Seriously everything need money, life is hard 🙃

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Nuclear Boy

Maybe I'm just damn depressed so I need money to prize myself. The more I have the more I feel I'm worthy. But to date I still feel unworthy and I should just die.
You need to reflect on the purpose and utility of your material wealth.

If all you're after is seeing numbers grow, you'll never feel satiated.

orpisia

You complain like that

How about the guy friend you know, the localitguy

People with health problems, physical disability even worse

They're further set back by it

I also am somewhat affected by it, by my dental(for those who remember my thread)

Out of here

Nuclear Boy

Or you could get paralysed into inaction by all the burden of the future, which you cannot foretell. --- this is so me. There are so many things I wanna do end up I didn't do. Then I look at it hindsight bias and be like fkx like if I have done it I'm way ahead.

I'm just full of fear.

You're my fellow kindred spirit...

I know we all have our moments of great hesitation, warranted or not. My stumbling block is always at the "end" of reaching my goals, then I ask myself: "What now?" , and I spiral into the deep rabbit hole of "what ifs".

Sometimes, just gotta do it if it is necessary. Don't dwell too much.

Do you have any interests or hobbies?

IAmChiobu12M

终于下班了,虽然满身疲惫,但心里踏实,虽然挣的不多,但每天都在坚持,为了生活起早贪黑,为了责任努力奋斗,在烟火里谋生,在失意中寻梦,只要是在变好,慢一点也没关系,希望我们都是苦尽甘来的人 🥴

Video cannot load.

coolhead

Tbh I'm living way under my means and things that are necessity I'll just spend. I don't reward myself I just keep pushing myself for the next goal. But tbf my biggest worry is idw to continue to "feel poor and stay poor". I wanna achieve fire asap so that I no longer need to worry about money. Based on typical savings from videos I'm ahead. But I'm still miserable and feel poor. I probably have more savings than those ig ppl. But they is caz I don't spent it. Still I feel I'm useless.
It seems you have an idea on your endgame since you mentioned the Fire objective but are stressing out on making sure you do what's within your means to achieve the Fire objective. The exceptional focus on this objective is making you miserable, maybe because the journey and possibly the endgame doesn't make you happy.

Life is about risks and the normal saying is to allocate 6-12 months living expenses for emergencies. Once you cover this financial safety net, it maybe time to think about how to enjoy your life on the way to Fire as an alternative to Fire then enjoy life. Because if it's the latter, will you regret not enjoying the life in between till Fire? I would.

pushtopen

dunno how to help but generally not giving a **** about anything helps

I think most people brought up by the system here are moulded into high strung personalities even if their natural disposition isn't

I've very rarely seen individuals who are genuinely laid back, tida apa and give no ****s, those I appreciate

maybe keep telling yourself to calm down, worry less and mingle more with such individuals might help

IAmChiobu12M

终于下班了,虽然满身疲惫,但心里踏实,虽然挣的不多,但每天都在坚持,为了生活起早贪黑,为了责任努力奋斗,在烟火里谋生,在失意中寻梦,只要是在变好,慢一点也没关系,希望我们都是苦尽甘来的人 🥴

Can see le.

coolhead

Maybe I'm just damn depressed so I need money to prize myself. The more I have the more I feel I'm worthy. But to date I still feel unworthy and I should just die.
Because money by itself has no value until you have the intention to trade something with it for yourself.

IAmChiobu12M

dunno how to help but generally not giving a **** about anything helps

I think most people brought up by the system here are moulded into high strung personalities even if their natural disposition isn't

I've very rarely seen individuals who are genuinely laid back, tida apa and give no ****s, those I appreciate

maybe keep telling yourself to calm down, worry less and mingle more with such individuals might help
Ya since young trained to be the "perfect sensible child"

yesman2978

Not saying idk nothing is free. But sg living really getting more unbearable lehhh.

And to be fair I know all the first world city has the same problem.

How come so many young people can still be so yolo, happy and carefree?

Everything needs money man. In before i behkan that why hei hei chuan.

From little to big things everything literally needs money. Eat 1 meal want find cheap option also hard. Public transport also keep upz fare though is already the cheapest options.

How to retire like that? How come people my age around me can keep spend money one? While everyday I'm stressing 101 things. And everything is money involved.

Wake up I'm immediately stressed about life. Everyday calculating how to make more money and cut down expenses. Thinking how to invest properly. How to build enough emergency funds, to if my insurance coverage is enough. And all the endless bills. And everything at home also need money. 1 thing spoil need pay to fix. Neighbor from hell do something then need immediately come up with plan B to counter. To looking for next place to move etc.

Is it they got parents support or I'm just tanking too many things alone and too suay? I see ig everyday can eat good food, or do something. Really so much money meh? Even though they are advancing next stage of life on and on also like a breeze one.

I see pregnant mummy everyday party and I'm like huh won't stress about later upcoming all the expenses meh?

I see mothers with kids still can keep go cafe hoping, house, kids all free meh?

I see singles buy 1 bag after another.

