Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

pureice

Lol now the harping on 32k by the fJL fanboys. Hais, the 32 k consists of large spectrum groups such as : lesser educated, health problems, disabled, retirees who wan to supplement income thru part time, interns etc.

The number is not static, going forward it will increase or decrease. Based on these, you wan to make their employment less attractive by increasing their cost ??? Really?? Employers got no choice but to die die hire them ?? I can increase cost since gov ask me sure, den I increase their working hrs or reduce thiwr headcount.

Pls la tolong, stop trying to help the poor and cause more harm.

NTB2DO

If one cannot help himself, no matter how many help this govt give you also no use

You only get a wage if you work. We are talking about workers (people who work to get a wage), not about those who are too lazy to work but expect to get paid.

wwenze

Being disabled in AMDK country:

k3sa4nlb2o911.png

Being disabled in Singapore:
Lol now the harping on 32k by the fJL fanboys. Hais, the 32 k consists of large spectrum groups such as : lesser educated, health problems, disabled, retirees who wan to supplement income thru part time, interns etc.

The number is not static, going forward it will increase or decrease. Based on these, you wan to make their employment less attractive by increasing their cost ??? Really?? Employers got no choice but to die die hire them ?? I can increase cost since gov ask me sure, den I increase their working hrs or reduce thiwr headcount.

NTB2DO

KPK said it amounts to just 1.7% of the total SGean workforce. And you mean outcome will be dire by helping these mere 1.7% to earn a min wage?

This is so surreal. On the one hand we have the world's highest paid office holders, but when it comes to raising the wages of the lowest paid, the highest-paid seem so.. reluctant.

Sinkie

You only get a wage if you work. We are talking about workers (people who work to get a wage), not about those who are too lazy to work but expect to get paid.

Beside raising min wage, there are other ways govt can do much more to help them, by giving them more relief for their family n children education and also other more helps like workfare income supplement

matrix05

KPK said it amounts to just 1.7% of the total SGean workforce. And you mean outcome will be dire by helping these mere 1.7% to earn a min wage?

This is so surreal. On the one hand we have the world's highest paid office holders, but when it comes to raising the wages of the lowest paid, the highest-paid seem so.. reluctant.

Don pay ministers highest pay or workers low low pay, Sin will be destroyed.
Any new union leaders jump out today (to defend the employers) ?

walterwu

So if there is no min wage law implemented, what will you do to help these 32,000

Wait 4 years later to vote again?

In the meantime, union collects $9 per month from these 32,000 and won't fight for their minimum wage but rather they continue to earn much less than $1,300 per month.

wwenze

I said this before and will repost again

A wise person once said, the development of a country is not based on the salary or the GDP, but rather how much value you put on the life of the boy who died of hunger on the streets

I can't believe grave of the fireflies is supposedly well received by sinkies yet sinkies still don't give a shyt about babies who could be left dying if their mothers didn't bring them on grab deliveries.

Sinkie

Why not govt just topup the difference to $1300 for these 32,000 worker and no more? Just these 32,000 workers? Kym?

Sinkie

I said this before and will repost again

A wise person once said, the development of a country is not based on the salary or the GDP, but rather how much value you put on the life of the boy who died of hunger on the streets

I can't believe grave of the fireflies is supposedly well received by sinkies yet sinkies still don't give a shyt about babies who could be left dying if their mothers didn't bring them on grab deliveries.

It is true, I see many many mother carrying babies on grab delivery these few days, at least 10,000+ mummies carrying babies

matrix05

In the meantime, union collects $9 per month from these 32,000 and won't fight for their minimum wage but rather they continue to earn much less than $1,300 per month.
Below 1.3K are the strongest supporters of PAP; because they can get WIS handed to them by PAP MP. Win-win situation.

Prime 13

Dr Koh had cited the figure to explain that a minimum wage was not necessary. He said the Government's policies, particularly the progressive wage model (PWM) and Workfare Income Supplement, already ensure the majority of low-wage workers take home more than $1,300 a month.

