jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Also met a group of 3 cyclists who insisted on taking up the whole cycling lane riding 3 abreast and also wearing black and without lights and dark clothings. !@#$@!# Nearly crashed into them as i had to brake and veered onto the pedestrian lane. I u-turned and chased for a while before decided to chillax, i think they "felt it". Nearly wanted to F them upside down. :mad: :mad:
For runners, worst come to worst over take from the grass patch. Not that we like to, in fact I hate to, but bo pian, don't want to spoil the rhythm of the cadence.

sph777

This guy managed to run 1.27 HM off 47km avg. weeks. Can see his improvement in his training pace as he progresses through the weeks.

Impressive. For next Sunday I am aiming 1:33 but I go as far as my calf takes me haha

WussRedXLi

For runners, worst come to worst over take from the grass patch. Not that we like to, in fact I hate to, but bo pian, don't want to spoil the rhythm of the cadence.

I guess when running it still should be relatively safe to do that at lower speeds. But nowadays the grass area are going to be damp and slippery.

You remember i posted last year a group of walkers suddenly jumped onto my lane on the rail corridor and I took to the grass on my left side on the bicycle. My GPS just showed 11.x kmh, ie 5.00 pace. I just lost traction when i tried to to maneuveur to the right and i buanged + got road rash lascerations that caused me to have 8 days MC.
That was in late Oct, in fact now nearly 6 months later, the tissues beneathe the scar still feels a bit itchy at times. Very very dififcult to heal, the wound kept "re-opening" when you accidently knock onto it due to daily activities and movements.

WussRedXLi

Wah.....tonight got chance to hoot time trial again. :love: :love: Do a solid one best effort, then Sat and Sun go watch T100 and support with the kid and cafe ride (mcdonald's sweet potato soft server $1.20). Life is good. :love:

xyTJRqA.jpg

Kuudere

Impressive. For next Sunday I am aiming 1:33 but I go as far as my calf takes me haha
One interesting thing to note is his 6km tempo is 9s/km faster than his actual HM pace.

1.33 HM >> 4.16-4.18 6km tempo
4.18 - 4.20 8km tempo

Faster range (4.16/4.18): low 1.33
Slower range (4.18/4.20): high 1.33

Also, he didn't scale well into HM. With 38.16 10k, he should run 1.24 HM. But run 1.27, possibly due to his low mileage.

If your mileage is higher and have better scaling for the HM, then + 1-2s/km to the above range.
DNF the 5k time trial. Too warm (coz didnt really rain in the late afternoon), even though it wasn't a warm day.
Felt that the HR a bit too high also. Cut back to a tempo run and then chill cafe ride around. Next time......still lots of time.

Also met a group of 3 cyclists who insisted on taking up the whole cycling lane riding 3 abreast and also wearing black and without lights and dark clothings. !@#$@!# Nearly crashed into them as i had to brake and veered onto the pedestrian lane. I u-turned and chased for a while before decided to chillax, i think they "felt it". Nearly wanted to F them upside down. :mad: :mad:
Can go run the 5k with parkrun or do it at some quiet track. Reservoirs also another option

WussRedXLi

Can go run the 5k with parkrun or do it at some quiet track. Reservoirs also another option

Parkruns are very zhun measured distance, problem is that the crowds are relatively worse (other park users + the running group tho the front pack is thin). Same with races too. Luckily for me is just for fun and i am not really particular about accuracy and i like to try and try. :ROFLMAO:
Actually last night was no feeling it coz too warm.

The potential accident was when i was on my bike at cafe ride speeds, not when TT-ing. It was a potential head-on, so if either party no lane discipline and dont follow the law (7pm to 7am legislation needs lights, helmets no need for PCN) and at speed, the reaction time is pretty low.

Ender

Wah.....tonight got chance to hoot time trial again. :love: :love: Do a solid one best effort, then Sat and Sun go watch T100 and support with the kid and cafe ride (mcdonald's sweet potato soft server $1.20). Life is good. :love:

xyTJRqA.jpg
My phone weather app showing right now 2pm at 25 C.. Shiok, going to start early this evening /

Ender

Parkruns are very zhun measured distance, problem is that the crowds are relatively worse (other park users + the running group tho the front pack is thin). Same with races too. Luckily for me is just for fun and i am not really particular about accuracy and i like to try and try. :ROFLMAO:

The potential accident was when i was on my bike at cafe ride speeds, not when TT-ing. It was a potential head-on, so if either party no lane discipline and dont follow the law (7pm to 7am legislation needs lights, helmets no need for PCN) and at speed, the reaction time is pretty low.
It is not a TT if it's not a measured course. It's just testing your performance. If you timing improve by alot say 2 or 3 minute on 5k, can say your have improved. But if you improve bye less than a minute, very hard to say if the improvement is due to GPS error or is it your fitness has improve.

Kuudere

Outdoor cycling quite common to get into accidents. The last time I cycled, I got into an accident. So far, the safest sport for me is swimming. Don't experience the internal injuries like running but no risk of getting into any accidents like cycling.

I don't mind indoor cycling though, usually do that on monday for cross training. Swimming is another option I am looking to do cross training.
It is not a TT if it's not a measured course. It's just testing your performance. If you timing improve by alot say 2 or 3 minute on 5k, can say your have improved. But if you improve bye less than a minute, very hard to say if the improvement is due to GPS error or is it your fitness has improve.
The parkruns use a professional measuring wheel, so the difference due to distance should be very minor. Maybe +/- 10-20m, that's why I suggested that.

