[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

Carnage

We need to keep the hawker culture to cater for affordable peasant local food.
Don't bring what protein bowl, chicken don or abalone fried rice into hawker. Selling 7.90, 8.90, 12.90.
We just need a 5.00 food that's all.
Want sell such food go coffee shop or food court or even restaurant please.
Frankly I welcome all these new age food options.

End of the day, the consumers will always vote with their wallets. No demand, businesses automatically die out. You can't always compete on price alone.

Similarly, I find hawkers taking it easy more and more. At where I stay, there are 2 hawker centres and most of the shops don't even operate 10 hours in a day. Some only open in the morning and are closed by 10am! Then there are those who cater for dinner crowd and close by 9pm!

Philipkee

I wonder if people still complain about the small portions at that hawker centre?

When I ate there 10 years ago, the prices were cheaper than the nearby coffeeshops but I also noticed the portions were smaller too.
Actually I think a lot more people are willing to overlook smaller portions not because they don’t care about the money but cos they become more and more health conscious

It’s more and more common for me to hear at the caipng stall, for example, for people to ask for less rice

xdivider

Speaking to CNA at the hawker centre on Tuesday afternoon, managing director of Canopy Hawkers Group Joey Tan said the group charges S$70 (US$55) before Goods and Services Tax (GST) to hawkers who want to leave cabinets or shelves permanently behind their stalls, which is called a temporary occupation licence

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...er-centre-kf-seetoh-baskets-free-food-5290671

Food critic KF Seetoh claimed on Aug 4 that the hawkers were being charged S$70 a month to leave a basket at the back of their stores for suppliers to place their wares.
$70 a mth just to use that space suppliers use to leave hawker's orders for the day. Atrocious.!

What part of which heaven gave Canopy Hawkers Group Ltd, the gall to charge willy nilly as a social enterprise hawker cte management to do this?

Remember they are suppose to help hawkers improve, stay viable and sustain their efforts to keep cost low and offer affordable food for the masses in this hawker cte built by public monies.

Total lack of guidelines..More egregious stuff coming up.
canopy-hawker.png

elloz123

i thought OYK say they no need pay? Wah, minister kena sabo by his kah kia ahh
Minister Ong say no need to pay to use the blue basket he never say that space. So technically he’s not wrong. I mean if today if it’s a red basket it’s also not wrong.

focus1974

I kind of agree with @Capitalist

The big thing is when you whistle blow, it must be objective and not personal.

For example
U say I notice safety breaches in this aspect cos I notice it seems people are not wearing helmets in the site - it’s OK

u say I noticed xxx walking around the site without helmet - that one asking to die

For hawker
If u say my rent is $20k a month for this space plus I need to pay $70 for this small area - it’s ok. Just let everyone draw the conclusions

If you say I think my landlord is a bloodsucker who wants another $70 for this space when I’m already paying $20k a month for this space - asking to be targeted

How u talk to a reporter, how u talk to a whistleblowing committee and how u talk to a friend is different

how you talk about it is how you think will soften the impact to the other party.
how the party feels after being on the receiving end being pulled the rear leg, is how the other party feels.
you can be as objective and soft in your delivery as possible..
but we can only hope the person receiving it will do so objectively and not subjectively. we cannot control that.

one rice feed thousand type of people.

it's like delivery that you are retrenched message ... how you think it makes the person feel.
and how the retrenched actually feels ... ..hehe

U deliver bluntly... thru zoom..
retrenched worker : they didnt do it properly .. they could have done it in a more gentle way and no appreciation of my work at all.. and bblah blah blah.

U deliver in advance and softly and take care of their feelings with full face to face meeting with boss and hr and what nots.

retrenched worker : to think they just dismissed me just like that and discount all the contribution i make and my loyalty.. I contributed so much ..blah blah blah...

xdivider

And Ashley Wu claims that I'm Lee Kuan Yew's ******* child.

I dtill don't see the claim by See Toh that he is talking about the basket and not the space.
instead of cna i read directly from horse mouth

$70 a mth just to use that space suppliers use to leave hawker's orders for the day. Atrocious.!

What part of which heaven gave Canopy Hawkers Group Ltd, the gall to charge willy nilly as a social enterprise hawker cte management to do this?

