[NEED EXPERTS HELP] Any most bang for bucks lappy can sic , preferably under $1K. But max budget notch more than $1.5K

eyz

just get aftershock sua

https://aftershockpc.com/series/lunar-14

2 years warranty, lifetime dust cleaning and cpu thermal paste change.

CPU

AMD® Ryzen™ 7 8845HS (8 Cores)

GPU

AMD Radeon™ 780M

RAM

2x SODIMM Sockets, support for up to DDR5 5600MHz

Up to 32GB Max with 2 x 16GB modules (5600 MHz)

Storage

2 Slot M.2 PCIe NVMe

Display

14" 16:10 2880 x1800 Display, 100% sRGB, 120Hz

Weight/Dimensions

~1.4 KG ±5%

313 x 220 x 16.95 mm

Battery

80 WHR

WarMage87

2nd hand mai la , dunno gotch what "hidden" problems they may hab as dunno how the previous user handle/use the laptop before

Moi thinking of long-term use, so why take chances with "pre-loved" items regardless their condition

Moreover use gahmen-gib money, so thinking dun be so hard on moiself

:o :o
Be selective about who you deal with lah aiyo.

tian_yibang

Acers are usually the more affordable (read: cheap) laptop options

Ultra 5 is the latest Lunar Lake Intel CPU. It is more power efficient (consume less battery, so your battery lasts longer), and it comes with NPU to help AI software.

Hmmmm

So whats the diff of this simi Ultra 5 and the normal i5 ?

toolbox03

Moi ish lappy noob, so quite dunno where to start from specs or function wise

So nong story short, any MS Windows laptops that "worth every cents" for a $1K budget ?

Preferably something notch more bigger than 14" as moi hab space constraints , and at least a 24/512 for futureproof use

Thinking wanna use the SG60V to get a lappy, but the Big 3 major stores and Challenger all dun accept so bopian later need use from GSTCash
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/pc/laptops/tech-news-microsoft-new-surface-devices-specs-price

The latest surface pro less than $1.5k

tian_yibang

TS got time go see see I remember got laptop under $1k for basic use.
Gaming laptop wise definetely above $1k.
Go for at least AMD Ryzen 5 with IGP will do for basic use.

Example this around $600.

https://www.harveynorman.com.sg/com...14-inch-laptop-green-grey-e1404fa-nk262w.html

Once you get GST voucher can just go buy.

Actually the RAM can upgrade or not.. I see the 8GB is like sibei ridiculous... bare bones minimum should be 16GB... sweet spot should be minimum 32GB

Yeah , if they gotch "free" upgrade to 16gb then can consider bai at this pricing

It seems 16gb ish the least smelly smelly must get huan

:o :o

cosmothecat

Hmmmm

So whats the diff of this simi Ultra 5 and the normal i5 ?
This is the difference:

Ultra 5 is the latest Lunar Lake Intel CPU. It is more power efficient (consume less battery, so your battery lasts longer), and it comes with NPU to help AI software.

Meaning older normal i5 consume more battery power, doesn't have NPU, hence AI software works slowly.

cosmothecat

8gb still ok for most tasks

there is no need to deliberately spend more money
Not for Windows 11. Minimum RAM for decent performance is 16GB.

Windows 11 is a resource hog, just loading the basic Windows 11 OS core already using a fixed 7.2GB of memory. GPGT, see below. If your laptop only has 8GB of RAM, opening a simple web browser will also cause the system to swap out memory content from RAM to SSD/HDD, which will cause your laptop to lag.

Scr928.png

bakuten

Moi ish lappy noob, so quite dunno where to start from specs or function wise

So nong story short, any MS Windows laptops that "worth every cents" for a $1K budget ?

Preferably something notch more bigger than 14" as moi hab space constraints , and at least a 24/512 for futureproof use

Thinking wanna use the SG60V to get a lappy, but the Big 3 major stores and Challenger all dun accept so bopian later need use from GSTCash
first of all.....you need to ask yourself these questions.

what do you foresee your usage pattern for the laptop will be?
issit just surf EDMW and beo tiktok/youtube beedios?
or u intend to pak AAA games with the laptop? or just light gaming on e-sports title?
will you be lugging the device around often?
is battery life important to how you will be using the device?

caterham7

Not for Windows 11. Minimum RAM for decent performance is 16GB.

Windows 11 is a resource hog, just loading the basic Windows 11 OS core already using a fixed 7.2GB of memory. GPGT, see below. If your laptop only has 8GB of RAM, opening a simple web browser will also cause the system to swap out memory content from RAM to SSD/HDD, which will cause your laptop to lag.

Scr928.png
Cool, but somehow I don't see lag on my 8gb windows devices

Maybe there are other factors involved?

bakuten

just get aftershock sua

https://aftershockpc.com/series/lunar-14

2 years warranty, lifetime dust cleaning and cpu thermal paste change.

CPU

AMD® Ryzen™ 7 8845HS (8 Cores)

GPU

AMD Radeon™ 780M

RAM

2x SODIMM Sockets, support for up to DDR5 5600MHz

Up to 32GB Max with 2 x 16GB modules (5600 MHz)

Storage

2 Slot M.2 PCIe NVMe

Display

14" 16:10 2880 x1800 Display, 100% sRGB, 120Hz

Weight/Dimensions

~1.4 KG ±5%

313 x 220 x 16.95 mm

Battery

80 WHR
i bought before 2nd hand aftershock.....also got lifetime dust cleaning and thermal paste change. best purchase ever lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.