Unker Ben: Maybe the Singapore Story should be one where our people go overseas to make their money and then come home to retire.

krikering

singapore story is where all the FT and those seniors mgmt working in gov agencies, and TLC, GLC are are huat and living the millionaires life....with rest of sinkies serving them in F&B, hospitality etc.
Social Mobility is super narrow one compared to 30 years ago and before.

If not born into a well-to-do family, never difficult to get out of the cycle.

I was a MP (Military Policeman NSF) in DB, have encountered people whom had to AWOL because they got families to support and NS pay too low, etc.

Whereas you have our MPs (Member of Parliaments) on 16k per month, and stil can have so many directorships, etc.

Ridout Road Saga, Ong Beng Seng and the Liew Mun Leong cases already shown that not everyone is equal.

SG right now is a landlord economy, built on the foundations of crony capitalism.

Even a IT project manager whom is single and earn 15k per month (but need to support elderly parents),

Can find housing unaffordable (due to No BTO grants, and over-inflated HDB Resale Market, etc.).

Last time in the 1980s, even a bus driver can afford a HDB with a family of 4 (Wife + 2 kids).

With rent/Housing and COLs, etc. skyrocketing.
How to retire in SG with a peace of mind?

Somemore healthcare here so expensive also, older ages is when you utilize healthcare the most.
Too bad Bukit Panjang SMC refuses to vote Dr Paul in to reform our healthcare system.

huphoe

I got Canadian citizenship.
But because I gave up SG citizenship means no way back to SG.
SG system is like that. You dowan SG breakup with SG then will never be your bf/gf again. Unless I billionaire.
of cos , where got best of both worlds except sinkagpore

Foetid

It’s better to develop overseas for professionals. In sg even a car COE is above 120k, overseas can buy a sports car. Sg will only go on decline in the near future, like Nauru island last time. The golden age of sg won’t last due to geopolitics shift happening now. These no saving period of sg
U think can last till 5 room hdb 5 million? 4 room hdb 4million?

cleffa3000

if ppl have the chance to go overseas
then will most likely migrate there alr
why will come back sg

cyke69sg

Yes, only Singaporeans like to be chopped carrots. My Singapore friend living in Australia is laughing all the way to the bank. S$100K for a piece of paper that lasts only 10 years. Can buy 3 cars and use them perpetually until scarp.

You are absolutely right. If you make money in foreign land, you will never come back except for healthcare.
I don't go back to SG for healthcare..
Is only those beh kan will do that.

jeffrey745

It depends on what kind of lifestyle do you want.

My friend stays in a super big landed which you will never be able to afford in Singapore unless you are ultra rich. But in Australia, it is normal because it has big land.

Cars are dirt cheap. Most families have 2-3 cars. COE is joke to the Aussies.

Australia has four seasons so it makes your life very different as compared to Singapore with 1 season.

There are many more differences.

The biggest drawback is the healthcare system. That’s why retained your SG citizenship. Come back for healthcare when you need.
Agreed with u. Each country has its pros and cons. Laid back and slower paced lifestyle in aussie means that public services arent as efficient as sg...

cyke69sg

Yes, only Singaporeans like to be chopped carrots. My Singapore friend living in Australia is laughing all the way to the bank. S$100K for a piece of paper that lasts only 10 years. Can buy 3 cars and use them perpetually until scarp.

You are absolutely right. If you make money in foreign land, you will never come back except for healthcare.
Alberta has no rats. We kill them all.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calgary/roof-rat-norway-calgary-alberta-pest-1.7605135

Singapore still has rat problem.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ners-of-places-with-rat-problems-from-april-1

But Alberta has measles problem. Singapore does not. Almost everyone vaccinates in Singapore. Not in Alberta though.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calg...case-counts-reported-for-entire-u-s-1.7584490

jeffrey745

Also means working in public service is not so hectic in AU.
Yes overall better work life balance.... Jus the other day my ex landlord who came back from queensland was telling me that to see a gp there need to make at least 3 days appt in advance...

Unlike sg can jus walk in same day when u r unwell to see doc.... Worst case scenario gotta go A&E...

They got no coffeeshop or hawkers there... Each meal at restaurant min is AUD$15, price doesn't correspond to quality of food... Sometimes it taste sucky too....

jeffrey745

Yes, in Australia, it is all about work life balance. Nobody works OT. For those who choose to work OT will be treated like aliens. Malls closed at 5-6pm. Everybody goes home for family gatherings, etc.
Yes that means everywhere becomes a dead town after 6pm.. Not as lively and happening as sg...

sg-united

Yes that means everywhere becomes a dead town after 6pm.. Not as lively and happening as sg...
That's why it is all depending what kind of lifestyle suits you. If you prefer night supper kind of life, do not migrate to Australia. You are better off migrating to Thailand, Taiwan, Malaysia, etc.

krikering

only super rich will retire in sg, net worth min 50m

if not you are better off in nordic countries
Nordic countries difficult to migrate to actually, their visa requirements much stricter than SG. Maybe go as a refugee higher chance than on skilled worker visa, etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.