PC Speaker recommendation

RockaRolla

Haha most of my items I buy I just based off reviews. Lazy go down.

Ok I will check more reviews online haha

Saw this online. I think build quality looks ok to me.

https://www.codewithmike.com/edifier-t5-subwoofer-review/
Price difference of T5 and WH-S8E about $50

Haha understandable

for the price difference though, only you can decide bah, whether the $50 worth it

anyway, just nice 4.4 lai liao, can check lazada/shopee, see got more discounts for both of them boh

ckling

Haha understandable

for the price difference though, only you can decide bah, whether the $50 worth it

anyway, just nice 4.4 lai liao, can check lazada/shopee, see got more discounts for both of them boh
I got it below $250 during 3.3

ckling

I can afford but i guess i dont want to spend so much for PC audio speakers, but if its for my home theatre, yes i am willing to pay. For pc usage to hear youtube music, i guess i wanna leave my budget to max $400.
Smsl sa300 + elac db52 can fit the budget if got good voucher for 4.4 sale

poooooo

I doubt you know Swee Lee, Swee Lee is a musical instrument equipment distributor.
You think Adelphi the only place can get speakers, DAC, amps?
Watch who you are calling out.
I know Swee Lee, and hooted a guitar tube amp from them before.
And you can't stop me from loving dirt-cheap china amps and audio products :cool:

poooooo

if tonight elac debut got good price, example $250, den what else i should get? that A07? or just an internal creative soundcard
You basically only need speaker, amp (with sub out if you want to build a 2.1). Equalizer apo foc for eq on PC.

Creative x4 or g6 if you want those extra gaming features, otherwise you don't really need to have a soundcard

daisuki

if tonight elac debut got good price, example $250, den what else i should get? that A07? or just an internal creative soundcard

You basically only need speaker, amp (with sub out if you want to build a 2.1). Equalizer apo foc for eq on PC.

Creative x4 or g6 if you want those extra gaming features, otherwise you don't really need to have a soundcard
pooooo on point. u dont need soundcard since if u output from motherboard using motherboard internal soundcard, u can just use motherboard audio software for gaming features and eq or use equalizer APO if just need eq. else, the amp will power the passive speakers and u can control volume from the dial on the A07 or windows or both. ur choice. but nubbad speaker good, amp powerful enough to drive speakers. so no issues

like what i post previously, u can top up $30 more to get the A07 with Bluetooth 5.2 n aptX. then will be as good as powered wireless speakers

I said the R1280DBs is at an awkward price and performance point didn't I. ;)

It depends on what you're finding inadequate and want to upgrade.

And if price is no issue between $150 and $300, I will buy Elac Debut B5.2 for $299 (Or B6.2 for $399 if I need more oomph - Take note bigger speakers need more space)

And then for the amp get a AIYIMA A07 for $100

Then download equalizerAPO for free OS-wide EQ and boost the heck out of the bass and also fix the room EQ. And also reduce the treble as recommended by the ex-VP of Microsoft digital media division.

And you will already have a system that sounds better than what a lot of "audiophiles" listen to. And the difference between this and "audiophile cables" is that, you can actually hear it. A lot.

Then next is whether you want to save enough money and room space to get a 30Hz subwoofer or 20Hz subwoofer or not.
Elac Debut B5.2
don't think can put on study desk rite?

wwenze

Elac Debut B5.2
don't think can put on study desk rite?

idk man I've put S2000MKIII on IKEA LINNMON and it was glorious.

Only when 6.5 inchers like S3000Pro and Wharfedale 8.2 are put on the same desk then things start to become problematic, in terms of physical space, sound issues, and frequency response.

B5.2 is just 23.3cm deep, easy. Heck, now when I put smaller speakers like R1280DBs it looks too small.

