Latest from Kf Seetoh| The socially conscious Timbre Group that manages Yishun Park Hawker Cte ... ...

jq1986

I'm curious on the commotions.
IMHO, it is a simple Offer and Acceptance issue.

It was spelt out clearly in the contract that the provision of free/subsidised meals is required on top of the rent the hawkers are paying.
The hawker can then choose to accept or decline the contract.

If the hawkers sign up with knowledge of the contract requirements, why the hooha now?
Nobody put a knife to their neck to accept mah.
Take it or leave it.
But now accept already then KPKB chu pattern?

Same as some mall requires stores to open 365 days with full mall open hours, even during CNY or X'Mas holidays or no footfall / traffic days.
It's all spelt out in the contract upon signing if the tenant wants a store in the venue.
Tenants can take it or leave it.

It is as good as complaining against a land lord who charges $100k/m for rent.
Rental cost spelt out clearly in contract.
Tenant accept already then can KPKB say rental cost is too high?

Why is "who is responsible for feeding the needy" even a point of discussion?
Exactly...every now and then you will see a thread complaining about hawker drive mercedes live landed. Then everyone says hawkers earn too much.

Then now say hawkers earn too little. Jesus, these are adults making adult decisions. Which business don't have risk? You think they went in trying to make as little money as possible? ROFL. They'll chop you in an instant.

psyger-zero

Can I give you an example or how profit sharing works in another scenario?

When you work a job, you get X dollars a year. If company makes money and gives bonus Y, then you get X+Y.

When company makes losses does it make you pay back from your salary?
ur example is totally wrong.if i work im putting in work.in the operator case who is putting in the work?its the hawker right?dont tell me the operator is tending the stall for the hawker?what kinda bs example are u giving?
also,u tell me how low the base rent is,if its low enough to be insignificant i can consider maybe the profit sharing is fair.if it isnt even low how can the profit sharing be justified?also,how about the govt subsidy for the operator to keep costs low?does this still justify they collecting from all directions n forcing hawkers to do charity from their pocket instead of the operator's pocket?

jq1986

So who pays who? NEA pays timbre to manage the hawker centre?
Actually, I don't know who came up with that and I don't believe it is true.

All NEA does is request for proposals from operators, and it has some guidelines the operators need to follow such as key parameters such as control on food prices and favouring bidders with lower total cost to stallholders.

JivBunny

Can I give you an example or how profit sharing works in another scenario?

When you work a job, you get X dollars a year. If company makes money and gives bonus Y, then you get X+Y.

When company makes losses does it make you pay back from your salary?

Sorry. U analogy is totally off.

Firstly, they have a minimum rental that they collect from the stalls. That part is already enough to cover their base and basic operating cost.

Secondly, why do you think the traditional Kopitiam owner will always operate the drink stall? Cos that’s the biggest money spinner. Guess who is the one operating that drinks stall in these social enterprise running hawkers? . Drinks stall.

Thirdly, they also dish out the cleaning contracts (which they also earn a cut) plus also the provision of all the crockeries.

You really have no clue how these operators work.

jq1986

ur example is totally wrong.if i work im putting in work.in the operator case who is putting in the work?its the hawker right?dont tell me the operator is tending the stall for the hawker?what kinda bs example are u giving?
also,u tell me how low the base rent is,if its low enough to be insignificant i can consider maybe the profit sharing is fair.if it isnt even low how can the profit sharing be justified?also,how about the govt subsidy for the operator to keep costs low?does this still justify they collecting from all directions n forcing hawkers to do charity from their pocket instead of the operator's pocket?
Operator don't put in work? Why malls have mall management? Why condos have MCST? What kind of BS world are you living in?

Why would I know how much the base rent is. And why is how low the base rent based on your interpretation? Who are you? Who make you king of hawkers?

JivBunny

All NEA does is request for proposals from operators, and it has some guidelines the operators need to follow such as key parameters such as control on food prices and favouring bidders with lower total cost to stallholders.

Likelihood is NEA lease out this to a single operator who will pay them either a fix rent or portion of their collections.

How does NEA charge? Likelihood is the cost of the construction divide out by how many years the contract is and that will be the minimum rental they must give.

jq1986

Sorry. U analogy is totally off.

Firstly, they have a minimum rental that they collect from the stalls. That part is already enough to cover their base and basic operating cost.

Secondly, why do you think the traditional Kopitiam owner will always operate the drink stall? Cos that’s the biggest money spinner. Guess who is the one operating that drinks stall in these social enterprise running hawkers? . Drinks stall.

Thirdly, they also dish out the cleaning contracts (which they also earn a cut) plus also the provision of all the crockeries.

You really have no clue how these operators work.
Firstly, how do you know the min rental covers basic operating costs?

