2022 Market Sentiment & Positioning

zzTiny

Bought for my Jan sale, moi ish late return home. Screw IB mobile, cannot tahan, transfer slow, UI clunky. 10 more day for payday again. See see how :s12:

Tiny see news, no news rioting for US. Tiny see chart and did some fortune telling. Tiny crystal ball 4610-4680. Hopefully can break 4680 but wait long long LOL Energy inflation going to become worse.

Oof it didn't make it, meh

limster

Puru Saxena is calling for 20% fall in Nasdaq!

20% you hoh seh boh ? Impossible lah

ok, I quote both, lets see who is more accurate. Revhappy, don't let me down!

To spend my regular free cash flow, no need to wait for 20%, will be buying some more tonight ๐Ÿ˜…

20% drop, I might use some of my warchest. ๐Ÿ“‰๐Ÿ“‰๐Ÿ“‰

revhappy

ok, I quote both, lets see who is more accurate. Revhappy, don't let me down!

To spend my regular free cash flow, no need to wait for 20%, will be buying some more tonight ๐Ÿ˜…

20% drop, I might use some of my warchest. ๐Ÿ“‰๐Ÿ“‰๐Ÿ“‰

My track record of predicting markets is so abysmal :LOL:
But I also hope what Puru Saxena says comes true. It will give a chance for my value averaging strategy to finally buy the dip. I hope the dip happens sooner rather than later. But either ways I will just continue buying monthly. :)

paladin

Bought for my Jan sale, moi ish late return home. Screw IB mobile, cannot tahan, transfer slow, UI clunky. 10 more day for payday again. See see how :s12:

Tiny see news, no news rioting for US. Tiny see chart and did some fortune telling. Tiny crystal ball 4610-4680. Hopefully can break 4680 but wait long long LOL Energy inflation going to become worse.

Oof it didn't make it, meh
tiger brokers transfer money from DBS super fast, 10 seconds and into account..really eye opener for me

RedsYWNA

tiger brokers transfer money from DBS super fast, 10 seconds and into account..really eye opener for me
Both Tiger and Moomoo are giving the local brokerages a real run for their money.

If Tiger/Moomoo can use SRS/CPF money for trades and expand their market coverages (eg UK is a crucial missing link), its curtains for the local brokers esp as the older generation gradually fades.

boroangel

But I also hope what Puru Saxena says comes true. It will give a chance for my value averaging strategy to finally buy the dip. I hope the dip happens sooner rather than later. But either ways I will just continue buying monthly. :)
Rev are you mainly buying into ETFs monthly and which ones?

revhappy

Rev are you mainly buying into ETFs monthly and which ones?
Hi, yeah I am totally into index investing, but with a tilt away from from MSCI ACWI.
I have split my equity allocation into 3 equal parts:
1)33% Home country allocation(in my case India)
2)33% Asia pacific ex Japan or Emerging markets
3)33% MSCI ACWI

I was inspired from this Boglehead study, which kind of backtests how non US investors would have fared by investing in different markets, home country vs non home country.

https://www.bogleheads.org/blog/2020/03/02/50-years-of-investing-in-the-world-part-3/
They finally concluded that a 20% tilt away from MSCI ACWI would be kind of middleground, based on the fact that we wont know whether home country will do well or not. 20% tilt means, you take your home country weight in the ACWI and then add 20% to it. In case of US investors it would be like 60+20 so they are supposed to be 80% in US and 20% in non US. In case of SG and India both are like very small weights, so it would basically mean 21-23% in home country.

I have further added another bucket of Asia pacific ex japan or EM, so I am kind of significantly tilted away from the ACWI. Last year was bad for Asia and made me wonder why I did so much tilt towards Asia. But then I like the Ray Dalio way of thinking in terms of uncorrelated assets. We see already this year Asia isnt falling so much, while US is falling. So, it kind of keeps my portfolio stable, hopefully.

limster

BKti2jo.jpg

Woah, we're half way there๐ŸŽค๐ŸŽผ

limster

Both FTSE and STI are doing very good this month, inspite of the Nasdaq fall. So it must be good for your portfolio ๐Ÿป

571LQeR.jpg

So far, 4.64% by 19 Jan is pretty decent. If 2022 can generate 10% I'm happy already.

But I suspect a correction will take place. As long as I have the cash to buy the dip, I'm totally ok with that.

limster

I bought a little more VWRD and LSPU yesterday as the market went south.
I will resist buying todoay as I normally don't buy on Fridays due to short covering etc, and will resume on Monday. Hope the sale continues.

this seems to be a 'stealth' correction as no one is talking about it. Usually all the bears will be out in the forum talking about selling everything :cool:

revhappy

571LQeR.jpg

So far, 4.64% by 19 Jan is pretty decent. If 2022 can generate 10% I'm happy already.

But I suspect a correction will take place. As long as I have the cash to buy the dip, I'm totally ok with that.
This is very commendable achievement. My portfolio is already negative 1% YTD and that is with only 47% equity allocation.

boroangel

Hi, yeah I am totally into index investing, but with a tilt away from from MSCI ACWI.
I have split my equity allocation into 3 equal parts:
1)33% Home country allocation(in my case India)
2)33% Asia pacific ex Japan or Emerging markets
3)33% MSCI ACWI

I was inspired from this Boglehead study, which kind of backtests how non US investors would have fared by investing in different markets, home country vs non home country.

https://www.bogleheads.org/blog/2020/03/02/50-years-of-investing-in-the-world-part-3/
They finally concluded that a 20% tilt away from MSCI ACWI would be kind of middleground, based on the fact that we wont know whether home country will do well or not. 20% tilt means, you take your home country weight in the ACWI and then add 20% to it. In case of US investors it would be like 60+20 so they are supposed to be 80% in US and 20% in non US. In case of SG and India both are like very small weights, so it would basically mean 21-23% in home country.

I have further added another bucket of Asia pacific ex japan or EM, so I am kind of significantly tilted away from the ACWI. Last year was bad for Asia and made me wonder why I did so much tilt towards Asia. But then I like the Ray Dalio way of thinking in terms of uncorrelated assets. We see already this year Asia isnt falling so much, while US is falling. So, it kind of keeps my portfolio stable, hopefully.

Hi Rev,

thanks for sharing. Just curious, you are not DCA-ing into S & P at all? Is there a particular reason?

boroangel

I bought a little more VWRD and LSPU yesterday as the market went south.
I will resist buying todoay as I normally don't buy on Fridays due to short covering etc, and will resume on Monday. Hope the sale continues.

this seems to be a 'stealth' correction as no one is talking about it. Usually all the bears will be out in the forum talking about selling everything :cool:

This is excellent performance given that most portfolios (both retail and fund managers) are bleeding red this year.

revhappy

Yes indeed. The index kind of hides the bloodbath that is going on in majority of the stocks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.