Now primary school tuition is $125 p hour?

KPO_SAHM

Because these parents fail or can't speak Mandarin.

Can't be failed their Mandarin and can't speak lor. School teaches at least10 years of mother tongue . If can't speak how to speak to parents who majority r not English educated???

KPO_SAHM

Because my wife is Korean, so everyone speaks English for easy communication at home. But, I agree with you that mandarin is important, hence the reason for the tuition.

Local parents always 下错棋 , they do not foresee that it is important in sinkapore to be bilingual. Most local sinkies kids r monolingual. How to complete with new citizens n FT who r bilingual or even trilingual?? I knew a p3 Japanese studies in local government school. He could speak very frequently english, Mandarin n Japanese. His Mandarin is so much better than any local kids

eggie011

Can't be failed their Mandarin and can't speak lor. School teaches at least10 years of mother tongue . If can't speak how to speak to parents who majority r not English educated???
My whole family and relatives are all very poor at Mandarin. This is because we are brought up in a Malay speaking environment as my grandma is a nonya. My siblings and cousins all took Chinese as second language and we mostly fail. Basically Peranakans sucks at Mandarin.

arsenalfc85

nowadays kids...their parents english educated ba

those non english educated de parents are mostly boomers or pioneer gen , their kids probably no longer studying liao.

arsenalfc85

Local parents always 下错棋 , they do not foresee that it is important in sinkapore to be bilingual. Most local sinkies kids r monolingual. How to complete with new citizens n FT who r bilingual or even trilingual?? I knew a p3 Japanese studies in local government school. He could speak very frequently english, Mandarin n Japanese. His Mandarin is so much better than any local kids
actually true

students already have plenty of exposure to english in school, since all subjects conducted in english except mother tongue.

Students also speak in english among themselves.

Hence to counter the imbalance, parents should speak their mother tongue to their kids at home. Unless its those foreign parents who let their kids study chinese de la. then bo bian

drkcynic

Rast time is 1 tuition, maybe chiong 1 learning lab enough liao.

Today is 1 group tuition, 1 personal tutor, each subject.

Some parents are forever loading more classes for kids, whereas some are saying tuition no use.

Ownself choose ownself, kids grow up become talent or become grab driver also ownself tank ownself kids.

Opps-gal

Where is the place that charge so high price?

If find this price too expensive, you can choose another place with lower option.

Opps-gal

actually true

students already have plenty of exposure to english in school, since all subjects conducted in english except mother tongue.

Students also speak in english among themselves.

Hence to counter the imbalance, parents should speak their mother tongue to their kids at home. Unless its those foreign parents who let their kids study chinese de la. then bo bian
Speak Chinese at home, they also need to write words. Is hard to encourage the kid, if no interest. :(

wahlaneh

If a child can study and smart they dont need tuition…
If they need tuition its obviously fked

hachi

Meant for rich parents.
Not for poor.
Poor smart will be left behind.
Rich on move up.
In the end, those rich one if one day successful, will not know the ground sentiment.
Actually no... There are kids that don't have any tuitions that go better schools...

hachi

Poor people tuition simi? End up you can't afford uni anyway.
Singapore system make sure everyone got chance to study even you are very poor... There are many schemes to assist

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.