But one interesting thing I noted was that ECP parkrun had significantly faster avg. times (27.59) than Bishan parkrun (30.04) and WCP (30.14).

On closer inspection, the ECP route is a straight line route, bishan parkrun is a full circle loop with multiple turns, west coast park is one circle loop + one rectangle loop + a straight line in the middle of the run.

The distance maybe the same but ECP offers the best chance to get good timings due to the straight course.

WussRedXLi

Outdoor cycling quite common to get into accidents. The last time I cycled, I got into an accident. So far, the safest sport for me is swimming. Don't experience the internal injuries like running but no risk of getting into any accidents like cycling.

Cycling on the road the risk of accidents i believe is even higher than motorcyclist. Came across figure of 700 for cyclists for a certain year vs just under 4k for motorcyclist accidents? Absolute number. What's the absolutely number of people in road cycling vis motorcyclists using it as mode of transport and also factoring in the number of hours they use per wk/month as a means of transport?
And even for motorbikes, it's already said to be "人包铁“。

Typical bicycles are much less visible than even motorcycles. You just try to notice that while using the roads, heck even as a pedestrian. Then add in the speed difference between bicycles and other vehicles, worse.
Of coz if you come across me, you might utter the word "absolutely ridiculous"......that's also the reason why i don't/cannot join group rides. :ROFLMAO: My aim is to be at least 1X as visible as cars, sometimes 2X. Anyway i just use some short parts of roads to get from point A to B fast and only during super off peak periods, not really for recreation.

Ender

The parkruns use a professional measuring wheel, so the difference due to distance should be very minor. Maybe +/- 10-20m, that's why I suggested that.

But one interesting thing I noted was that ECP parkrun had significantly faster avg. times (27.59) than Bishan parkrun (30.04) and WCP (30.14).

On closer inspection, the ECP route is a straight line route, bishan parkrun is a full circle loop with multiple turns, west coast park is one circle loop + one rectangle loop + a straight line in the middle of the run.

The distance maybe the same but ECP offers the best chance to get good timings due to the straight course.
Good observation, Guess this is the reason why not all IAAF certified marathon courses are the same. WC are only broken on certain countries route, other than weather, it's the flatness and straightness. No one will ever achieve WC on our SCSM and will never see the best elite to compete in Singapore. Our course may be certified by legit race directors, even our undulation meets the standard, other thn weather, the Sheare bridge is one heck of a speed dampener.

There's lies the consistency question of doing TT to see if you had improve. I only do it on Stadium. So end of a training block, need to do the trial on the exact same measured route to compare past and present. All elements are the same, the curve and distance. Except weather.

WussRedXLi

It used to be more consistent coz i kept using the same location (my rooftop) so the GPS is rather constant, i measured 1 round and GPS was within 10 metres vs measured (assuming measurement quite accurate, which probably is) ...... but yea you are correct nowadays it's gonna more variable if doing in various locations.

Anyway i don't think fitness has improved (or worse declined) significantly.......but just by doing more "time trials", i guess just be sheer experience/pacing it can improve. Like the 10K, 3K "TTs", same route start and end point.....the timings jumped from 41.xx down to 39.xx and 11.4x to 11 flat. Just by sheer number of tries/luck. :ROFLMAO: ie I don't dare to claim the distance is accurate but it usually is the same start/finish area then there is still some degree of consistency to it
1 year if wait for only what...2xu, AHM, SCM high profile, it's only 3 times. No off season whatsoever.

Then the cheaper races, they are probably worse off in distance accuracy than my GT Runner's GPS. Like the Skecher's last year.

Ender

It used to be more consistent coz i kept using the same location (my rooftop) so the GPS is rather constant, i measured 1 round and GPS was within 10 metres vs measured (assuming measurement quite accurate, which probably is) ...... but yea you are correct nowadays it's gonna more variable if doing in various locations.

Anyway i don't think fitness has improved (or worse declined) significantly.......but just by doing more "time trials", i guess just be sheer experience/pacing it can improve. Like the 10K, 3K "TTs", same route start and end point.....the timings jumped from 41.xx down to 39.xx and 11.4x to 11 flat. Just by sheer number of tries/luck. :ROFLMAO: ie I don't dare to claim the distance is accurate but it usually is the same start/finish area then there is still some degree of consistency to it
1 year if wait for only what...2xu, AHM, SCM high profile, it's only 3 times. No off season whatsoever.

Then the cheaper races, they are probably worse off in distance accuracy than my GT Runner's GPS. Like the Skecher's last year.
Ya, if you stick your roof top circuit, consistency is there.

Skechers was terrible. I wouldn't put most races in Singapore for serious entry of personal best. We only have one certified race in Singapore, which is SCSM. and only the FM and HM are certified.

WussRedXLi

Ya, if you stick your roof top circuit, consistency is there.

Skechers was terrible. I wouldn't put most races in Singapore for serious entry of personal best. We only have one certified race in Singapore, which is SCSM. and only the FM and HM are certified.

Wah i super sian now....waana go hoot but i stuck in office. Last min 5pm got hw issue ah. Really super murphy's law. 🤯🤯🤯
Haiz

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.