I disagree with Senior PM Lee; singles should be allowed to buy 2-room BTO flats in non-mature areas.

Hakuna Matata

Just look around your own neighborhood, at night still half the lights don't come on, who knows whether really got people living in it or not.

Maybe, want to save electricity bill? 😅
I only on kitchen/toilet light. If got visitors, then switch on the living room light. Bedroom light hardly use. Most of the time, lepak in the living room. 🙂

coyote

Singles are allowed to buy any 2 room flexi HDB. Ts is so outdated, probably can close thread already.

coyote

Nobody knows if you are going to marry unless you marry..you cannot have the intention and tell government to give you 3 room and 4 room based on that..because anyone can lie about intention

Exactly. Ts can tell the board of directors, I can do a good job as the CEO of the company although I am currently a clerk. Give me the job and I'll show you how to run this company.

OddEye

if they use family as a reasoning, then what about those DINKs who buy BTO, should they be penalized for not having kids but get to enjoy privileges to buy bigger flats?
Yes they should be to be honest unless they have good justification outside of finance situation

Lifeinmotion

1/4 of marriage ends up in divorce over a period of time. And birth rate has not gone up either but down.

None of the policy about pro family has work except allowing couples

1) to benefit from - eg. HDB grant. Paternity leave. Child tax rebate. Etc.

2) Decoupling the unit to buy condo.

3) Benefiting from the rise of rental and property. And pushing out singles from owning a condo in the process due to the ability for them to own both properties.

While singles who purchase a flat get a sub par property if they wish to buy from HDB? And those who can't afford also bear the brunt of taking care the parents as single. ?

Look at the statistics. From 1980 - 2024. What's the percentage of singles and how many properties are there for rental and how many are bought by couples for pure profit.

kyang69

I am sorry I have to say that's pure rubbish. Foreigners cannot buy HDB.
Yes, you are right, foreigners cannot, but PR can buy, if FT becomes PR.
I just didn't spell out all the details, and so I apologise.

coyote

Yes, you are right, foreigners cannot, but PR can buy, if FT becomes PR.
I just didn't spell out all the details, and so I apologise.

Foreigners to PR can take easily more than 10 years of contributions to Singapore economy before they are granted. I think they deserved that.

You should change your sentence to PR to avoid misleading others that foreigners can buy HDB.

Evil_Boss

How can I start a family with just a 2-room BTO flat? More rooms are essential. There needs to be a change—singles should be allowed to buy 3-room and 4-room BTO flats in mature areas, as well as prime, standard, and Plus housing types, so singles can easily start a family.

once u get a girl pregnant u can apply for 3rm BTO, have family on the way then talk.

socratesg

VTO, then tio pwn by oppo who keep the same policy how? Vote for who then?

SG cannot survive if they start enabling single. Need to push ppl into marriage, family and having kids.

Imo the problem for single are those who earn too much for bto but too little for private. Forcing them to buy resale is just cruel imo, basically making the single give lottery money to couples who bought the house at discount.
Hmm..that's kinda true. If VTO and oppos still keep the $Millions dollars salaries (who in the right mind will discard ?), then it's really LPPL.

Song Bro

I rather everyone be allowed to buy any rm BTOs.
Meaning they have to buy at market price.
But will get rebates if married, 1st child, 2nd child, 3rd child etc.
This give an incentive for Singles to "tick" the achievements off his bucket list.

wulu1_69

The system designed for couples to increase tfr and gdp. Singles buying 2rm subsidized heavily bto is can have or can don't have. Negligible doesn't benefit sg much
2r bto can cost more than 200k nowadays,not really subsidized imo

wulu1_69

I fully agree with TS, FT who got PR can buy properties and HDB flats in SG in all sizes and no need do NS, while sinkies who are single and give 2 years to do NS and starting career late get this kind of crap from gov.

We should value sinkies over FT!
Really hate the incumbent for discriminating singles on public housing policies

miko66

I believe all individual sinkies, served and completed ns + ict should be allowed to buy any hdb flats if can afford

TopGun

Foreigners to PR can take easily more than 10 years of contributions to Singapore economy before they are granted. I think they deserved that.

You should change your sentence to PR to avoid misleading others that foreigners can buy HDB.

A Singapore Permanent refers to a foreigner who has been granted permanent residence status which allows him/her to reside in Singapore on a permanent basis.

So a foreigner with PR status can purchase a HDB.

coyote

A Singapore Permanent refers to a foreigner who has been granted permanent residence status which allows him/her to reside in Singapore on a permanent basis.

So a foreigner with PR status can purchase a HDB.

That's just arguing with semantics. Ok forgot to add you into the ignored list. Doing it now.

TopGun

That's just arguing with semantics. Ok forgot to add you into the ignored list. Doing it now.

That's not semantics. I suggest you go read up the definition of PR on ICA website.

Level42

Singles should be allowed to buy 3-rm HDB, while those with a proper family nucleus should be buying 4-rm, 5-rm and maisonette flats. HDB should build larger flats and lower prices. 😝

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.