Johor is going to be the place to live, eat, play

testart

起初,我只是把 JB 当成短暂的逃离。图个方便、吃顿熟悉的肉骨茶、剪个头发、逛逛商场。但去得多了,心境开始变了。我发现自己开始怀念那里的节奏、街角的吆喝声、让人可以慢下来的感觉。

新山并不完美,道路拥挤、店屋斑驳、巷子杂乱。但正是这种不修边幅的真实感,让我卸下在新加坡习惯的那套紧绷。那里没有人催你快一点,也没人管你是谁。你可以只是一个坐在咖啡店角落,慢慢喝着奶茶的人。

JB不是我家,却让我在某些日子里,感受到“喘一口气”的自由。没有标签、没有压力、没有设限。我不知道这份感觉会持续多久,但我知道,JB 曾经安静地接住过我最累、最烦、最需要一点空间的时候。

matrix05

Today's dinner.

Dabao one grouper and one steamed chicken + 2 rices
The amount of chicken is at least 500g.
Fish based on my experience should be about 700 - 800g.

Eat until wanna vomit.

FJJfFFJ.jpeg

RM65/SGD20
In terms of nutrition, Thai & MY beat us flat. They are eating real food, affordable. SG eats processed food mainly for the same price. Bad for health.

Coffeelix

起初,我只是把 JB 当成短暂的逃离。图个方便、吃顿熟悉的肉骨茶、剪个头发、逛逛商场。但去得多了,心境开始变了。我发现自己开始怀念那里的节奏、街角的吆喝声、让人可以慢下来的感觉。

新山并不完美,道路拥挤、店屋斑驳、巷子杂乱。但正是这种不修边幅的真实感,让我卸下在新加坡习惯的那套紧绷。那里没有人催你快一点,也没人管你是谁。你可以只是一个坐在咖啡店角落,慢慢喝着奶茶的人。

JB不是我家,却让我在某些日子里,感受到“喘一口气”的自由。没有标签、没有压力、没有设限。我不知道这份感觉会持续多久,但我知道,JB 曾经安静地接住过我最累、最烦、最需要一点空间的时候。
十五年前,我们最初的感受是jb 的时间好像超慢超慢的。还有我们住的环境都充满鸟语花香。让人感觉舒畅松懈。

Joe Mahmood

Abang, super heavy meal for 10pm le! Haha
During the day I didn't eat much. I just ate some Jacob biscuits with milk. So, for this late dinner I just eat this Fried Mee Hoon Seafood. At this age of coming 62 this year I don't eat much either.

testerjp

In terms of nutrition, Thai & MY beat us flat. They are eating real food, affordable. SG eats processed food mainly for the same price. Bad for health.
The fish was bought in Singapore.
No need to run cross border if you know where to look.

If you earn SGD to spend Ringgit, ya you will get the real food at more affordable reach.
If you go Africa, you also can live like a king.

If you are JHK earning the same dollars in MYR, they eat even worse processed food to get by.
Their life expectancy is lower than us and are generally more unhealthy than us, they are among the worst in heart disease with excessive sugar and salt in their dishes. :(

If you are old and need to rely on walking stick or PMD, good luck. Their roads are not flat and full of potholes.
That's the reality of how retirement really looks like there..

Their private hospitals are empty, not many can afford it. :(

Joe Mahmood

24 HRS LAUNDRY AT TAMAN SRI PUTRI, JALAN EMAS PUTIH 5, SKUDAI, JB-MALAYSIA

heroking

sinkie only can buy 1 millon RM condo?
can buy 1m bo?
i see 1 condo i like leh the price also very good

Joe Mahmood

Usually I like to take a walk within, around and near Taman Sri Putri, Skudai, JB-Malaysia.

pokipoki08

Fully agreed.
I met an elderly who has married to a My for more than 30 years are still waiting for her PR … she has to renewed her LTVP all this time…
Most who got it is thru illegal means
its not illegal la
even illiterate foreigner wives who married msia chinese men do get pr
personally know a few of them
these ladies bear a few children in msia, did not go back frequently to their home country
did not run foul on local laws

whats different compared to 20 years ago, is the difficulty to obtain pr, its seems harder now

ltvp is troublesome but once every 2 years is ok, residency status is granted unless do something stupid

obtaining msia pr is prerequisite to converting to msia citizen, so perhaps this is the crucial criteria for msia officials to evaluate the applicant

if officials dont see applicants as potential msia citizen maybe the pr quota will be given to someone else

msia ltvp can work officially, just need employer biz details & documents, job offer letter, apply and will be approved, the working permit is a stamp on the passport

the msian husband can be the employer
there also another business permit ltvp can apply to setup a biz, the nature is abit different, think its rm500/year, quite a few options there

ps for sinkies wishing to stay long term with official residency status in msia, either go thru the official channels and pay for it or use msia spouse route, the rest will just be regarded as tourist or social visit. if sinkie children marry msia spouse, can also apply for fil mil to stay in msia.

if elderly sinkie with medical issues, best to stay put in sg, with so many elderly friendly facilities and treatment. such environment is rare in msia unless enrol in private old folks home.

Soomp!

GG singapore retail once the rail system starts.
Can see the variety of recreational activities are so much more...
from sports to those restuarants with singers ... etc etc. till the wee hours of the night

and singapore govt really got problem.
1) keep designing outdoors sports facilities that are unsheltered ...
when it's all day summer .. and make it unplayable during hot afternoons.

2) MRT operating hours only till 12midnight? SHould extend to 1am ...this will encourage more nightlife activities that are non-clubbing.

Why not Batam?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.