[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

kitsura

Lai liao

“The space isn’t ours, it belongs to NEA. If you want to use it, of course you have to pay,” said the 65-year-old.

“It doesn’t matter that much to me, it’s S$70 a month … There are some people who can’t bear to spend the money, so those people will complain.”

“If you’re here earning money from everyone every day, shouldn’t you give back to the community a bit? Two meals a day is manageable,” said Mr Ow, adding that he already gives free meals away to those who need them.

Hawkers were also aware of the clauses when they signed their leases, he stressed. “If you want to sign the contract, then you should follow it. Don’t sign the contract, then complain about it.”

154 at it best :crazy: Interview the RIGHT person , no ashley wu this time.
RC member? Did he get his PBM already I wonder…

lifeisinforashock

actually the things seetoh raise is not new...

it's all covered here:

https://www.straitstimes.com/life/d...rous-rules-is-too-much-being-asked-of-hawkers

Below is screenshot of article in case article gets removed:

YOQcecc.jpg

Some questions were raised but no answers ?

Philipkee

My memory might be a little hazy but I clearly remembered paying $2.70 for wanton mee that had lesser char siew and 1 less wanton.

If you upsize and paid more, it's the normal portion.

I don't know much about being health conscious but eating less meat surely can't be the same as eating less rice.
Depends. I know of some people who want less meat more vege less rice

Only after I heard of people taking keto diet then I see they want more meat

elloz123

Lai liao

“The space isn’t ours, it belongs to NEA. If you want to use it, of course you have to pay,” said the 65-year-old.

“It doesn’t matter that much to me, it’s S$70 a month … There are some people who can’t bear to spend the money, so those people will complain.”

“If you’re here earning money from everyone every day, shouldn’t you give back to the community a bit? Two meals a day is manageable,” said Mr Ow, adding that he already gives free meals away to those who need them.

Hawkers were also aware of the clauses when they signed their leases, he stressed. “If you want to sign the contract, then you should follow it. Don’t sign the contract, then complain about it.”

154 at it best :crazy: Interview the RIGHT person , no ashley wu this time.
I’m going to drive down there personally and look for this 65 year old gentleman. Everyday beg for free meal from him.

focus1974

Whistleblowing is a damn bo hua thing. You will kenna blacklisted gao gao if your name is made known. Nobody likes snitches.

can whistleblow... but cannot have name ...

whistleblow is to do your part to highlight wrong things..
but if it involves your ricebowl... then have to see the severity of the matter and whether can do it anonymously or not.

even private letter ... sent. and management never do anything.. ur conscience is clear mah.

severity for me is like endanger safety of customers or staff (like ordering fake meat or expired meat, or no proper safety structure or tofu construction) etc.
those corruption and what nots that will not endanger anyone type (like siphoning funds or backstab each other).. don't care! hehe.

hardindex

One is a politician with his 1m+ job to protect, one is a guy who speaks up for the poor hawkers with nothing to gain
the worse part is the politician can't get the truth out from the hawker, this show how little they trust him. His facebook post is a embrassment to his career....

carey

the worse part is the politician can't get the truth out from the hawker, this show how little they trust him. His facebook post is a embrassment to his career....
What embarrassment to his career :ROFLMAO:

No blame culture hor

fortunehunter

Frankly I welcome all these new age food options.

End of the day, the consumers will always vote with their wallets. No demand, businesses automatically die out. You can't always compete on price alone.

Similarly, I find hawkers taking it easy more and more. At where I stay, there are 2 hawker centres and most of the shops don't even operate 10 hours in a day. Some only open in the morning and are closed by 10am! Then there are those who cater for dinner crowd and close by 9pm!

Newer hawker center have all sorts of funny food older one is standard peasant food.

May be I am old don't like such new generations fusion chup pa Lang food.

When I hungry just to fill my stomach I go hawker.
When I hungry no hawker center I go food court.
Special occasion go restaurant.

Some time this hawker needs to place the right price at the right place.

Don't expect us to pay sq price with scoot service and we don't expect pay scoot price for sq service.

klim668

Any update from OKY?
He really shot ownself in the foot. Hawker business he also backside itchy go chap one leg...now kena backlash diam diam act blur liao.

Cokacola

Salute Seetoh for standing up like a man, while the humcheese kias all only know how to curry favor , this guy stands tall among our last bastion of protection for local culture and hawkers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.