Give up go gym and buy dumbell workout at home sua

Ethan_

What’s the dumbbell size to buy?
Think as others suggested those light weight ones will do. Best is not those fixed ones, can add and increment, so that can do some minor adjustment depending on one's ability.

Not expert but think those who do often may know don't really need very heavy weights, unless want to really bulk up, which can be quite limited if don't have a more complete set of weights anyway. As key is in repetition, light weights is enough to tone and toughen up, giving a slight muscular and fit build to the look, without coming off as too bulky.

chillplz

Have gym equipment at home not bad leh. My workout take about 45 mins to an hour to finish. No need to wait for others to finish their set so that I can use the equipment, save myself time and money.

focus1974

Can such equipment be exposed to weather will rust?

Posted from PCWX using LYA-L29

my treadmill, exercise bike, dumbbell/barbell set.... still never rust after 2 years...
but most balconies are covered... and u can also put biycycle cover over ur machines loh..

My equipment are all at the roof terrace....got roof.. but expose on the side... Still ok.. rain never get in

lls0101

Agree with this, i only have adjustable dumbells, usually just push up, weights, planks and squat.

Just to tone my body so not look flabby.
Yes. Minimum equipment is needed. What's truly needed is the commitment on our part.

Consistency in doing the workout at home a certain number of times a week and the willingness to put in effort during each session.

We can have the best equipment at home or gym, but if we hardly do 1-2 sessions per week, or just half heartedly do the workout session, it's not going to be productive and show results.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 9S using GAGT

chromehead

can get those starter dumbbell sets with minimum plates of

5kg x4pc
2.5kg x4pc
1.25kg x4pc

then need more late weights or long bar upgrade from here accordingly

got the chiong trx few months back havent really used much. i think would need to mount the overhead attachment or bring downstairs to sling it over a pull up bar to get full functionality... door mount alone cannot do all stuff

Ethan_

Not expert but think better don't be too ambitious with heavier weights when its just simple home gym. Light ones should be just fine.

Especially those near or past 40s. There is quite a big difference between older and younger people do weights. Young people many tend aim for bulk. But older people many tend just want to get fitter as the older body age and their tolerance for heavier weight drop, only rare few still aim for bulk.

Older people usually many don't bother lift too heavy a weight that often. If need it to be heavier, a series of lighter weights add together should just do the trick. So might be in for greater disappointment if buy too much heavy weights end up can't or don't use much. :s22:

yoshiki x

Yup.

for the price of your 1 year membership..
u can actually get a Xiaomi Treadmill for $500+, a 20kg (interchangeable weights) barbell/dumbbell set for $150... and an exercise bike for $200.

I've got all those at my roof terrace...

if want to get those benchpress also can..

Nowadays.. all these equipment are not expensive.

go gym maybe is for those advanced weight lifters or muscles reached peak using home exercise equipment.

I find it super duper convenient... U dont need to plan for gym...
U go home ... u feel like it.. just do the gym... no need to waste time travelling... and bring all ur barang barang

$100 for 30kg barbell set!

Xiaomi R1 PRO treadmill
Don't get the walking pad. that one only suitable for walking.

wa live landed can workout on roof top sia :s13:

osirisx

Anyone living in HDB setup a full functional home gym complete with a squat rack?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.