I m in same boat like u leh...I have frugal fatigue after 50 years old. I started to splurge as I know my money will end up nowhere when I died. I have no qualm taking business class or a luxury cruise. I just have to make sure I don't overspend beyond what I have ..
I older than u, around 100k per year, include cpf exclude house, rarely take taxi also dun have 1.2 mil leh... Wonder where i squander my money...I asked about the definition of net worth because I was wondering if I can afford to splurge a bit. End of last year, I hit 1mio (+cpf, -HDB) at 41. Low compared to many others here. I'm cruising along around 85K per year (not 10+k per month like the other Uncles here). Recently, I started the habit of taking taxi to work (work to home still MRT) and am feeling somewhat guilty about it.![]()
I m in same boat like u leh...
I older than u, around 100k per year, include cpf exclude house, rarely take taxi also dun have 1.2 mil leh... Wonder where i squander my money...![]()
No la. My house hdb 3 room nia leh. At most can sell 500k only...your net worth is probably in your house, thats the traditional way of getting rich in Singapore....![]()
I asked about the definition of net worth because I was wondering if I can afford to splurge a bit. End of last year, I hit 1mio (+cpf, -HDB) at 41. Low compared to many others here. I'm cruising along around 85K per year (not 10+k per month like the other Uncles here). Recently, I started the habit of taking taxi to work (work to home still MRT) and am feeling somewhat guilty about it.
If you are flat in Jan, its pretty great performance alreadyIn Jan, Investment gain is flat (drag down by SGX reit) and networth growth mainly from salary saved and 5k dividend/interest received ..
YTD Investment gain/loss: 0%
YTD Networth growth: 0.43%
Ouch! I guess, you must have made really good gains before that? People who had very conservative portfolio were cushioned from the fall, but then we also didn't gain from the pandemic boom.My ytd -12.8%.
From November high -32%.
Many here still did well ytd.
I just calculated the returns as of Feb 28.
YTD Investment growth: -2.48%
YTD Networth growth: -1.46%
YTD inflow: 1.02%
Equity ratio: 50.81%
So 2 down months in a row, I increased by allocation ratio to equities from 49.3% -> 50.81%
i made a mistake and sold my cspx at $423.36. ytd networth -6%![]()
At least your -2.48% return still outperforms VTI.![]()
My IBKR return is not much better. However, I view this as an opportunity for me to build up my holdings of world ETF and S&P500 ETF.
Wow, why did you sell man? Were you leveraged and forced to sell or something?i made a mistake and sold my cspx at $423.36. ytd networth -6%![]()