Remember they are suppose to help hawkers improve, stay viable and sustain their efforts to keep cost low and offer affordable food for the masses in this hawker cte built by public monies.

Total lack of guidelines..More egregious stuff coming up.

even the pic is.......

kf-seetoh-claims-blue-basket.png

did cna keep leaving out the space word.....

his direct whatsapp....

canopy-hawker.png

JustForFun

无良运营商 ?

腐败领导人 ?

白纸黑字慈善可悲,霸凌思想与行为 ?

Fake "charity" with abuse of authority and power ?

Carnage

Actually I think a lot more people are willing to overlook smaller portions not because they don’t care about the money but cos they become more and more health conscious

It’s more and more common for me to hear at the caipng stall, for example, for people to ask for less rice
My memory might be a little hazy but I clearly remembered paying $2.70 for wanton mee that had lesser char siew and 1 less wanton.

If you upsize and paid more, it's the normal portion.

I don't know much about being health conscious but eating less meat surely can't be the same as eating less rice.

alex22

It's clear OYK just ask his ka kia to go investigate.

Civil servants are just pen and paper pushers, they won't know how to rapport with the laymen (much less hawkers) to find out the real situation.
Like no ministar needed to take public transportation also lar

Carnage

even the pic is.......

Even I thought they were talking about the basket and not the space.

I believe that's what OYK's post was referring to as well.

dxdx999

even the pic is.......

Because OYK reframed it by saying the basket is not chargable. So now MSM, IB, and every pap zealots keep talking about it, when this was not seetoh said at the start.

Also conveniently these people keep sidestepping the free meals clause, when they realised now it's legally binding.

Again, why bother to help sinkies ? Why bother to help hawkers? Just let them all suffer lor - it's what they voted for.

ShinnAsuka

Mechafanboy

The whole debacle is concerning; a minister and state media leaping to the defense of a hawker centre operator. we need to explore the connections between these entities.

xdivider

Because OYK reframed it by saying the basket is not chargable. So now MSM, IB, and every pap zealots keep talking about it, when this was not seetoh said at the start.

Also conveniently these people keep sidestepping the free meals clause, when they realised now it's legally binding.

Again, why bother to help sinkies ? Why bother to help hawkers? Just let them all suffer lor - it's what they voted for.
basically is oyk self-pwned trying to take selfies for tiktok and now got a bunch of well-meaning people from CNA trying to help him look less like a cotton growing sheep.......

edit: i forgot about the group of well meaning kind people trying to insist its a box thing here..........

focus1974

these days notice more and more stalls unrented and coffeeshops close. this is a good sign. hawker culture should die, it has no place in a first world country. ppl should only eat in cafes and restaurants, poor ppl then eat at home.

The trend should be poor people eat microwave food from 7-11 and cheers.

Is it must learn from japan and korea and taiwan ... ??

hawkwind

It's clear OYK just ask his ka kia to go investigate.

Civil servants are just pen and paper pushers, they won't know how to rapport with the laymen (much less hawkers) to find out the real situation.
For the salary OYK is paid I certainly dun want him to spend his time taking to hawkers about such things. It's perfectly fine to send someone else.

Philipkee

how you talk about it is how you think will soften the impact to the other party.
how the party feels after being on the receiving end being pulled the rear leg, is how the other party feels.
you can be as objective and soft in your delivery as possible..
but we can only hope the person receiving it will do so objectively and not subjectively. we cannot control that.

one rice feed thousand type of people.

it's like delivery that you are retrenched message ... how you think it makes the person feel.
and how the retrenched actually feels ... ..hehe

U deliver bluntly... thru zoom..
retrenched worker : they didnt do it properly .. they could have done it in a more gentle way and no appreciation of my work at all.. and bblah blah blah.

U deliver in advance and softly and take care of their feelings with full face to face meeting with boss and hr and what nots.

retrenched worker : to think they just dismissed me just like that and discount all the contribution i make and my loyalty.. I contributed so much ..blah blah blah...
Very true also but generally if u r objective, bosses won’t really target you.
Of cos, ur relationship with him must be strictly professional in the sense that u never ask him for favours like “boss let me go off early today” cos that might end.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.