Among the 850,000 workers in occupations traditionally deemed lower income, such as clerical support and service staff and tradesmen, about 100,000 earn below $1,300, figures from the Ministry of Manpower show.

After taking into account Workfare wage top-ups and employers' Central Provident Fund contribution, about 56,000 earn less than $1,300. Of these, about 32,000 are full-time employees, or 1.7 per cent of the workforce, a "very small number", said Dr Koh.

Waraos.

Sinkies shld ask, smlj ish thish work income supplement and workfare top ups? The effect ish how different ish thish compared to minimum wage?

And ish thish artificial upping of wages supported by market demand and skills ladder?

And huai can't this be also turned into political tool, i.e. oppo gib more higher top ups for lower cpf contributions?

LOL!

sizzy6

if no min wage then boss will just continue paying low wages to these people(100k of them)

since gov will top up thru pwm.. my worker also wont kpkb i dont give pay rise because gov top up for them anyway

$1 pay rise = $1 less in my pocket.. use taxpayer money to subsidize my workers lah.. why not. if they change i just kpkb threaten increase my price can liao..

it was like that for many years.. cleaners were paid like 600 to 700 for YEARS.. no pay rise or what.. stagnant.. until "min wage" come in.. bosses bo bian.. cannot exploit liao.. it was set at 1k at first.. then over the years increased.

your company give u extra bonus, landlord increase rent, water and eelctricity go up u got kpkb consuner price go up bo? like that all dont take bonus or pay rise lo.. then prices wont increase.

knn people.. ownself benefit can.. when fight for low wage workers to be paid decently.. cannot.. kpkb say will increase cost.. these pple are at the lowest end of the organization.. pay them a decent wage will increase how much? all dont take bonus lah like that..

or gov wanna be so noble.. the pwm and income supplement will come from public service bonus loh.. like that dont use taxpayer money.. also wont increase cost.. tio bo? then suddenly you see all change tune liao..

Sinkie

if no min wage then boss will just continue paying low wages to these people(100k of them)

since gov will top up thru pwm.. my worker also wont kpkb i dont give pay rise because gov top up for them anyway

$1 pay rise = $1 less in my pocket.. use taxpayer money to subsidize my workers lah.. why not. if they change i just kpkb threaten increase my price can liao..

it was like that for many years.. cleaners were paid like 600 to 700 for YEARS.. no pay rise or what.. stagnant.. until "min wage" come in.. bosses bo bian.. cannot exploit liao.. it was set at 1k at first.. then over the years increased.

your company give u extra bonus, landlord increase rent, water and eelctricity go up u got kpkb consuner price go up bo? like that all dont take bonus or pay rise lo.. then prices wont increase.

knn people.. ownself benefit can.. when fight for low wage workers to be paid decently.. cannot.. kpkb say will increase cost.. these pple are at the lowest end of the organization.. pay them a decent wage will increase how much? all dont take bonus lah like that..

or gov wanna be so noble.. the pwm and income supplement will come from public service bonus loh.. like that dont use taxpayer money.. also wont increase cost.. tio bo? then suddenly you see all change tune liao..

Are these employers really purposely exploiting these 32,000 workers, giving these 32,000 worker less than $1300 salary so that they can have more bigger profit margin?

Richliao

Why only focus on monthly salary? Did they forget that min wage can be helpful for part timers as well as in there should be min wage for per hour basis too.

Many elderly and teens are working on hourly basis wages despite clocking like a full time staff...please look at this category too...

Travis_Touchdown

Yep, small number then should be easy to implement minimum wage to help this group of people :o

Sent from Konoha Village using GAGT

Richliao

You maybe wondering why so many kpkb especially when they are not employers...I tell you why...those not employers yet still kpkb are incumbent's supporters...blindly support a party's policy only lol...

Pewpewking

Why only focus on monthly salary? Did they forget that min wage can be helpful for part timers as well as in there should be min wage for per hour basis too.

Many elderly and teens are working on hourly basis wages despite clocking like a full time staff...please look at this category too...

Those people earn more than 1.3k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.