[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

jeff79

Why let these operators run the hawker centres? They are middleman whose main objective is profit. Why can't NEA operate them directly? Jurong West Hawker Centre was a classic example previously. I am not blaming anyone but a commercial entity cannot be running charity.
Very simple nea just wanted to shape the policies. Let the for proft middleman do the dirty work of implementing the policies.

See this saga nobody point finger at nea.

f1y555

Why let these operators run the hawker centres? They are middleman whose main objective is profit. Why can't NEA operate them directly? Jurong West Hawker Centre was a classic example previously. I am not blaming anyone but a commercial entity cannot be running charity.
Anything happen can just blame the contractor. NEA just set rules and do audit can liao. How the contractor run and manage their business is their decision.

lizzykai

OYK has proven to show which side he’s on…. He will probably MIA for a while now.

focus1974

7-11 microwave food exp dey. or chu buy the expiring ones with 20% discount?

depends on your budget loh.
you richer poor , you buy fresh one.
you poorer poor, you wait for your dinner time and buy the discounted one at 9pm! .hehe Yes, your dinner time is 9pm. Not 6pm or 7pm or 8pm.
and buy is not for today dinner only. Try to buy for tomorrow breakfast and lunch at discount coz tomorrow one no discount till 9pm. and the loop repeats.

Japan also like that

kimsix

I also don't like him. All the while he was fighting only for his own lot (ie, the hawkers), the common people's interests are never his concern.

He also dont have any hawker background, all this fighting is just personal kpi

I dont mind hawker culture die and more sinkies cook from home…

it’s becoming meaningless with small portions, fusion nonsense and tiong stalls

hawker culture is crap, just cheap carbo because last time coolie genes need to work 96 and have no space and time to cook
The fourth of five children, Seetoh attended St. Joseph's Institution and the Baharuddin Vocational Institute. Beginning in 1983, he worked as a photographer The Straits Times, but left in 1990 to establish his own photographic studio.[3] In 1998, Seetoh and Lim Moh Cher founded Makansutra (a portmanteau combining "makan" and "sutra"),[4] a food guide publisher dedicated to Asian cuisine.[5]

In 2008, Seetoh was awarded the Special Recognition Award by the Singapore Tourism Board.[6]

Seetoh collaborated with Urbanspace, a company managing food halls in the United States, to open a Singaporean hawker centre, near Times Square, New York, in 2022.[7]

klim668

He also dont have any hawker background, all this fighting is just personal kpi
I think he opens a hawker centre at NY time square, serving the rich ppl there.
Maybe he wants to replicate that kind of hawker culture in s'pore.

AngryBirdBird

Screenshot-2025-08-13-at-05-27-21.png
saga part 2

Overture1928

Ong Ye Kun need to say sorry to the Seetoh.

it's unbecoming of a minister to retort without fact checking. When you are a person of authority and have at your disposal an army of civil servants who are managing NEA. Citizens will have 2nd thoughts of openly voicing out any opinions against the official line, for fear of a rebuttal.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...kf-seetoh-baskets-free-food-5290671?cid=FBcna
To summarise, our leaders just want to stay in their echo chamber

Lifeinmotion

As long as can milk - it won't die.

Even if hawkers die in all the heartlands, they can always build one for tourist for the hype and you know the prices won't be cheap, i.e. maxwell, newton...

How many tourists you can see eating at canberra :s13: the tourist will think go there maybe need to chop passport.
Waiting for one with Tiger show at the zoo. Uniquely Singapore - Tiger show with UNESCO certified hawker culture. Where mynah dines with you! But pls remember to return your tray to our million dollar trash machine.

Visor9999

Best solution is to turn sg food into outlets and fast food. Cai png stalls should just open franchise. Remove hawker centres completely as items are too expensive

Visor9999

All hawkers and restaurant owners will tell you the key challenge in their industry is rental and cost of manpower.

I don't know where you get the idea rental have nothing to do with prices.

Many foreign countries don’t even have hawker centres. Can follow Ang moh countries food model to make food affordable

byfun

Seems like not many give any 2 hoots abt the plight of the hawkers. Many just popcorn watch the war of words between KF and OYK.

If the ppl really care, they won't be ngiao chee ngiao sai insisting that local hawker fare must be cheap and good and fresh and hygienic, while not batting eyelid patronizing the expensive restaurant food from shopping malls.

Really sux to be hawkers, no wonder it's a dwindling trade and worse get bullied by mercenary operators.

Some hawkers dont deserve any sympathy also la.. black and white condition stated until like that liao still wanna sign and rent the stall mean what ?

Dont tell me they signed becos they wanna provide affordable food to public. Its human greed, they think can be profitable hence they took the risk. If the business is not viable just bite the bullet and close it. Do business need to expect profit and losses.

Unless they signed the contract without knowing the conditions then at least can say not make known to them beforehand.

They also greedy to make profit in first place hence kena.

If every stall close becos of this unreasonable demands .. mgmt also will take away the demands, but others will still go in and take over the stalls. u think mgmt or gov will care ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.