I rented the whole unit of an apartment, is it right the the landlord claimed the CDC vouchers?

Needmysleep

I've encountered the same issue and I'm renting, pink IC but new house not ready yet...
Can only LLST and let landlord claim all the vouchers, it is for the owner of the house not the renters...

wrong!

Landlord is supposed to change his address .
If both staying in same house , one goes to CC to get the vouchers

drkcynic

there is an exception when the landlord is renting a room to another singaporean tenant. Then whoever claim first.. the other can go cc to appeal
True. The system allows everybody to claim what they want, provided nobody disputes.

Once dispute if misunderstanding can settle, then fine. But if got any fraudulent activities will be sent to court. Like those people who go and double claim masks or claim other people's masks.

Not worth the trouble at all. $500 nia. Like I said, just claim what one is supposed to claim to the best of their understanding. Don't go geh kiang or gian png go claim more than 1 set of CDC vouchers. G already stated 1.27m households. You claim more means someone didn't get. High chance come back to bite him/her.

Alilolo

Heng my tenants all not singaporean
I hope you are staying in the same household so you are entitle to the voucher.
At the same time, I hope #CDC #ICA look into this subject matter to prevent abuse and cheating on the government.

There are 3 issues here;
A) landlord not updating address as per ICA Law,
B) Landlord not staying in the unit, rent to foreigners but claimed the CDC voucher,
C) Landlord not updating address, rent to Singaporean and PR but claimed the voucher.
Wah you also jskm. Just silent all the way.
Anyway, here's the proper summary without any political or personal opinion.

"Every Singapore household will receive $500 CDC Vouchers in 2024"

1. If you not Singaporean, then no CDC for you. I am quite certain PR don't qualify. Not happy please go find your local area minister go debate.

2. As per what you claim, they have taken your voucher. Please get proof which is available as detailed below:

What should I do if my household’s vouchers have already been claimed by someone else?
If someone else has claimed the vouchers, the page will display the name of the family member who has claimed the vouchers on behalf of the household after you have completed the login with Singpass. You may wish to check with that household member.

3. This is my knowledge from my family who rents our their spare property. They have to update their home address to indicate which is a rental and which is their home address. If they somehow still have the rented property as their home address despite renting the whole property, which should not happen and you can report this to iras or to your local area minister.

It still wouldn't affect your eligibility as long as you are Singaporean though. It is by household, not just address. You can try going to a nearby Community Centre to clarify.
Dude, I post a question and hope to understand the subject matter not here to debate haha. I explained the situation again also thanked those constructive contribution by smarter folks much earlier. Sorry but i don;t have time to reply all.
Apparently it had nothing to do with foreigners and many here are xenophobically trying to defend some skew logic likely for own benefits, in fact the are violating the law and to the extend cheating the system.

Again thanks to many nice folks, the subject matter is very clear now if you read those contributed by the smart ones.

typographie

Isn't this pwetty straight forward? The household which is officially tied to the address should be the one claiming the vouchers. The landlord is committing a crime if the address is listed as their official residence but they are not staying there.

vaxvms

TS should see this coming

should standby fast hand fast leg go redeem $500 cdc yesterday

anyway TS can still go appeal and redeem at CC (a bit complicated but can be done.......have done it before that's why i know )

vaxvms

Isn't this pwetty straight forward? The household which is officially tied to the address should be the one claiming the vouchers. The landlord is committing a crime if the address is listed as their official residence but they are not staying there.
got loop hole lah

legal renting out n pay tax no issue imo

poland_ball

Claim by all means. I never says cannot claim. Since we are sharing, only fair to share the maintenance costs and taxes as well. Don’t agree, feel free to move out.
All the costs should have been covered in the rental alr

evildoer

got loop hole lah

legal renting out n pay tax no issue imo
there is no loop hole. it's either you updated the address with the ICA or you choose not to

there is no scenario where u can entitled the Owner Occupied tax rate and other benefit when you are not staying in your own property... if there is, please do enlighten me this loop hole (which technically will not break the law)... i am not entitled to GST voucher (Aug 23) because of the annual value of the property.. which i moved into a condo (not own by me) in June 2022

Alphidius

wrong!

Landlord is supposed to change his address .
If both staying in same house , one goes to CC to get the vouchers

Nope, landlord locked one bedroom and his registered address is the place I'm renting...

evildoer

Nope, landlord locked one bedroom and his registered address is the place I'm renting...
I think the government is cracking down owner who do this .. few were caught last year... it's technically not allowed during the MOP?

But if it's after the MOP, he is legally allow to rent out the whole unit....don't see the reason why he do that by locking one room and have his address remains.

SkyNinja

By right, 1 family household with at least 1 Singaporean is tied to one set of CDC vouchers. If u know of anyone exploiting loophole, u can contact the authorities.

Alphidius

I think the government is cracking down owner who do this .. few were caught last year... it's technically not allowed during the MOP?

But if it's after the MOP, he is legally allow to rent out the whole unit....don't see the reason why he do that by locking one room and have his address remains.

Yeah he just bought the resale house during Covid period and rent out the whole house except one room...
On paper he was suppose to live here but he doesn't come by at all but since that's what we wanted, we also didn't complain...

evildoer

Yeah he just bought the resale house during Covid period and rent out the whole house except one room...
On paper he was suppose to live here but he doesn't come by at all but since that's what we wanted, we also didn't complain...
He didn't fulfilled the MOP. I even think owner did not declare the rental income which is taxable with IRA ( I think it's a heavy penalty if got caught.) u can do the right thing and report him... but i think it will be troublesome for you to do that.. because you will probably need to move out. In this case you are local and registered your address of this rental unit with ICA right ? then u are 100% deserving of the CDC voucher. i think it's transferable. Maybe talk to the landlord..

For me . of course i would like these see these tax evaders charged.. being that such a big hike in property tax this year..

Alphidius

He didn't fulfilled the MOP. I even think owner did not declare the rental income which is taxable with IRA ( I think it's a heavy penalty if got caught.) u can do the right thing and report him... but i think it will be troublesome for you to do that.. because you will probably need to move out. In this case you are local and registered your address of this rental unit with ICA right ? then u are 100% deserving of the CDC voucher. i think it's transferable. Maybe talk to the landlord..

For me . of course i would like these see these tax evaders charged.. being that such a big hike in property tax this year..

But we did register on HDB portal so I guess IRAS will know right? And yes our NRIC change to this address...
Anyway we did use some of the CDC Vouchers previously and the landlord took the rest...
He later told us the vouchers was for him and we need to check with CDC if we can get our own vouchers....

evildoer

But we did register on HDB portal so I guess IRAS will know right? And yes our NRIC change to this address...
Anyway we did use some of the CDC Vouchers previously and the landlord took the rest...
He later told us the vouchers was for him and we need to check with CDC if we can get our own vouchers....
haha stupid owner still want you to talk to the authority ... He doesn't know how much trouble he is in right now. You can act blur go to the authority .. see what happen next

st0rm5cap3

CDC vouchers are given to every Singaporean household.

For Singaporeans renting and the landlord or another tenant has claimed under the rental address, they can go to the nearest CC to apply.

If more than one households live under the same address, each household will get a set of the CDC vouchers.

And each household in SG can only get one set.

If the landlord makes a few claims under different property addresses, baotoh him and hor yi see.
Correct. It's only for sinkie citizens so those PRs, foreigners, pls save the trouble. The CDC vouchers not for u. If sinkie landlord not staying at the tenanted place, yet he claimed the CDC vouchers for that address, means he never update his official address. Can bao toh, then government can check - maybe another family member in his household claimed for his current address.. Ie he could be claiming 2x...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.