Gan Siow Huang apologises over handshaking incident at Cantonese cultural festival

AndroidComa

Not really true. Even if PAP MPs were paid lowly, haters will always find something to whack PAP. Like the opposition work under unfavourable circumstances. Hater will always find something to whack LMW or SDP or WP etc
those who earn more than MPs, DGAF about such things
it just shows how many earn lesser than them

but tbh she is a MINISTER means 1mil a year?

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
Exactly, if a waiter poured water for me, I would thank them

It's just basic courtesy
have misread your post as "if a waiter poured water on u" instead

then me wondered why would u wanna thank him for that terrible error? :crazy:

Monstruo^

In a social and public setting, and a figure like her, in any countries, by the least standard lah, would have asked for the person’s name and just reciprocate accordingly, whether it is a handshake or just saying hi hello back to the person. It doesn’t matter what job the person is holding. Just basic courtesy when interacting with the public with her MP job.

But she did not even possess the basic standard and courtesy to manage social interactions. :s13:
Goes to show her upbringing and lack of social skills and all the money wasted to pay for her salary all these years and money invested to train her for the MP job and whatever ranks and titles she has been holding. This kind of thing also must teach meh.

SkillsFuture got basic courtesy course bo? Maybe she can consider taking up and see how.

Also, if today, common people like me and you, who are not public figures, if people popped out and come and offer me handshake, I can choose not to reciprocate also because we are all strangers. But she isn’t.

coldish

Not really true. Even if PAP MPs were paid lowly, haters will always find something to whack PAP. Like the opposition work under unfavourable circumstances. Hater will always find something to whack LMW or SDP or WP etc
You have to understand that is a big IF that would never happen in today's context while haters are on oppies since day 1.
You can be arrogant and haughty but to have zero basic courtesy and proper decorum is a new low.

And this happened not long after the PM released the Rules on Prudence.

botak33

A picture tells a thousand words. In this instance, a video tells even more.

No matter how she explains herself, the video shows it all. So obvious she was snubbing the poor fellow, most likely he was shabbily dressed and looked hunched back. In her eyes, not someone worthy of her attention let alone a handshake.

Already has precedence of an ex-minister washing her hands after hand shake with a wet market stall holder and was booted out after that.

Hope this video surfaces again in 2030 to remind voters what a despicable character this one is.
You vote that person to serve you and not the other way round.

carey

have misread your post as "if a waiter poured water on u" instead

then me wondered why would u wanna thank him for that terrible error? :crazy:
Well, if I was on fire, then yes, definitely thank him for pouring water on me ;)

Philipkee

those who earn more than MPs, DGAF about such things
it just shows how many earn lesser than them

but tbh she is a MINISTER means 1mil a year?

You have to understand that is a big IF that would never happen in today's context while haters are on oppies since day 1.
You can be arrogant and haughty but to have zero basic courtesy and proper decorum is a new low.

And this happened not long after the PM released the Rules on Prudence.
To be honest, I was actually thinking of maids and foreign workers and NSFs when I wrote the post. They are paid lower than most Singaporeans and do proper job and yet many sinkies seem to have something to complain about them also

idolcritic

After erection mah...already good our masters never ask for commoners kneel down to greet them

carey

In a social and public setting, and a figure like her, in any countries, by the least standard lah, would have asked for the person’s name and just reciprocate accordingly, whether it is a handshake or just saying hi hello back to the person. It doesn’t matter what job the person is holding. Just basic courtesy when interacting with the public with her MP job.

But she did not even possess the basic standard and courtesy to manage social interactions. :s13:
Goes to show her upbringing and lack of social skills and all the money wasted to pay for her salary all these years and money invested to train her for the MP job and whatever ranks and titles she has been holding. This kind of thing also must teach meh.

SkillsFuture got basic courtesy course bo? Maybe she can consider taking up and see how.

Also, if today, common people like me and you, who are not public figures, if people popped out and come and offer me handshake, I can choose not to reciprocate also because we are all strangers. But she isn’t.
That's why ex-generals make for poor leaders

They are so used to being "feared" cos of their rank - they have come to expect "respect" from others and it's not mutual

mxkxmx

Lol you have been supporting every PAP’s doing even if they F up. Thats very amusing.

Touch your heart and watch the video to see if she really even want to reciprocate the handshake. Basic manners and EQ also don’t have. You also same same bah. Lmao.
Pappies are damn hypocrites, refuse to look at the truth, suck up to the masters even when they are wrong.

the_dog

For us non public figures, it would be highly unusual for any random stranger to come up and offer a handshake for no reason. So depending on how trusting or suspicious one is, one might hesitate to reciprocate.

However for public figures whose cultivated image is that they are in touch with voters and accessible to common folk , what excuse do they have for being shocked at a stranger asking to shake their hand at a public event ?

mxkxmx

“I was also a little overwhelmed by the big group that received me when I got out of my car"

Definitely BS and lie.
As the high flyer for PAP and was former brigadier-general (Chief of Staff – Air Staff
Commander).

She attended so many important events as politician and BG, why only few old man can make her overwhelmed?

mata_hippo

“I was also a little overwhelmed by the big group that received me when I got out of my car"

Definitely BS and lie.
As the high flyer for PAP and was former brigadier-general (Chief of Staff – Air Staff
Commander).

She attended so many important events as politician and BG, why only few old man can make her overwhelmed?

unless she's all fluff

either way also dont look good for her

she's lucky election just over, the daft got 4yrs+ to forget

the_dog

Lol you have been supporting every PAP’s doing even if they F up. Thats very amusing.

Touch your heart and watch the video to see if she really even want to reciprocate the handshake. Basic manners and EQ also don’t have. You also same same bah. Lmao.

On the one hand some people can accuse oppies of rabidly attacking MIW without basis, but at the same time they rabidly defend MIW without logic or even a foot to stand on. If there was no video, they would say its all fabricated. Now got video also can say the video doesn't show what it shows

LOL

Lance321

There is no f up here, just you looking for it. If I really want to assume and stir like you, I can also say the guy in red is entitled and shouldn't try to grab her hands to shake it, but did you see me making a big deal out of it, creating multiple threads and replies?

Laneige

Wa now then I saw the clip
Seem liked She didn’t hold the man hand
Seem The man took the initiative to shake her hand instead

I really don’t think she missed him accidentally
More like she wana shake the ppl in nicer attire first

Like wana siam him somemore despite his out reaching hands …

First term think she talked abt governing etc when she’s running n like haven’t even elected
Now Second term liked this ….
And that time think news got say she humble family or something after first GE?

Lance321

For us non public figures, it would be highly unusual for any random stranger to come up and offer a handshake for no reason. So depending on how trusting or suspicious one is, one might hesitate to reciprocate.

However for public figures whose cultivated image is that they are in touch with voters and accessible to common folk , what excuse do they have for being shocked at a stranger asking to shake their hand at a public event ?
Public figures have to be even more careful with any random stranger.

Deep fried

Only some people will understand and empathise with her.

When you are the Guest of Honour, it can be a little nerve racking, especially when its a group of people waiting for your arrival. Your brain can suddenly get disconnected from every part of your body. Your mouth doesn't know what it's saying and your eyes can't see properly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.