Secondly, can you confirm Timbre operates the drink stall? Even if they operate it, perhaps it helps them to keep min rental low.

Third. Cleaning contracts. I have no idea where you are going with this.

JivBunny

Operator don't put in work? Why malls have mall management? Why condos have MCST? What kind of BS world are you living in?

Why would I know how much the base rent is. And why is how low the base rent based on your interpretation? Who are you? Who make you king of hawkers?

Go and look at the tender documents if you can access Gbiz.. All the information like minimum rental plus all the whole load requirement which is probably no different from those that they put to the hawker owners are there as well.

jq1986

Go and look at the tender documents if you can access Gbiz.. All the information like minimum rental plus all the whole load requirement which is probably no different from those that they put to the hawker owners are there as well.
Not gonna do your homework for you.

krikering

The irony in what Koh Poh Koon said: " In pricing their food, many hawkers struggle between keeping food affordable for their loyal customers while having to raise prices to cover the increases in ingredient and manpower costs. This is a struggle that many of us in the House can empathise with."

"Absorbing price increases of ingredients would effectively mean a pay cut for a hawker, on top of the already slim profit margins. I am sure many Singaporeans can empathise with this, even as price increases are not always easy to accept for anyone."

So Koh Poh Koon acknowledges the low profit margins that hawkers are struggling with, and yet under his/the govt's 'watchful' eye of SEHC, they still allow SEHC to take 15% of total sales?

Lol
Everyone know the operators and those whom profit under this ridiculous structure are the ones to be blamed, not hawkers nor we ordinary consumers.

But as per usual, they will either take us or the hawkers to 开刀。Die die want don't want to solve the crux of the issue that they should be doing so.

psyger-zero

if i live in a bs world then so do u since we come from the same one.plus whats with the drama?when did i say im the king of the hawkers?second,if u dont know how low the base rent is,why are u so vehemently defending the operator like its the gospel truth n theres no foul play in all this?
hawker management put in how much work hawker themselves put in how much work we all can see.u mean to say management put in more work than hawkers themselves?seriously who are u trying to kid?
plus,when u gave me that example,its clear the management is the boss the hawker is the worker,not the other way around,since they are the ones who make the rules.ur example is soo directly implying the employee ought to be paying the boss instead of boss pay employee.if so then why open the company if cant make money?might as well close it!but more likely is money duno eaten where,not that making loss.so,now this management need to take from govt then take from hawker,n indirectly,customers how much?

JivBunny

Firstly, how do you know the min rental covers basic operating costs?

Secondly, can you confirm Timbre operates the drink stall? Even if they operate it, perhaps it helps them to keep min rental low.

Third. Cleaning contracts. I have no idea where you are going with this.

That is bcos you don’t even know what you are saying.

Can I confirm timbre operates what? By saying this. It’s really no point talking further. You really don’t know how this work and you are just arguing yourself through BS.

It’s ok. You can have your last say. No point arguing on the internet. You either learn or you can live in your own world.

jackiehuat

NEA needs to top up rent difference between market rate n hawker low rates

krikering

let's see how OYK comes out and defend Timber again
He last time come out defend reason is because in his GRC.

Now really need Grace Fu, Koh Poon Koon and those in charge of NEA, etc. to come out personally themselves liao
Should just get rid of all these greedy fat cats. Confiscate their ill-gotten gains and leave their reputation in pieces
Additional layers should add onto more costs for the hawkers, forcing them to pass the costs to us.

Rental controls and those greedy schemes in place by the operators should be the one to target at.
timbre co founder approved.
Sold off liao, now enjoying his many millions. Upgrade to bigger GCBs and Conti/BMWs, etc. liao.

fandango

You read KF Seetoh's post again.

psyger-zero

That is bcos you don’t even know what you are saying.

Can I confirm timbre operates what? By saying this. It’s really no point talking further. You really don’t know how this work and you are just arguing yourself through BS.

It’s ok. You can have your last say. No point arguing on the internet. You either learn or you can live in your own world.
i think hes one of the operator shareholders,else why all the strawman arguments.

sky00sky

Mechafanboy

It's clear as day, peepur like Grace Fu are beholden to the elite cadre. They won't hold their fellow elites accountable. Paid millions to overlook the rot in the system. SG really needs a systematic purge.

JivBunny

why can's we have more NTUC Food Centres? And NEA operated food markets and food courts?

NTUC food Centers?

Trust me. They are just interested in bottom lines……..

As for Kopitiam, during the era when Alden Tan was the CEO together with the 3 elder sleeping partner, yes I think they do have a heart. Worked with him for at least 5-6 projects before he stepped down in 2019 and bumped into him just a few months ago when he was happily travelling in Croatia with his old team mates.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.