General S-REITs Discussion Thread

DevilPlate

past 1-2 mths greatest gains from sampan reits like Lendlease and ESR. Up like 20%+ from bottom

U need to be sniper and catch the bottom :s13:

yslvlys

Used to be bluechip

Imo Suntec and MINT downgraded to sampan status liao :cautious:
However, important to note that Suntec has never done a rights issue or preferential offering as far as I can recall since IPO. It's been able to maintain dividend of 6 to 9 cents per share every year which I think is impressive. Cos REITS usually keep doing rights issue then end up dividends received keep "giving back" to chase higher yields later.

elvintay07

I don’t quite understand the MBH thing. The peak is $1.09 or something and today price even lower than previous peak. Yield is like 2-4%. The trend seems like SSB or Tbills where high interest is like so few in life time. So buy this for retirement might as well follow Loo and bet on cpf.

Let’s say we take CICT with high of $3 in 2007 and low of $1 in 2008. Assuming we buy at different points of high/ low, won’t that 5% be more shiok than bonds?

Personally I rarely do REITs, bonds. My investments is usually US and CPF/ SSB. My REITs are more opportunistic. So I not really sure what is right/ wrong

highsulphur

I don’t quite understand the MBH thing. The peak is $1.09 or something and today price even lower than previous peak. Yield is like 2-4%. The trend seems like SSB or Tbills where high interest is like so few in life time. So buy this for retirement might as well follow Loo and bet on cpf.

Let’s say we take CICT with high of $3 in 2007 and low of $1 in 2008. Assuming we buy at different points of high/ low, won’t that 5% be more shiok than bonds?

Personally I rarely do REITs, bonds. My investments is usually US and CPF/ SSB. My REITs are more opportunistic. So I not really sure what is right/ wrong
I loaded up on MBH with cpf OA early this year and managed get 6% return so far already

sky1978

Used to be bluechip

Imo Suntec and MINT downgraded to sampan status liao :cautious:

What are the criteria for entry into Sampan grading?

Looking at their market cap, they still have 3.7b and 5.7b, respectively. One is still an STI component stock, while the other has a market cap matching the bottom two STI component stocks and is on the STI's reserve list. If we assume STI only includes bluechip entities, then both should still be considered bluechip.

DevilPlate

U so yng SSB also pointless. CPF only for top up 8k until hit FRS.

Should be maxing yr mortgage loan and brew yr huat kueh bigger and bigger :s13:

DevilPlate

What are the criteria for entry into Sampan grading?

Looking at their market cap, they still have 3.7b and 5.7b, respectively. One is still an STI component stock, while the other has a market cap matching the bottom two STI component stocks and is on the STI's reserve list. If we assume STI only includes bluechip entities, then both should still be considered bluechip.
My own criteria js based on stock price and management performance.

DevilPlate

bad choice for such long period.

CFA/CLR has little diversification, but high expense ratio.
Im Ok with 0.5%

i said before to replicate let say 10 bluechip reit portfolio…..each time DCA need about 100k because i wana store in CDP only in order to optimise the comm.

So DCA/average down 10-20k everytime more feasible for me. (Which was what i did between 2022-2025)

highsulphur

I will not add more MBH today.

I whack lump sum when MBH YTM was >4%
MBH YTM was never >4% even at the peak of the interest rate cycle.

Having said that I'm more inclined to sell now rather than buy although I do still reinvest some dividends from MBH back

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.