I'm really overwhelmed by life man...I can safely say I can feel how a solo breadwinner feels. 我真的很累。我的肩膀真的快扛不起。
Sinkieland got a lot of rich people

富二代,富三代,富many many 代

There are a lot of people who seems to hold normal jobs, but they are just working to pass time nia. They have other income sources, from family wealth, from investments and other sidelines

Need to change thinking liao.

Last time early LKY era, when everyone is poor, for most people, their main job is the main source of income

As sinkieland got richer, a lot of people got richer too. And sinkie culture is that elders like to pass down wealth to the next generation. And with less children, wealth gets more concentrated with each generation.

If someone has $3m in the bank, at a miserable 3% annual returns, that is $90k liao. If buy reits with 6% dividends, that's $180k

Don't need work and still make double the median income

There are a lot of such people around

IAmChiobu12M

Because money by itself has no value until you have the intention to trade something with it for yourself.
Idk maybe I got the hallucinations that the more expensive I am the more valuable I am. Just like a birkin is 1m people also will snatch and fight to get it. While the same handmade leather bag removed the Hermes logo $100 maybe people also think expensive.

Probably I wanna prove that I'm worth more ba? Idk. I feel like if today I have 12m (example) at least if people look down on me, I'll be like at least I got 12m. Vs reality I can't even afford a 1.2m ppty.

I always compare myself with objects. Like why is that thing even more expensive than me.

couch.potato

Tbh I'm living way under my means and things that are necessity I'll just spend. I don't reward myself I just keep pushing myself for the next goal. But tbf my biggest worry is idw to continue to "feel poor and stay poor". I wanna achieve fire asap so that I no longer need to worry about money. Based on typical savings from videos I'm ahead. But I'm still miserable and feel poor. I probably have more savings than those ig ppl. But that is caz I don't spent it. Still I feel I'm useless.

Caz to me useful is I can save this much while having such life. Then is rly call rich.
Eventually can lor. But it also depends on how much u want to spend to feel rich and still have leftover.

but that said, feelings are not facts. U feel poor doesn’t mean you are poor. It’s just poor people like to feel poor even after having savings.

the answer is it’s never enough. Just enjoy with whatever you have on the things u like, knowing u still have prudence with whatever else you have.

why complicate life when its simpler than that? Buy the stuff u like, eat the stuff u like, exercise, look good feel good, then eventually u will find a natural rhythm that feels good to you.

I have happiness in a sense because I genuinely have no desire for all the stuff I see on IG. I still doll up and go out, but I have no desire for the stuff I see. Maybe can afford maybe cannot, but doesn’t matter to me because I don’t want it?

I think I am living extremely comfortably now but to IG I lead a very boring and frugal sad life lah. Doesn’t matter to me. I have everything I could possibly want in life and more.

really, go borrow goodbye things. If read in the right mindset, will free u a lot from your head.

and as for the other people on IG, a less judgmental take would be, they are spending on what makes them happy. Travels, bags, eating good food etc. and that, to them, is better than being sad and frugal. Nothing is more valuable than now. Save too much for later, for what? Worth more meh to enjoy later? Spend now then go earn again also nothing wrong.

even though I am on the frugal side, I also see nothing wrong with the other lifestyle if it makes them happy and they’re not in debt. Unless u do to show people, then that’s dumb af. If not, who cares? Live your own life and be happy, regardless of how it looks.

Nuclear Boy

You need to reflect on the purpose and utility of your material wealth.

If all you're after is seeing numbers grow, you'll never feel satiated.
To quote myself as an example:

I used to spend hours each day strip-mining away in Minecraft, because seeing the increasing stacks of blocks and ores makes me feel good. But at the end of the day, I still feel empty, because I don't know what to do with them. Meanwhile, I always see players around me consistently working away, creating some grand structures while I was mindlessly slogging. I just left the game for good, because I'm just not making good my ample resources. So why waste my time further?

But old habits die hard. I moved onto an airline management game, caught onto an in-game bug, and mindlessly spammed my way into becoming the top company of the worlds I was playing in. Same outcome. What's the point? At that point in time, I barely have any viable competitors, other than seeing my coffers grow richer. I left it for good as well.

I figured if I employed such mindset in real life, I would never have any fun or meaningful experience.

couch.potato

Idk maybe I got the hallucinations that the more expensive I am the more valuable I am. Just like a birkin is 1m people also will snatch and fight to get it. While the same handmade leather bag removed the Hermes logo $100 maybe people also think expensive.

Probably I wanna prove that I'm worth more ba? Idk. I feel like if today I have 12m (example) at least if people look down on me, I'll be like at least I got 12m. Vs reality I can't even afford a 1.2m ppty.

I always compare myself with objects. Like why is that thing even more expensive than me.
Most expensive can win what prize? Haha

people’s respect (not looking down on u) worth the same as the dignity you mentioned before (no money got what dignity). Worthless.

IAmChiobu12M

Most expensive can win what prize? Haha

people’s respect (not looking down on u) worth the same as the dignity you mentioned before (no money got what dignity). Worthless.
But when people look up to you, naturally more opportunities will come to you too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.