hiring helper or nursing home?

arsenalfc85

same i got mine , indonesian , worked in taiwan 12 years, caring for elderly with stroke / dementia.

understands and speaks mandarin, pay is about 1.1k

her main job scope is caregiving but she auto cooks, wash clothes, clean the house, do marketing for my mother.

we treat her as one of our family members. we sit on the same table, eat pizza, mcdonald’s, zichar also will order her share.

we let her rest / nap / use hp while my mom sleeps.

this is her 3rd year with us.

so far no complains about her.
1.1k is quite high pay.

which agency did you get her from? If u don’t mind sharing . Can pm too

arsenalfc85

Anyway TS jiayou
Its hard to care for elders when working
Its even harder to find good helpers
Second this. Very shagged even with helper

n hard to find good helper.

as long as average one, she doesn’t give problem is good liao

arsenalfc85

I find nursing home is a miserable place. Good to be at home provided the maid is good.
Yea. Kinda agree

nursing home will make life easier for the adult children la. But then does the elderly parent wanna stay in nursing home or not.

if the elderly parent doesn’t want n force them to stay nursing home, very bad leh

Mountainnodew

I find nursing home is a miserable place. Good to be at home provided the maid is good.

Nursing home is not a miserable place. The helper won’t be the caregiver, TS will be the caregiver. Helper if don’t know how to read medication, how to bath the patient, how to give injections, the caregiver needs to teach or even DIY. It’s a lot of responsibilities. Nursing home has doctors and nurses so if they find the patient need medical attention, will send the patient to hospital. Nursing home is an essential place especially when a lot of singles are not married and also if the couple too old, can’t expect they look after each other.

Mountainnodew

Yea. Kinda agree

nursing home will make life easier for the adult children la. But then does the elderly parent wanna stay in nursing home or not.

if the elderly parent doesn’t want n force them to stay nursing home, very bad leh

Not everyone has the endurance to be caregivers. Some if can’t handle it, will be mentally stressed and even fall into depression and even burn out. There are examples where caregiver first uplorry before the patient. So if really can’t handle, is best to seek professional help. Some caregivers cannot handle it, will start to be toxic towards the patient. This is much worst than placing the patient in a nursing home.

coey

Option 1 , you might go crazy
Option 2, cheaper then 3 but need luck to get good helper and she go off; u go crazy.
Option 3, Ex, but u keep your sanity

li9ht5peed

don't ever get social workers involved especially medical social workers. if possible, don't even hospitalize your old folks. it's going to be a terrible experience and financial drain. you might end up getting forced into options you don't even want

cyke69sg

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
Helper is $700 a month. But must provide lodging and food.

jywy2005

I rather hire 2 DW who take turns to rest to prevent burnouts instead of sending elderly to nursing homes.

arsenalfc85

can already see there's differing opinions

some feel nursing home is better, some feel getting maid/ helper is better

i guess it depends on the elderly if he/she wants to stay nursing home. And also the quality of helper (if good one still not so bad)

arsenalfc85

I rather hire 2 DW who take turns to rest to prevent burnouts instead of sending elderly to nursing homes.
2 will cost about $2000+ a bit?

But the house need to be big enough to accomodate 2 dw. if the adult child is still staying in the house with the elderly la.

for eg, my dad's place is 3 room flat. only 2 bedrooms. How to accomodate 2 dw.

unless i move out. Then my dad stay with 2 dw. But like that also risky. What if both of them gang up to take advantage of my dad...

jywy2005

2 will cost about $2000+ a bit?

But the house need to be big enough to accomodate 2 dw.
Nope. About $1300. I got my current helper’s sister from Indo to help. Both can sleep in the same room and no communication issues.

I dun stay with my parents. I have cctv in the house.

Multiversal

If money is not an issue then best will be nursing home like st Luke or tai hua guan. Reason is they have nurses for physiotherapy.
If employ FDW can appeal from MP for subsidize WP fees.
Either way if you dun have siblings to help out, U will be mentally and financially shag. Been thru this 6-7 yrs ago.
Opt 1 of elder care also not long term, best is 6-12 months and then you have time to prepare your house for wheelchair friendly access, find FDW

Nonono. Those are not nurses. They are physiotherapists and therapy assistants. It's a different branch of eldercare that's called Allied Healthcare. Depending on the resident's medical condition, the nursing home may also arrange for him/her to be seen by an Occupational Therapist or a Speech Therapist.

Choosing St Luke's (in Ang Mo Kio?) would offer a third dimension of care which is spiritual. But not every resident is a Christian...some might be Buddhists, some Taoists, some without any religion at all.

Multiversal

gov always suubsidize family have kids. but forgot about ppl caring for ageing parents oso need subsidies.

so those have kids think gov nice to u, think again. when u n ur kids old gov will ask u f off
The reason for all these baby bonuses, kid's edufund top up, whatever is to encourage sinkies to make babies.

If you want the government to help you financially to look after your elderly parents, that would be socialising the cost.

I can imagine that there are already some unhappiness about the government using taxpayers'' monies to support other peoples' babies...

eboy

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
Nursing home

AndyShin

Helper is $700 a month. But must provide lodging and food.

i first time hiring helper due to elderly father bad fall when outside walking and have bone facture. already in hospital and tcf since april. was told by social worker in hospital to employ helper.

would like to check if do u all give food or transport allowance for helper other than her monthly salary?

dolpma

Ya my paternal grandparents had more than 10 kids and countless grandchildren to help out.

Those born in the 70s onwards are unlikely to come from such large families, so the stresses of caregiving is really high.
U r rite. Worse nowadays looots families "one child only" ( future one pax take care TWO elderlies.), plus looots married "no kids" & singles "no kids".

Nitemare future Sg -good luck for Sg toooones "elderly without next gen".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.