Seriously everything need money, life is hard 🙃

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

ctan84

coolhead

And here I am every dollar I spent also worry. Maybe shld stop giving a fkx and start to be an irresponsible human.
Maybe do a reality check on the spending? In this case, don't have to worry about the money you spent as long as it is kept in check.

Some things ought to be spent like daily household appliance maintenance, insurance.

Some things can be spent to create memorable experiences like holidays and good meals within our means.

If it helps, you can track down your expenses in a mobile app to see if what you are spending is frivolous and doesn't provide value or provides something positive in return.

Nuclear Boy

Worry later. Spend first.
My personal life motto, influenced by my father :s13: (That's why both of us barely have any savings)

And also, "If you don't expect anything, you won't be disappointed". I know I'd be derided by people (e.g. my mum) as being without ambition, will never become big or get far in life, but that's fine by me. I just want to get by, and splurge occasionally for the fun of it if it is within my means. If not, then it's fine too. It's no big deal. It's really easy to live vicariously through others now that there's social media and video streaming. I don't have to achieve and experience everything personally when I can do some through others.

coolhead

How to rest? I only have myself left and no one will look out for me beside myself. I don't fight who will fight for me.
How do you intend to rest once you have enough money? Another way to phrase this is, what's the most important thing besides money?

IAmChiobu12M

to save money just go hardcore and only take out x amount each month that you can spend, find a way to make that money last, imagine thats all the money you have liao. You will find that alot of things are actually unnecessary. The rest lock away in FD, throw in stocks, buy bonds, or put in CPF.
I have no issues doing that. At least when comes to money I'm very disciplined. But I'm just tired. Idk when is the end of the tunnel. And I just feel very useless.

Nuclear Boy

TS, you should ask yourself why you're making and saving all the dough right now. What's the purpose for your slogging and scrimping?

That is not something any of us have answers for.

Also, you could do with some shedding of 'plans', because some of them will never materialise for you to take action, other than weigh you down right now as dead weight. I hate to say this (at the expense of sounding like I'm dismissing your concerns), but sometimes it helps to not think too far ahead and focus more on the 'now'. Or you could get paralysed into inaction by all the burden of the future, which you cannot foretell.

Travis_Touchdown

But dk why 70% so high about it.

top 20% oredi unlocked cheat code... landlords receiving rents... lich peepurz do niche biz earning big bucks... investors receiving dividends... oredi notch worried about cost of living... :frown:

bottom 30% always receive welfare... jinz heypi and grateful and wanna continue receiving... :frown:

left middle 50%... chiu gotch chiur silver serpents... mybfd pioneer merdeka... all those apolitical zharbohz... and new shittyzens... :frown:

TheITGuy

Not saying idk nothing is free. But sg living really getting more unbearable lehhh.

And to be fair I know all the first world city has the same problem.

How come so many young people can still be so yolo, happy and carefree?

Everything needs money man. In before i behkan that why hei hei chuan.

From little to big things everything literally needs money. Eat 1 meal want find cheap option also hard. Public transport also keep upz fare though is already the cheapest options.

How to retire like that? How come people my age around me can keep spend money one? While everyday I'm stressing 101 things. And everything is money involved.

Wake up I'm immediately stressed about life. Everyday calculating how to make more money and cut down expenses. Thinking how to invest properly. How to build enough emergency funds, to if my insurance coverage is enough. And all the endless bills. And everything at home also need money. 1 thing spoil need pay to fix. Neighbor from hell do something then need immediately come up with plan B to counter. To looking for next place to move etc.

Is it they got parents support or I'm just tanking too many things alone and too suay? I see ig everyday can eat good food, or do something. Really so much money meh? Even though they are advancing next stage of life on and on also like a breeze one.

I see pregnant mummy everyday party and I'm like huh won't stress about later upcoming all the expenses meh?

I see mothers with kids still can keep go cafe hoping, house, kids all free meh?

I see singles buy 1 bag after another.

I'm really overwhelmed by life man...I can safely say I can feel how a solo breadwinner feels. 我真的很累。我的肩膀真的快扛不起。
You think too much liao. I also solo breadwinner and i dont think, just work. Think too much in the end so still the same. Ir I’m destined to be fugged, i will be fugged.

IAmChiobu12M

Maybe do a reality check on the spending? In this case, don't have to worry about the money you spent as long as it is kept in check.

Some things ought to be spent like daily household appliance maintenance, insurance.

Some things can be spent to create memorable experiences like holidays and good meals within our means.

If it helps, you can track down your expenses in a mobile app to see if what you are spending is frivolous and doesn't provide value or provides something positive in return.
Tbh I'm living way under my means and things that are necessity I'll just spend. I don't reward myself I just keep pushing myself for the next goal. But tbf my biggest worry is idw to continue to "feel poor and stay poor". I wanna achieve fire asap so that I no longer need to worry about money. Based on typical savings from videos I'm ahead. But I'm still miserable and feel poor. I probably have more savings than those ig ppl. But that is caz I don't spent it. Still I feel I'm useless.

Caz to me useful is I can save this much while having such life. Then is rly call rich.

Bui Kia

终于下班了,虽然满身疲惫,但心里踏实,虽然挣的不多,但每天都在坚持,为了生活起早贪黑,为了责任努力奋斗,在烟火里谋生,在失意中寻梦,只要是在变好,慢一点也没关系,希望我们都是苦尽甘来的人 🥴

coolhead

@IAmChiobu12M there are alot of peeps here who mention physical exercise. This one I have to agree. I had high levels of stress in my 1st and 3rd jobs. But there was a crucial difference: I didn't exercise in my first job whereas I maintained my exercise routine as much as possible in my 3rd job.

It's a big difference. I threw letter twice in my 1st job due to burnout but in my 3rd job, I was somehow able to manage stress after the calming effects of exercise.

Not forcing on you but voicing out one of the options to make life appear more rosy with tinted glasses because exercise just works like that.

Now I'm saving up as sustainably happy as possible while being saddled with a 500k housing loan in future in addition to my existing housing loan. This meant I'm missing out on the stock market coz it's too risky for my short term financial objective. What kept me sane all these while? Exercise.

IAmChiobu12M

How do you intend to rest once you have enough money? Another way to phrase this is, what's the most important thing besides money?
Maybe I'm just damn depressed so I need money to prize myself. The more I have the more I feel I'm worthy. But to date I still feel unworthy and I should just die.

IAmChiobu12M

TS, you should ask yourself why you're making and saving all the dough right now. What's the purpose for your slogging and scrimping?

That is not something any of us have answers for.

Also, you could do with some shedding of 'plans', because some of them will never materialise for you to take action, other than weigh you down right now as dead weight. I hate to say this (at the expense of sounding like I'm dismissing your concerns), but sometimes it helps to not think too far ahead and focus more on the 'now'. Or you could get paralysed into inaction by all the burden of the future, which you cannot foretell.
Or you could get paralysed into inaction by all the burden of the future, which you cannot foretell. --- this is so me. There are so many things I wanna do end up I didn't do. Then I look at it hindsight bias and be like fkx like if I have done it I'm way ahead.

I'm just full of fear.

IAmChiobu12M

top 20% oredi unlocked cheat code... landlords receiving rents... lich peepurz do niche biz earning big bucks... investors receiving dividends... oredi notch worried about cost of living... :frown:

bottom 30% always receive welfare... jinz heypi and grateful and wanna continue receiving... :frown:

left middle 50%... chiu gotch chiur silver serpents... mybfd pioneer merdeka... all those apolitical zharbohz... and new shittyzens... :frown:
Ya lor kena sandwich until 里外不是人...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.