[NEED EXPERTS HELP] Any most bang for bucks lappy can sic , preferably under $1K. But max budget notch more than $1.5K

whatheheck

Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 6 (AMD) SG$1,502.75 GST incl. and free delivery at Lenovo website.
AMD Ryzen 5 7534HS
Memory: 32 GB DDR5-4800MT/s (SODIMM) - (2 x 16 GB)Edit
it

Warranty: 1 Year Courier or Carry-in

lenovo site nowadays still have those good codes ?

NintendoSwitch

It’s true

i learned from my mistakes. I bought a laptop, think RAM more important than CPU so load 32GB RAM but CPU opted for a relatively slow CPU

ended up the laptop always lag and freeze when there are heavy processing loads. Then just put one side no use, very annoying to use a slow laptop

so ya. It is a balance. 16GB ram is good enough for most tasks but CPU must buy a relatively fast one
That's because of the way Windows was designed. It will keep loading crap that you didn't ask for into all available RAM just in case you decide to use it. Suspect in your case it might be your HDD that was the bottleneck since the stuff that's loaded into RAM is just sitting there doing nothing, but fetching the data from the slow HDD will slow the system down a lot. My laptop is now much faster than the last few years when I attached external HDDs to it (all died - Seagate and Western Digital).

NintendoSwitch

lenovo site nowadays still have those good codes ?
Seasonally will have codes. Also I think if you got student ID or business account with them might be even cheaper. And if you order in the middle of the night got further discount the last time I bought. I configured a system and saw the price was good but when I went back the next few days the price was always higher. Until I read somewhere that they have the midnight discount then I remembered the first time there was middle of the night. So when I did it at that kind of timing again, then got even more discount.

Sent from My Thinkpad.

tian_yibang

recommend to look at specific model instead of brand

yes acer branding may have negativity, but i have had different experiences with different models. typing this reply on a acer travelmate x3 from 2019, still going strong, touch wood

analogy, within a chicken rice stall, sometimes the roasted chicken rice is nice, but not the hainan chicken rice

Alamak, sho many diff models out there so this gonna be tough

Neway, those Lenovo Slim 3 or 5 or Asus Expertbook/Vivobooks good or notch ?

tian_yibang

It’s true

i learned from my mistakes. I bought a laptop, think RAM more important than CPU so load 32GB RAM but CPU opted for a relatively slow CPU

ended up the laptop always lag and freeze when there are heavy processing loads. Then just put one side no use, very annoying to use a slow laptop

so ya. It is a balance. 16GB ram is good enough for most tasks but CPU must buy a relatively fast one

OIC , thats the main point

WarMage87

Moi ish lappy noob, so quite dunno where to start from specs or function wise

So nong story short, any MS Windows laptops that "worth every cents" for a $1K budget ?

Preferably something notch more bigger than 14" as moi hab space constraints , and at least a 24/512 for futureproof use

Thinking wanna use the SG60V to get a lappy, but the Big 3 major stores and Challenger all dun accept so bopian later need use from GSTCash
2nd hand laptop on Carousell.

caterham7

Alamak, sho many diff models out there so this gonna be tough

Neway, those Lenovo Slim 3 or 5 or Asus Expertbook/Vivobooks good or notch ?
if u think the acer model linked earlier is too low-end, can also consider this asus, below $600
https://shopee.sg/ASUS-Vivobook-Go-...on-Graphics-8GB-512GB)-i.63337709.18289320483

when i said look at specific model, what i mean is look at the specifications and features, the various terms u mentioned, are model range, not specific models, e.g. inside lenovo slim 3 or asus expertbook, there are multiple models with different specs

tian_yibang

2nd hand laptop on Carousell.

2nd hand mai la , dunno gotch what "hidden" problems they may hab as dunno how the previous user handle/use the laptop before

Moi thinking of long-term use, so why take chances with "pre-loved" items regardless their condition

Moreover use gahmen-gib money, so thinking dun be so hard on moiself

:o :o

tian_yibang

if u think the acer model linked earlier is too low-end, can also consider this asus, below $600
https://shopee.sg/ASUS-Vivobook-Go-...on-Graphics-8GB-512GB)-i.63337709.18289320483

when i said look at specific model, what i mean is look at the specifications and features, the various terms u mentioned, are model range, not specific models, e.g. inside lenovo slim 3 or asus expertbook, there are multiple models with different specs

Fwah man , this gonna kill moi brain

:s22::s22:

cosmothecat

OIC , thats the main point
Yes

Also, nowadays Windows laptop got CISC and RISC chips. CISC cpu are your traditional Intel x86 instruction sets, AMD Ryzen are also CISC processors

RISC processors are commonly referred to as ARM chips. Snapdragon CPU etc.

They are not compatible with each other. Most Windows software in the world are running on the older CISC instruction set. Hence, if you buy the newer ARM chip, the old software needs to run under emulator

In short, if you choose an ARM Windows laptop, might as well buy an Apple MacBook Air, since it is also an ARM chip. You can run Windows through virtual machine and emulator

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.