. (Wrong. She has FRS also, this year 55. And about $200K in saving. Woking partime at $1.8K a month to cpast time, 3 days a week

Now surviving on passive income of upto $5k a month. Only one daughter in U, the other 2 working liao. COVID set me back by $100k.

highsulphur

Update (in the midst of COVID-19)changes in RED. Not haolian, just show all that working class bloke like me can, everyone here also can, with some luck and hard work and deferred gratification early on, of course.
[/COLOR]My networthMay 20 (total about $2.75 mil everything in tng sa tng kor, but not including wifey's money)
Property Condo (which I live in) - abt $1.2 mil(No change)
HDB (rented out) - abt $400k(no change - still rented out)
Cash and other liquid assets -abt $600K (after transferring cash to CPF for 2.5%, and equity loss of about $100K)
CPF(idea is to get 2.5% return, post-55 I can withdraw anytime after FRS settled.)
SA -$100k (after deduction for FRS)
Medisave - $54ki
OA -$400k
RA - $180K++ under CPFLife FRS
Working class. Age 55. Retiring next year.(Retired liao i the midst of COVID-19, might as well)
Wifefy already retired long ago. She had some savings in the region of low $100k.(Wrong. She has FRS also, this year 55. And about $200K in saving. Woking partime at $1.8K a month to cpast time, 3 days a week
Now surviving on passive income of upto $5k a month. Only one daughter in U, the other 2 working liao. COVID set me back by $100k.
Thanks for the update. 100k is not bad considering covid. When was the first post posted?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.