TP-Link Archer WiFi 6E/7 Router and Deco WiFi 6E/7 mesh solution

yapman

hi xiaofan, yes i meant BE230, thanks for clarifying.

i can drop the idea of BE230 as i don't think there will be a need for wifi 7, wifi 6 would mostly suffice.

with your suggestion, i might consider replacing the BE230 to another Deco x60.
question - Deco Mesh outperforms EasyMesh? why do you not suggest easymesh but promote Deco Mesh?

side note for knowledge, standalone Archer AX72 vs standalone Deco x60, which would have a better range and will perform better? (in terms of range, buffering video, light gaming)

xiaofan

hi xiaofan, yes i meant BE230, thanks for clarifying.

i can drop the idea of BE230 as i don't think there will be a need for wifi 7, wifi 6 would mostly suffice.

with your suggestion, i might consider replacing the BE230 to another Deco x60.
question - Deco Mesh outperforms EasyMesh? why do you not suggest easymesh but promote Deco Mesh?

side note for knowledge, standalone Archer AX72 vs standalone Deco x60, which would have a better range and will perform better? (in terms of range, buffering video, light gaming)

TP-Link EasyMesh is still not as mature as Deco Mesh.
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/support/faq/3749/
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/support/faq/2427/

As for standard alone Archer AX72 vs Deco X60, I believe Archer AX72 will have better coverage.

Jurong640

As promised, sharing my 1-week electricity usage of the TP-Link Archer BE805. This was done using a smart plug that tracks power consumption.

I did this because there was some concerns on other threads that the router BE805 consumes more power than other home electrical appliance.

To start off, the router uses an average of 15.1W to 16W.
Screenshot-20250208-113532-Smart-Life.jpg

One week of power consumption from 1 Feb 2025 to 7 Feb 2025:

Screenshot-20250208-113623-Smart-Life.jpg

As you can see from above, the router consumes a steady 0.37kWh per day.
For 7-days (1 to 7 Feb 2025), it used a total of 2.625kWh (0.375 x 7).

Based on SP Electricity Tariffs on Q1 2025 which cost $0.3065/kWh (w/GST). It will cost $0.80 to run BE805 for a week. In a month, it will cost $3.21 to run your router.

Of course, most people would have subscribed to the Open Electricty Market and signed electricity packages with retailers, this will bring the cost down.
For myself, I renewed to Tuas Power recently at $0.29/kWh (w/GST). Running the router for a month will cost me $3.045. I saved $0.20 per month by signing with a retailer.

xiaofan

Another good result -- interesting also using TP-Link Archer BE805. Mobile phone is Xiaomi 14T Pro with Mediatek Dimensity 9300+.

Dimensity 9300+ is not as good as Dimensity 9400 in terms of WiFi 7, but no too bad either.
https://www.mediatek.com/products/smartphones/mediatek-dimensity-9300-plus
Wi-Fi 7 with Xtra Range
MediaTek Xtra Range 2.0 technology makes connections reach up to 4.5m further indoors (5GHz band).
Wi-Fi anti-interference and coexistence algorithms ensure wireless streaming to 4K Smart TVs benefit from up to 200% throughput gain for smoother visuals.
MediaTek Wi-Fi UltraSave
Wi-Fi 7 up to 6.5Gbps with Multi-Link Operation (MLO) / 320MHz BW

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ps-3gbps-xgs-pon-based-plans.6930337/page-255
I just upgraded to M1 6Gbps plan. I got the TP-Link Archer BE805 router.

This is the fastest Wifi7 speed tested on my Xiaomi 14T Pro. 2m from the router.

476559251_10162634087454516_1465797360521529035_n.jpg

kashix

this friday your S25 Ultra coming? Can't wait to see you break his records, first 5gbps record.
I got a bad feeling about this. I will try bro. For the pride of insiders!
I'm already using OnePlus 13 but cannot break that speed yet. His one abnormally high leh, almost 5gbps.

xiaofan

xiaofan

MLO Generally gives more lousy performance sia ... Tried so many times that I don't even want to use MLO liao.

