LTA, please clarify whether ERP 2.0 OBU power consumption is too high??

Revuelto

What if my car battery spoil?
That’s what my mechanic asked the LTA officer. Some servicing need to down for weeks and battery bound to be weak. The LTA officer got no answer. Say current SOP is OBU needs to reinstall/reprogram once power supply off(off for how long nobody knows)

waiken

That’s what my mechanic asked the LTA officer. Some servicing need to down for weeks and battery bound to be weak. The LTA officer got no answer. Say current SOP is OBU needs to reinstall/reprogram once power supply off(off for how long nobody knows)
so laoya one ah

anchoraz

From tis erp obu issues, i finally appreciate jpj vep. They r more seemless than us.

We r jus behind times and practicality. We r dinosaur era which u can c the obu. Jpj simply outclass us.

sglandscape

From tis erp obu issues, i finally appreciate jpj vep. They r more seemless than us.

We r jus behind times and practicality. We r dinosaur era which u can c the obu. Jpj simply outclass us.
The RFID approach is the budget solution, very similar to QR codes for payments and not great an experience, whereas our OBU2 is over engineered for not much additonal benefits. Somewhere in between like the IU verison 1 is preferred, with maybe a toggle switch and ability to show information would have worked.

GuiGuZi

Then my red plate car drive once a week cham lor. Every few months must change new battery and reinstall/reprogram whenever the battery cannot hold the charge for more than 1 week.

Lafiel

erp 2.0 is so advance
can know where u are
charge u by distance
warn u speed zone
many things it can do

but cant auto top up when a certain min amount hit

Mystyque

The RFID approach is the budget solution, very similar to QR codes for payments and not great an experience, whereas our OBU2 is over engineered for not much additonal benefits. Somewhere in between like the IU verison 1 is preferred, with maybe a toggle switch and ability to show information would have worked.

There is a lot of additional benefits, just have to keep in mind the beneficiary is not necessarily the ones driving.

sinwah

If you turn on the OBU a 2nd time, it need aro 2-3 mins for it to fully reboot.
This is the part where it gets technically interesting. Based on current automotive electronics standards, most ECUs and peripheral devices are able to complete their shutdown sequence within 5–20 seconds to minimize parasitic battery load and ensure readiness upon the next ignition cycle. For the OBU, even when the engine is switch off, the system still draws current while shutting down to go to sleep for a minute or more. What is the current drawn (1.2A @12V?) during the shutting down process? Whether this design poses any risk of increased battery drain or long-term degradation of vehicle battery health is not reported and unknown.

ofallpplwhyme

sharing my company van obu and personal motorcycle experience. for company van, the obu encountered hang screen twice. both when exiting the carpark. need to reverse the van, park, shut down and wait for 10mins or so before starting the engine again. for personal motorcycle, the obu cannot be easily detected at a few carpark. need to shift the handlebar toward right (thats why alot of rider shifted their obu to the right side). also encountered obu for motorcycle cannot detect cashcard. In the end got a the obu replace. please note that replacing obu might have labour charge if done after a specific period (not too sure on this, i saw the notice at vicom) but since i contacted lta for this. they waived this. when i am at vicom replacing my motorcycle obu, a driver shared that he received lta inspection letter because his 12v battery is flat and somehow obu detected that he disconnect his obu for the purpose of changing battery. wasted about 2 hours going for the inspection. not sure if chargeable.

carey

Possible to disconnect the erp if we leave the car in the carpark when travelling overseas for a few weeks?
The only way is to disconnect the car battery

But not sure if that would cause issues with the stupid OBU or not - some say the OBU may see it as tampering and freeze up or something

tomsss

The only way is to disconnect the car battery

But not sure if that would cause issues with the stupid OBU or not - some say the OBU may see it as tampering and freeze up or something
the OBU has an internal battery that is 1) not rechargeable and 2) not replaceable

i was told it was rated to last for up to 6 months if not connected to a constant power supply

once the internal battery is used up, you'd have to replace the entire processing unit

you have no way of knowing how much battery health is left unless you go to an authorized OBU workshop

song bo

tomsss

also another fun fact: Tesla intiitially cannot install OBU :s13:

why? because the car does not have a constant 12v supply available for the OBU that it requires

so what is the solution? install another aux battery just for the OBU from factory :s13:

carey

I refuse to install. Let other try out liao, iron the process, product first
Same here - I was supposed to install by end May but did not

Anyway, a lot of 3rd party workshops don't want to install for my car make - too complicated

And the AD is filled with backlog until Mar next year IIRC :ROFLMAO:

carey

not bribe lah. they award to cheapest tender loh. just that cheapest doesnt means quality. for this case, cheapest means sub par. they can just put all comply
Yup, simple logic - if so cheap, then something has to give

That's why if tenders keep giving to the lowest bidder, corners will be cut

carey

Then how they pass QA testing?
Where got QA testing one - they just go through the motion - no accountability

My LTA friend was one of the few "volunteers" who were involved in the testing

They just install the device in his car and test for 1 week and that's it

Eliwood

Where got QA testing one - they just go through the motion - no accountability

But edmw says ERP nv down wor.

If this is to be used with ERP2.0, confirm need to have high reliability.

Based on what has been shared, seems like LTA got it at good price. If OBU is as reliable as ERP, then it will be a very gd deal.

Ownself chk ownself working well?

Funfact, yaoxiukia was in the other bidding team for ERP2. Our tender price double of the current winner but that is because we follow the tender specs closely where it dictate OBU will be exposed to sunlight and heat and deeming it as a mini computer, it should be able to withstand. We and our partners from germany, austria, america source for materials and come out with the design, yes those partners are powerhouse in computing, industrial computing, road tolling design and submit the bid. When we see the final release price, we know for sure the awarded competitor cut corners, it can never be so cheap fulfiling all that requirements. I know some will say their awarded tender price of 500m is not cheap, but if any one of you read the specs, will know for sure 500m confirm can't do it. How many cars are there in singapore and not to forget the cost of getting car workshops to install the OBU at a fast pace to speed up the deployment and the network infrastructure behind. The project is doom to fail right from the start. Those scholars who kick off this back then, well they are already promoted and happily either retire by now or in some high rank somewhere.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.