hiring helper or nursing home?

qhong61

i first time hiring helper due to elderly father bad fall when outside walking and have bone facture. already in hospital and tcf since april. was told by social worker in hospital to employ helper.

would like to check if do u all give food or transport allowance for helper other than her monthly salary?
Of cos

qhong61

U r rite. Worse nowadays looots families "one child only" ( future one pax take care TWO elderlies.), plus looots married "no kids" & singles "no kids".

Nitemare future Sg -good luck for Sg toooones "elderly without next gen".
And their bbfa uncles and aunties.

tidiii

Same boat here.
To add, I also have dementia dad. My sis is of no help as she just want to push everything to me.
My mum is 60kg, no joke to carry here to n fro commode and wheelchair.
My lower back injured liao
Change diapers, shower, makan....etc.
A lot of ppl will think is easy job....that's because they never experience first hand before.
365 days no rest...and I had been doing for 4 years.
Yes, I lost my temper a few times...I tell my mum I wish she and dad can just die asap.

I don't see any silver lining. I see many in their 50s, already enjoying their years...but me.....
I also want to go travel around the world. To see the world before I die.
Probably the fortunate thing is Im not married and no kids, if not will have another set of problems.

can send to nursing home?

cyke69sg

i first time hiring helper due to elderly father bad fall when outside walking and have bone facture. already in hospital and tcf since april. was told by social worker in hospital to employ helper.

would like to check if do u all give food or transport allowance for helper other than her monthly salary?
No. $700 is her monthly that's it. But provide her lodging and meals when she is at home . Off day she take care of her meals and expenses. Some maid choose not to go on off day then provide her meals.

cyke69sg

U r rite. Worse nowadays looots families "one child only" ( future one pax take care TWO elderlies.), plus looots married "no kids" & singles "no kids".

Will be new SGreans from other countries replacing the old generation and current generation.

SG is going to get even better.

cyke69sg

wat about daycare?
or old folks home
too expensive. Helper is the best. Old person can stay at home which is most familiar and comfortable.
Eat home cooked food,
Use own toilet
See family.
One to one care from helper.

Even if hire 2 helpers still cheaper than to go elsewhere.

Mountainnodew

This is the hidden cost eg food, transport, medical, clothes, etc

8zaoyu

No lah, usually only go wet mkt to buy meats and veges to home to cook otherwise tabao from downstairs coffeeshops?
One strong Aunty (not too young singles) maid will do, towel Ah Gong / Ah Mah onto movable commode to shower/toileting daily and go wheelchair round the downstairs gardens/parks.
Ensure you know what type you want, elderly care of one or two elderly parents, domestic work and homecook food (clean toilets/kitchen/rooms, laundry/ironing of many members of household, bring to/from childcare of a few children)
My previous Aunties maids could do insulin injection and tube-feeding (taught by the hospital nurses) Their salaries based on first time FDW or many years experienced (with good reviews) here in SG.

8zaoyu

This is the hidden cost eg food, transport, medical, clothes, etc
only the required periodic medical check up due in the two years contract, clothings got plenty of T- shirts and shorts around, food - tabao economic rice/noodles, eat maggie mee, eat TopOne bread, transport - walk is free. You think she is your Mistress meh.
My relative don't like the maid, send back losing agent and insurance fees - so sometimes folks living with the helper must interview her to hear how she communicate understand instructions

van123

No “allowance” given for food or transport
But provide food in that helper cooks for herself and my senior
Helper only walks to market, no transport cost
Medical cost - have to reimburse helper

Elfblade

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
Option 3 and apply for Grant.

8zaoyu

This generation will pay for Community Care Living (>65)
If single or widowed and immobile - stay in 2-rm flexi with helper?

8zaoyu

wat about daycare?
or old folks home
Depends only state of elderly ( mobile or bedridden not ok kind)
Old folks home - usually for bedridden no next of kins children/siblings ( have to declare properties/savings to get taxpayer's subsidies)

Panerex

No. $700 is her monthly that's it. But provide her lodging and meals when she is at home . Off day she take care of her meals and expenses. Some maid choose not to go on off day then provide her meals.
So if maid stay at home during off days, employer still has to provide food while she does nothing at home?

Panerex

No lah, usually only go wet mkt to buy meats and veges to home to cook otherwise tabao from downstairs coffeeshops?
One strong Aunty (not too young singles) maid will do, towel Ah Gong / Ah Mah onto movable commode to shower/toileting daily and go wheelchair round the downstairs gardens/parks.
Ensure you know what type you want, elderly care of one or two elderly parents, domestic work and homecook food (clean toilets/kitchen/rooms, laundry/ironing of many members of household, bring to/from childcare of a few children)
My previous Aunties maids could do insulin injection and tube-feeding (taught by the hospital nurses) Their salaries based on first time FDW or many years experienced (with good reviews) here in SG.
If helper taobao her own food from coffeeshop/ hawker centre, reaonsable to give her $5 for to choose what she wants to eat and drink?

Is this a good practice? Any risk that she keeps the money and not eat?

Panerex

No “allowance” given for food or transport
But provide food in that helper cooks for herself and my senior
Helper only walks to market, no transport cost
Medical cost - have to reimburse helper
Anyone came across helpers with big appetite?
No choice but to let her eat?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.