RIP to me in advance

mummynew

i got a fren late 30s who having good genes, sia. never do anything like TS on the diet. Exercise also not those so siao on daily type but his HDL is 130 and LDL is around 100 or below. sometime i also envy those having very good genes ppl.

I have been reading on and off on whether having very high HDL is 'good' for years, esp when my friend (then mid 40s) was prescribed statin due to her 120 HDL (genetic) that her doc said is 'too high' (her LDL was about 130 then and trigly was about 80).

Till now, I still have no personal verdict of what is considered 'too high' for HDL. Eg of random reading:

Meanwhile, a 2017 reviewTrusted Source suggests that the balance of HDL and LDL may play a role. In one of two large studies reviewed, people with “extreme” high or low HDL levels had a higher risk of death than those who had more moderate levels. The authors proposed that optimal levels could be 73 mg/dL in males and 93 mg/dL in females.

Source: https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319275#higher-hdl

maisianmaisian

I have been reading on and off on whether having very high HDL is 'good' for years, esp when my friend (then mid 40s) was prescribed statin due to her 120 HDL (genetic) that her doc said is 'too high' (her LDL was about 130 then and trigly was about 80).

Till now, I still have no personal verdict of what is considered 'too high' for HDL. Eg of random reading:

Meanwhile, a 2017 reviewTrusted Source suggests that the balance of HDL and LDL may play a role. In one of two large studies reviewed, people with “extreme” high or low HDL levels had a higher risk of death than those who had more moderate levels. The authors proposed that optimal levels could be 73 mg/dL in males and 93 mg/dL in females.

Source: https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319275#higher-hdl
What about the ratio for reading for total/HDL too?

mummynew

What about the ratio for reading for total/HDL too?

I interpret this ratio as a stronger indicator than just LDL alone as one of the factors in deciding on whether I would take statin. Anything above 4.4 (female) will make me 'wake up' and pay attention (so far, twice in my life).

This ratio may not be so useful for those with extreme high HDL coz like my frn with her HDL of 120, her ratio was only about 2.3 but doctors, not one, but three (one GP, one public hospital, one pte cardio), all said STATIN.

carey

The easiest way for you to drop your blood sugar levels naturally is to go low carb and high protein/fats

Many T2 and even some T1 have managed to keep their blood sugar under control under this regime

Eating bread, rice and noodles are no different from ingesting sugar

Fruits are especially bad - if you need fiber, get from leafy greens instead

1982-1994

I interpret this ratio as a stronger indicator than just LDL alone as one of the factors in deciding on whether I would take statin. Anything above 4.4 (female) will make me 'wake up' and pay attention (so far, twice in my life).

This ratio may not be so useful for those with extreme high HDL coz like my frn with her HDL of 120, her ratio was only about 2.3 but doctors, not one, but three (one GP, one public hospital, one pte cardio), all said STATIN.
Means all the more I should carry on taking statins with my total cholesterol 4.97 and HDL 1.1

zueinder

Means all the more I should carry on taking statins with my total cholesterol 4.97 and HDL 1.1
You still can't get what I have been trying to drive at.

If you want to take statin, then let it be everyday of your life (meaning you have made the 'statin decision' and so stick to it).

If you have not started a fixed statin regime and want to see whether clean diet can help to improve this LDL / ration, then work on it for three months (without cheating with on-off statin taking). If it improves, then maybe can don't need statin. If it doesn't, then make up your mind on long term statin.
@1982-1994 I think @mummynew is trying to say if you are taking statin now, is very hard to stop taking statin in the long term.

fyi, Most studies show it's very low % to stop taking statin and not suffer the same effects it has helped mitigate. And if you are wondering, most people that suffer the effects will go back to taking statin.

1982-1994

@1982-1994 I think @mummynew is trying to say if you are taking statin now, is very hard to stop taking statin in the long term.

fyi, Most studies show it's very low % to stop taking statin and not suffer the same effects it has helped mitigate. And if you are wondering, most people that suffer the effects will go back to taking statin.
I know what she meant lah but thanks

maisianmaisian

oh my fren HDL 133 doctor say nthing alerting

Coffeelix

View attachment 50222

Lab report just out
I'm back to normal

You have proven and are sg living testimony that all our chronic illnesses stem from our very unhealthy diets of eating out…

Unfortunately, not many have the wisdom to admit and accept. Hence, they choose to continue to live in denial and denying themselves the freedom of good health.

Coffeelix

Rewatched this and don't get the part somewhere in the line "the food she used to eat won't spike her blood sugar"
It is about the order of eating your food and the proportion consumed.

I m sure she cut out all forms of carbohydrates = sugar.
She eating alot of veggies, more than before.

So if you always eat a lot of veggies first then later eat fruits, it won’t cause sugar spike.

Always have veggies as a starter, follow by protein then lastly fruits as your dessert will not cause sugar spike.
This is cos your stomach has been filled with veggies and so later the “fruits/sugar” that gets digested, will not lead to sugar spike like in an empty stomach will.

dilphinus

You have proven and are sg living testimony that all our chronic illnesses stem from our very unhealthy diets of eating out…

Unfortunately, not many have the wisdom to admit and accept. Hence, they choose to continue to live in denial and denying themselves the freedom of good health.
He has proven that many are like him. Anyhow eat and not scared. People have told him before that his diet was 'bad'. He couldn't be bothered. When scared then make changes. These changes aren't even difficult to make in the first instance.

He has also proven that even when people are scared, they can still be lazy (to exercise).

Simply don't understand why people would think that eating healthy and making changes to one's diet is a very wow thing and deserve to be applaud.

Coffeelix

Rewatched this and don't get the part somewhere in the line "the food she used to eat won't spike her blood sugar"
A good example for breakfast or for lunch add quinoa. Have hard boiled eggs in place of scrambled eggs

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.