Oh right, one advantage of the bigger speakers is that the tweeter will be around the middle of the screen height. Smaller speakers will sit at the bottom. Or I guess with speakers like z623 or Creative Pebble or Stage soundbar you don't have a tweeter to worry about. But c'mon, you know sound coming from bottom of the screen sucks. Sound should be coming from the sides.

hyperfuse

pooooo on point. u dont need soundcard since if u output from motherboard using motherboard internal soundcard, u can just use motherboard audio software for gaming features and eq or use equalizer APO if just need eq. else, the amp will power the passive speakers and u can control volume from the dial on the A07 or windows or both. ur choice. but nubbad speaker good, amp powerful enough to drive speakers. so no issues

like what i post previously but unfortunately deleted cos someome claim fairy tale uno reverse stories, u can top up $30 more to get the A07 with Bluetooth 5.2 n aptX. then will be as good as powered wireless speakers
Thanks for the advice.

That ao7 with Bluetooth, can I know what's the use for? Means I can use mobile phone and Bluetooth connect to the ao7 and the music can be played on the elac debut 5.2?

Currently my r1280dbs have inbuilt Bluetooth already haha...but rarely use phone anyway. It's for desktop use.

wwenze

Yupz... that's what BT does.

A07 PRO TPA3255 Bluetooth Power Amplifier
Chipset: TPA3255+NE5532+QCC304X
Bluetooth: Version 5.2 Bluetooth support: 16-24bit 44.1-48khz Supported format: sbc/aac/aptx/aptx-ll/aptx-hd
Replaceable OP amp chips: SR3609SM, OPA2604, OPA2314, LM4562, JRC5532, OP275GSZ, OPA1612AIDR, etc.
Distortion: 0.002%
Signal-to-noise ratio: 90dB
Frequency response: bass ±12dB; treble±10dB

A07 for comparison:
SNR:110db
THD+N:0.008%

While looking at the A07 Pro thread also came across this:
to be fair for a small brand like AIYIMA you cannot even expect consistent product quality from different batches, see this measurement on a newer batch of A07: https://www.l7audiolab.com/f/aiyima-a07/

Summary of link: Inflation, scared cannot get same part quality, inductor affects performance
Turns out one channel faulty

So, yea, check your China amps if they survive the China shipping.

And to be fair, bad-on-arrival products happen all the time, including this Marantz PM5003 measured by Stereophile.

daisuki

Thanks for the advice.

That ao7 with Bluetooth, can I know what's the use for? Means I can use mobile phone and Bluetooth connect to the ao7 and the music can be played on the elac debut 5.2?

Currently my r1280dbs have inbuilt Bluetooth already haha...but rarely use phone anyway. It's for desktop use.
oh.. like dat, u shud follow wwenze's advice. i never even considered china amps. but the price and the power it gives and the test results shown gave confidence that at least can trust a bit. but quality wise hor, dunno whether can last
maybe get local for extra assurance since got warranty to protect u from shoddy parts inside. or maybe consider other amps since got budget to spare ba

and if dun need bluetooth, save the money. wired better anyway. bluetooth is if maybe want to chill in study room rock out music with phone and do workout or something. but still got computer so not neccessary 4 u

eh.. the audiolab link show the A07 performance at 20000hz like not good le shud skip or not? maybe try Loxjie A30? i dunno. this one, needs to ask the sexperts here

wwenze

eh.. the audiolab link show the A07 performance at 20000hz like not good le shud skip or not? maybe try Loxjie A30? i dunno. this one, needs to ask the sexperts here

That one is called spoil during shipping. Just tell the seller.

cochran

Whats a good amplifier below $80 with AC adaptor to drive speaker?

poooooo

Good or not I don't really know, very limited choices at that price range, Ayima a07 and Fosi audio TB10D. You can go google for specs if they drive your speakers.

wwenze

No money for the A07 then get this lor

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/328...099506465!sea!SG!0&curPageLogUid=CvJMGAvTZ7aM

And honestly it doesn't really matter too much which one you get, these amps typically can do 0.03% to 0.1% THD+N. Even my old Tripath amp from 10 years ago measures around there. The main improvement over the years is just the max output power kept increasing. A07 just gets a special mention because it has one extra zero.

And 0.03% is good enough to be inaudible especially considering most speakers go to 0.1% or more. Which is why audiophile reviewers can't hear anything wrong.

https://6moons.com/audioreviews/sonicimpact/t.html

hyperfuse

correct me if i am wrong.

An amp is just to give power to the speakers thats all. similar function to a PSU in a desktop?

A DAC can alter the sound signature of the audio, similar to like an EQ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.