where to get help for this family issue?

DragonFire

Definitely talk to a social services worker. Comprehensive aid is available to offset mobility aids, domestic assistance and other notable expenses. Make sure you are getting all the help you can get.

Kain999

How long ago did you see your MP? Go again or pop by the nearest family social service centre.

Your maid levy should be quite substantial or even waived altogether. There are also funds to install grab bars in your home. A social worker is the best person to help you as he or she knows where you can access all the resources.

Are you the only child?
Maid levy is 60 dollars if qualify.

Mountainnodew

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?

Ask your siblings for money or rent out a room for extra income.

8zaoyu

Thank you for this link, it is time the agency update the money assistance to current minimum salary of getting a FDW, nowadays $600 ? Once upon olden times was $240 salary only. Without FDW, some elderlies have to stay in Community Step-down care Hospitals (these are good, my ex-maid learned to be even better than the nurses from there for 2 months whilst elderly hospitalized there)

BlackWing1977

Thank you for this link, it is time the agency update the money assistance to current minimum salary of getting a FDW, nowadays $600 ? Once upon olden times was $240 salary only. Without FDW, some elderlies have to stay in Community Step-down care Hospitals (these are good, my ex-maid learned to be even better than the nurses from there for 2 months whilst elderly hospitalized there)
Next year... they will increase the Home Care Giving Grant to $600 next year. I was kinda disappointed that they have to wait until next year to increase it.

harky

this part easier said then done, father keeps insisting bo daiji. go see doc for what? he very stubborn don't want to go see then got mood swings...sian
if he dont want to go thn it his problem.. dont help him.. let him do himself.

i had a pioneer dad also.. i told him u big euff to think.
ur health u take care urself

couch.potato

Shouldn't be an excuse unless they stay in rental flats. Even $100 a month also good. If they cannot help much financially, they should chip in with their time/labour eg help you to access the resources available, visit your parents regularly so you can have some me-time, bring your parents to stay with them for a few days so you can take a holiday.

Having a family of their own is not an excuse to be totally hands-off when it comes to the care of your parents.
Easier said than done
The ones with children always throw to the others. It’s ironic.

8zaoyu

Easier said than done
The ones with children always throw to the others. It’s ironic.
unless you experienced dementia or bedridden parents, you will realised that adult working children cannot cope without screaming/yelling and losing sanity.
Then I realised that time, consolidating some funds from all siblings then getting a maid was the best choice. The community hospital nurses did the cleaning, medications of the elderly and the maid followed well, ultimately rolling Ahma to sides to wipe down and remove diapers, etc, tuck her up on bed or wheel her around. One or two months' of training in the hospital, the clever and kind not too young maid already pick up skillset, well sort after if elderly passed on and needed by others.

couch.potato

unless you experienced dementia or bedridden parents, you will realised that adult working children cannot cope without screaming/yelling and losing sanity.
Then I realised that time, consolidating some funds from all siblings then getting a maid was the best choice. The community hospital nurses did the cleaning, medications of the elderly and the maid followed well, ultimately rolling Ahma to sides to wipe down and remove diapers, etc, tuck her up on bed or wheel her around. One or two months' of training in the hospital, the clever and kind not too young maid already pick up skillset, well sort after if elderly passed on and needed by others.
I agree with u but even money they will say they don’t have. But then can turn around buy iPhone, what influencer bag etc

8zaoyu

I agree with u but even money they will say they don’t have. But then can turn around buy iPhone, what influencer bag etc
I have shockingly seen, no services given the moment you said no money, a basic course of medications, go home.

8zaoyu

I have shockingly seen, no services given the moment you said no money, a basic course of medications, go home. Overseas, you seen people frozen by the roadsides like very common to die this way. If we have single / widowed retirees, jialat, going to fall/ faint and die /decompose alone.
If no siblings contribute, unless you quit a job to clean your parents yourself, your salary surely more then getting a maid helper? If got own a flat, also can downgrade to renting public flat 自己的生死自己好好的计划

happycamper_222

if he dont want to go thn it his problem.. dont help him.. let him do himself.

i had a pioneer dad also.. i told him u big euff to think.
ur health u take care urself
i understand where you are coming from, but people with dementia they can't think for themselves already. They are like toddlers, so actually alot of simple things they also cannot handle already. Actually, my dad constantly puts things in the wrong place. So that was 1 red flag. He doesn't even know which the shampoo which is the body wash.

ghregular

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?
like golf ask for handicap
get all the docs report test whatever plus bank statements n show all to AIC . theyll help max yr entitlement but yr other sublings if required might need to open their treasury books as well.

harky

i understand where you are coming from, but people with dementia they can't think for themselves already. They are like toddlers, so actually alot of simple things they also cannot handle already. Actually, my dad constantly puts things in the wrong place. So that was 1 red flag. He doesn't even know which the shampoo which is the body wash.
dementia need to do test la.
put thing in wrong place is not really dementia.
could be forgetful
if u ask if he know where his money put at.. see if he remember a nt

when they get old, they not thinking anymore like when they are young.
and also the lack of Social interaction

in order for the brain function well.. must do something diff
cannot keep do same thing de
maybe get him some Ginkgo Biloba

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.