Anyone here have plans to migrate?

RedOrion

Migrating, i see as a more realistic option to change your environment.
Rather than complaining and hoping things here will change.
Some places just doesnt suit everybody else....likewise things people do may not suit your preference.
Like how the 4g handles crisis, one may see they are shatheads but others praise them for good job done.
One can think sg can be better place to live in, but some already think its the best place for them.
So different perspectives.

killtime

please do not leave

Singapore is a safe country unlike e rest

Singapore will never ever be packed like sardines wherever you go
be it in mrt rides shopping malls

Singapore males have e best of both worlds by serving e nation and e same time getting good salary

Singapore government is e best comparing with e rest as they are e highest paid in e entire world

Singapore government brings the world to you so you no need to travel
example CECA

Singapore government brings excitement to your life
example CECA

Singapore government ensures you have e smoothest job searching journey with foreigners

so so so so much more reasons for you to stay in Singapore....

why must you not leave?

tokcokking

Plus with the endless booster mandates and a braindead citizenry, there’s clear and present health risk from staying and building a career here

in most other countries, there’s alr substantial pushback on mandates for 2 basic doses, doubt anywhere will get traction with mandating boosters. even Israel is peeling back on this insanity liao
Don't like that la. Go pak your boosters and stop worrying wor. You must pak 3rd 4th boosters because many of us pak already. Join us sinkies sheeps la. If you must emigrate, at least pak all the boosters first so we can sleep well every night. Don't pushback mandates la. Pak vaxsins is gooodch la. Why worry for your children, your children's children, ad nauseam. Thrust PAP la.

datbac2

<<Tax - The moment you buy a car, your monthly income that goes to gov becomes similar to that of European cites. Plus, over there, give gov money, they use to take care of people. Here give gov money, they use to fund a useless SAF, pay themselves, design stupid policy, build overly expensive infrastructure... Just think, 100 billion in covid spending is 40K per citizen, I got 1.2k, where the other 38.8k go? No one knows - definitely not to healthcare infrastructure.>>

What i most DU LAN is the tax money goes to help Foreigner students to study almost FREE! totally neglected local students and every year keep wasting MONEY like no body biz!

In overseas, is the International students who pay alot FULL fees to cover the fees for local students!

If the student is poor, unable to afford fees and wanted to go uni for upgrade. The govt will offer free interest loans first and give the students to study. Upon grad, the students will slowly pay back depend on how much he/she earns annually.

SEE THE BIG F DIFFERENCE! WHO IS LOCAL AND WHO IS A FOREIGNER!

Hahaha... that is true.

I am part of the batch that did not get to go into NUS/NTU because gov start giving away all the spots to foreigners and pay for their education.

Then in my first job.
I was part of a brand new team in the company.
3 fresh grads + 1 foreign manager.
And among the 3 fresh grads...
I was the only one without free education given by Singapore government.
I was the only Singaporean.

And of course, I am the oldest!

kuma-mon

please do not leave

Singapore is a safe country unlike e rest

Singapore will never ever be packed like sardines wherever you go
be it in mrt rides shopping malls

Singapore males have e best of both worlds by serving e nation and e same time getting good salary

Singapore government is e best comparing with e rest as they are e highest paid in e entire world

Singapore government brings the world to you so you no need to travel
example CECA

Singapore government brings excitement to your life
example CECA

Singapore government ensures you have e smoothest job searching journey with foreigners

so so so so much more reasons for you to stay in Singapore....

why must you not leave?

I can sense your sarcasm lol

Valien

I lose hope in this country liao, i can just feel people are generally unhappy here

It doesnt feel like home anymore, feels more like a business

It's obvious that there's two systems in place, one for FT one for citizens

I dont want my future sons to sacrifice and protect the country that doesnt protect the interest of its own citizens

Good luck to those who are planning to live here for your entire life
Yes, I've plans to migrate, but how? Can you teach a poor uncle like me without money, without qualifications, with family and which country would accept me immediately without I forking out money to invest in their country, buy long-term pass, study for 3 to 5 years to work and eventually then can migrate into their country?

LoUsyGamER

actually for tax, income tax and gains tax really damn low in SG. thats 1 big reason im still in SG.

but like what u said about ur other points, once my kids finish O levels, ill leave for good cause sending them to college in the US (thank god they accept O levels as entry, so my kids can skip 2/3 years of nonsense poly/jc)

career prospects in SG is really fug. im 'heng' i work in CS so its very stable, but ppl around my age group (35), those that make it are in a pressure cooker, those that cant make it struggle to find a proper career path.

my bro in law went medical sch in UK, right after he graduated, uk gov gave him a special form to apply for indefinite leave to remain ~ macham give him PR to live there. i went there visit him, notice cost of living outside of london damn cheap.
Is the taxes.

Just want to see how long sg can tong without wealth tax

kuma-mon

Yes, I've plans to migrate, but how? Can you teach a poor uncle like me without money, without qualifications, with family and which country would accept me immediately without I forking out money to invest in their country, buy long-term pass, study for 3 to 5 years to work and eventually then can migrate into their country?

For uncle like u, i think the only way is to wait for your company to give u work/business opportunity elsewhere.
U can apply for job elsewhere but can be difficult for them to accept coz of ur age

LoUsyGamER

aiya, now i quite stable liao, got hdb and condo rental. i just need to do some creative accounting to make sure my yearly gains below 130k SGD can liao.

if PAP intro wealth tax, jitao sell off and siam liao.

:(
They talk for wealth tax many many many times and years. See the newer gen government will give in in the future.

kuma-mon

aiya, now i quite stable liao, got hdb and condo rental. i just need to do some creative accounting to make sure my yearly gains below 130k SGD can liao.

if PAP intro wealth tax, jitao sell off and siam liao.

:(

Lol no you are not stable, u are full in debts
If u lose ur job, i cant ensure your stability

Now they are planning to hike interest rates, i think u should be worried instead

miketay90

Lol no you are not stable, u are full in debts
If u lose ur job, i cant ensure your stability

Now they are planning to hike interest rates, i think u should be worried instead
so many silly people think they are stable with additional property rental...they are actually neck deep in debt.

they think they can liquidate if needed, but the exit door may face a stampede if/when it occurs

miketay90

age and number of children?

one possible bet is on them and hope they bring you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.