Basically MLO apparently works for Archer BE805 (Mediatek Filogic 880 chipset) + Mediatek Dimensity 9400 mobile phone combination. Looks like Mediatek is the only one who got MLO working well at least within its ecosystem as of now.

Qualcomm seems to lag behind a bit. MLO seems to work fine but cannot beat 6GHz SSID in terms of close range speed. TP-Link Archer BE800, Deco BE85 and EB810v all use Qualcomm chipset. Most of the flagship Android phones also use Qualcomm chipset. Still I see potentials here. We may just need to be patient to wait for FW updates on the router and devices side to break the 5Gbps barrier. Qualcomm QCNCM865 chipset based WiFi 7 adapters seem to be the best one for laptop/desktops as well.

Broadcom (used mainly by Asus routers) lags even further for MLO implementation. But the good thing is that MLO works for wireless backhaul.

For Intel BE200 chipset which I am using, MLO works but no speed improvement at all in close range. I only see improvement at far range. Tested with both TP-Link Archer BE805 and HB710.

Unfortunatly, without working MLO, you have no chance to beat the record by jasonho.

If just using 6GHz SSID, I do not think you can break 4.7Gbps barrier in the real world.
5764 Mbps PHY Speed x 80% = 4611.2 Mbps.

I have enabled MLO for all my triband (Archer BE805 and HB710) and dual band WiFi 7 routers (Asus TUF-BE6500, ZTE BE7200 Pro+, Xiaomi BE5000 and TP-Link China TL-7DR6560).

kashix

Basically MLO apparently works for Archer BE805 (Mediatek Filogic 880 chipset) + Mediatek Dimensity 9400 mobile phone combination. Looks like Mediatek is the only one who got MLO working well at least within its ecosystem as of now.

Qualcomm seems to lag behind a bit. MLO seems to work fine but cannot beat 6GHz SSID in terms of close range speed. TP-Link Archer BE800, Deco BE85 and EB810v all use Qualcomm chipset. Most of the flagship Android phones also use Qualcomm chipset. Still I see potentials here. We may just need to be patient to wait for FW updates on the router and devices side to break the 5Gbps barrier. Qualcomm QCNCM865 chipset based WiFi 7 adapters seem to be the best one for laptop/desktops as well.

Broadcom (used mainly by Asus routers) lags even further for MLO implementation. But the good thing is that MLO works for wireless backhaul.

For Intel BE200 chipset which I am using, MLO works but no speed improvement at all in close range. I only see improvement at far range. Tested with both TP-Link Archer BE805 and HB710.

Unfortunatly, without working MLO, you have no chance to beat the record by jasonho.

If just using 6GHz SSID, I do not think you can break 4.7Gbps barrier in the real world.
5764 Mbps PHY Speed x 80% = 4611.2 Mbps.

I have enabled MLO for all my triband (Archer BE805 and HB710) and dual band WiFi 7 routers (Asus TUF-BE6500, ZTE BE7200 Pro+, Xiaomi BE5000 and TP-Link China TL-7DR6560).
Records are meant to be broken. I will break him !!!!!!!

xiaofan

Need recommendation of router/mesh (3Gbps ViewQwest). Budget $400

Thanks!

Single router or mesh solution (two nodes or three nodes)?

If single router TP-Link Archer BE805 is a very cost effective solution and kind of future proof too for 10Gbps Fibre internet, at S$300+ BNIB from Carousell (mainly dumped by M1 users).

If need two nodes or three nodes, then TP-Link Archer BE230 may be a cost effective solution if you can use Ethernet Backhaul (each is less than S$100 BNIB from Carousell).

If need two nodes and need to use wireless backhaul, then you can try to get TP-Link HB710 from Starhub at S$192 x 2 = S$384. It is supposed to be for Starhub (or maybe MR) users only but some users managed to buy from Starhub shops since some shops do not check the status of the buyer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.