tkdboi

I'm single without a house or a car.

Cpf 160k
Stocks 130k. Will be increased
Cash 60k. Will be invested soon
Others 15k

not too bad bro. can focus on accumulation of more while u are still single.

Posted from PCWX using SM-F900F

revhappy

1M55 excluding the property you live in is enough for early retirement. If instead of early retirement you work all the way till 65, 2M65+ is no problem because investment gains + salary should easily hit 2m, so its a lifestyle choice.

1m55 + property can retire and survive
2m65+ + property can retire with a little higher standard of living

If xm40 what should be x for early retirement?

revhappy

Update (in the midst of COVID-19) changes in RED. Not haolian, just show all that working class bloke like me can, everyone here also can, with some luck and hard work and deferred gratification early on, of course.

[/COLOR]My networth May 20 (total about $2.75 mil everything in tng sa tng kor, but not including wifey's money)

Property Condo (which I live in) - abt $1.2 mil (No change)

HDB (rented out) - abt $400k (no change - still rented out)
Cash and other liquid assets - abt $600K (after transferring cash to CPF for 2.5%, and equity loss of about $100K)

CPF (idea is to get 2.5% return, post-55 I can withdraw anytime after FRS settled.)
SA - $100k (after deduction for FRS)
Medisave - $54ki
OA - $400k
RA - $180K++ under CPFLife FRS

Working class. Age 55. Retiring next year. (Retired liao i the midst of COVID-19, might as well)

Wifefy already retired long ago. She had some savings in the region of low $100k. (Wrong. She has FRS also, this year 55. And about $200K in saving. Woking partime at $1.8K a month to cpast time, 3 days a week

Now surviving on passive income of upto $5k a month. Only one daughter in U, the other 2 working liao. COVID set me back by $100k.

Good job man! Especially with 3 kids.

limster

my view is 2m40, especially if you have kids who are dependent on you.

age 55, kids should be working/university, less dependent on you, your passive income stream is only for you, not for your kids.

polyglob

The previous 1M55 messages were about CPF - there is a movement variously called 1M55, 1M65, 4M65 which talks about getting xM amount in CPF by what age based on what one can do by early 30s.

If just talking early retirement, assume life expectancy 90, then retiring at 40 means your money must last 50 years. The straightforward computation is to take your current annual expenses times 50 plus account for inflation.

Gitaro

Well done bro.

$60k pa passive income is very impressive. is this drawing down on principal or just purely counting rental and dividends/coupons?

No drawdown, purely based on returns.

Amount comes from equity div payout, CPF interests earned from balance of OA and SA (after setting aside MA and FRS) and HDB rental.

highsulphur

No drawdown, purely based on returns.

Amount comes from equity div payout, CPF interests earned from balance of OA and SA (after setting aside MA and FRS) and HDB rental.

Nice.. Must be a stress free time for you now

Gitaro

Nice.. Must be a stress free time for you now

Yes definitely. Of course if we are not satisfied, we could still chiong. For me, it is time to slow down though. My legacy for my children would be hopefully each to have close to a million (after disposing my houses) when my wife and I both gone, besides giving them a good education.

During this COVID, I tracked my expenses. Actually quite low. All within $3k a month, max $4k enough. So wife and I plan every 3 months, go overseas once. But now, COVID.....

limster

Have I made a mistake by pumping $100k into CPF SA? :(

Sent from . using GAGT

I think most investors will be able to generate >4% annualised return if they invest now with a 3+ year timeframe. Those that cannot, no harm putting it into CPF-SA.

Haix... Jin regret... :(

Stocks keep rise rise rise until March... :(

I put 2 years ago... :(

Sent from . using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.