[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

Nickypigu

You need to be more specific so I can address your concern.
The aim for the pay it forward scheme is

1. To encourage hawkers to pay it forward
2. To force the hawkers to pay it forward
3. To get the social enterprise to pay it forward from their earnings from the hawker
4. To get the social enterprise to encourage the public to pay it forward

All the above methods can achieve the aim of pay it forward but which 1 is the desired approach that will deliver the desired outcome and effects that the agency wants?

Put the clause and don’t scrutinise how the clause is achieved is it an oversight?

If the social enterprise propose to force the hawker to pay it forward and the agency knowingly give them the contract. Is it an oversight?

For example put signs and law not to cycle on overhead bridge but don’t do enforcement and a pedestrian get knock down by a cyclist. Is it an oversight?

Stealth_PL

Cna and zaobao posting this means they are outright saying OYK is lying wor.. is it the different sect within the party started infighting liao?

Medicated Oil

The aim for the pay it forward scheme is

1. To encourage hawkers to pay it forward
2. To force the hawkers to pay it forward
3. To get the social enterprise to pay it forward from their earnings from the hawker
4. To get the social enterprise to encourage the public to pay it forward

All the above methods can achieve the aim of pay it forward but which 1 is the desired approach that will deliver the desired outcome and effects that the agency wants?

Put the clause and don’t scrutinise how the clause is achieved is it an oversight?

For example put signs and law not to cycle on overhead bridge but don’t do enforcement and a pedestrian get knock down by a cyclist. Is it an oversight?
The question is whether the PIF movement is put into action within the 3 years period.
I dun think so.

I dunno whether there is a expiry date for the movement to be performed.
If there is NONE, how to fault the operator even though they put it in their agreement ?
I know it is a catch 22 situation.

Nickypigu

The question is whether the PIF movement is put into action within the 3 years period.
I dun think so.

I dunno whether there is a expiry date for the movement to be performed.
If there is NONE, how to fault the operator even though they put it in their agreement ?
I know it is a catch 22 situation.
But if they put in the clause sure will ask how to achieve this. If they still give them the contract knowingly is really very evil.

TehSi99

Funny because from day one (until now), seetoh was not attacking the establishment, but the SEHC management

No idea why OYK must open his mouth and drag the gov into this

See la, now play so big u tjl MSM must step in and now big hooha everywhere.

If I LW I sure dulan with this OYK.

Own GRC and diam diam make him looks irresponsible. But too bad he got half baked information from his incompetent subordinates and quickly open his mouth to fight back.

Maybe his subordinates are just plain lazy or dare not step out to ask more.

Medicated Oil

But if they put in the clause sure will ask how to achieve this. If they still give them the contract knowingly is really very evil.
Something cannot put it too obvious.
As long as you achieved your primary objective, the other KPI should be LOOSELY defined and monitored.
You should be able to get what I mean.
It is what it is now.

Joseph12

Funny because from day one (until now), seetoh was not attacking the establishment, but the SEHC management

Cos he said the hawker centre in his constituency

toolbox03

Good chance for LW to remove his competitor once for all

krikering

No verdict.
Wait for new can of worms to explode.
And this issue will be be forgotten.

Own GRC and diam diam make him looks irresponsible. But too bad he got half baked information from his incompetent subordinates and quickly open his mouth to fight back.

Maybe his subordinates are just plain lazy or dare not step out to ask more.

Cos he said the hawker centre in his constituency
More like LW happy OYK self-pawn, they are rivals for the PM post in the 1st place. Grace Fu diam diam all the way, despite NEA under her. Not sure if LW instruct her one, or she saw OYK immediately go respond then rather diam diam or wait till the end to draw away the heat from him to make herself look like a hero within the PAP circle.

Medicated Oil

More like LW happy OYK self-pawn, they are rivals for the PM post in the 1st place. Grace Fu diam diam all the way, despite NEA under her. Not sure if LW instruct her one, or she saw OYK immediately go respond then rather diam diam or wait till the end to draw away the heat from him to make herself look like a hero within the PAP circle.
I will quote Mdm Portable Fan as a example.
How long did she finally decide to come out over the IC number saga ?
Should be more than one month.

Normally, they will not respond and wait for one month for the smoke to clear by itself.
Why so serious ?

crandfs

:look:

23 Dec 2022​

“Unfair To Make Life Difficult For Us ’Cos You Want To Be Eco-Friendly”: Hawker Hits Back At 80 Cents Charge For Biodegradable Takeaway Container At New Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre​

https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasi...ainer-new-bukit-canberra-hawker-centre-441201

Apr 25, 2023​

Leaks and millipedes dropping from roof: Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre stallholders upset over building's structure​

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/l...anberra-hawker-centre-stallholders-upset-over

Jun 19, 2023​

Hawkers worry about stall design after fire at newly opened Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre​

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-at-newly-opened-bukit-canberra-hawker-centre

Jan 5, 2024​

武吉坎贝拉摊贩不满煤气收费高还涨价 管理层:报价最具“竞争力”​

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20240105-1460316

Jun 01, 2024​

Doing charity, encouraging healthy eating, adhering to onerous rules: Is too much being asked of hawkers?​

https://www.straitstimes.com/life/d...rous-rules-is-too-much-being-asked-of-hawkers

11 Aug 2025

Bukit Canberra hawkers will not be penalised for not providing meals for low-income residents: Ong Ye Kung

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...-hawker-centre-free-meals-ong-ye-kung-5288411

Frankly, i think that all these attempts to control and restrict hawkers are going to kill our hawker culture, and also the main reason why Malaysian food is better than Singapore food in both taste and price.

Toiletpaper80

Lousy ong lah.. his votes also sub par. Shld join the PIP programme

krikering

Frankly, i think that all these attempts to control and restrict hawkers are going to kill our hawker culture, and also the main reason why Malaysian food is better than Singapore food in both taste and price.
Those operators and the MIWs whom keep protecting them will kill our local hawker culture soon. Then MLXG, Cai Png chan stores and drink stores selling kopi O at $3, etc. will take over soon.

standarture

Average malaysian food cmi though.

fandango

I also see alot of suspicious Facebook accounts defending the hawker centre and scolding Seetoh for being a kaypoh complainer.

Joseph12

Heheh

I think his PM dreams already go up in smoke after picture of his meal with Su
Not that its great before that

Think only the dumb kids who tiktok and often see him there will think he is PM material

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.