LTA, please clarify whether ERP 2.0 OBU power consumption is too high??

carey

Thanks...will it be chargeable after the stated month on the letter?

Still on the fence....the whole 3 piece design really cmi and the power issues now.
I rather "pay" for the installation or wait until they start to fine then go install

carey

wa bro you from the ST electronics ah??? tt whole company is solid one... you say you gt many powerhouse amdk partners i believe you becoz tt sound like ST in general... they dont make rubbish one...

walaoeh main company can make so many solid weapon systems those serve ns will knw sia.... ask the british army they oso knw.... tbh nw you make me think.. is nt surprising after collaborating with their powerhouse amdk partners they come out with 2 times bigger bid... is ST culture to make solid products esp their other divisions oso make military hardware.....

fk man.. ppl forget amdk all praise our ultimax 100 and sar 21? ultimax was runner up to the US marine auto rifle program... only lose to the winning hk416 variant. walaoeh... runner up leh...

wa piang ... if the next bid is 2x rly ned to think wht is the reason leh some more the company gt gd history... cannot juz suka suka accept cheapest bid... my sunday nw more pek chek! :mad::mad::mad:

You forgot AIM liao? That $2 company with no staff can win tender for TC management system ;)

Yes, ST Electronics is no nonsense type of company - I used to know the CEO Mr Lee

Philipkee

Yup, simple logic - if so cheap, then something has to give

That's why if tenders keep giving to the lowest bidder, corners will be cut
I heard before. If don’t give to lowest bidder, very hard to explain why this is not “prudent use of public funds”

Saying that they take the highest bid or second lowest bid etc cos “it’s better quality” might not be seen as acceptable to the public as it’s just subjective reasoning. How many of us will know if the price is appropriate for the specs involved?

And in those cases where the lowest bid was not accepted but a higher bid was accepted instead, people also query if cronyism was involved

AndroidComa

I heard before. If don’t give to lowest bidder, very hard to explain why this is not “prudent use of public funds”

Saying that they take the highest bid or second lowest bid etc cos “it’s better quality” might not be seen as acceptable to the public as it’s just subjective reasoning. How many of us will know if the price is appropriate for the specs involved?

And in those cases where the lowest bid was not accepted but a higher bid was accepted instead, people also query if cronyism was involved
nowadays is price quality matrix liao

carey

The RFID approach is the budget solution, very similar to QR codes for payments and not great an experience, whereas our OBU2 is over engineered for not much additonal benefits. Somewhere in between like the IU verison 1 is preferred, with maybe a toggle switch and ability to show information would have worked.
It's not overengineered but the G wanted to do a lot of things from doing away with their ERP gantries and move the processing onboard to the OBU to charging by distance

But unfortunately, the capability of the tender winner is found to be very wanting

carey

Who are these "people"?

At most, it's the AGO but if they really did the audit properly, there won't be any issues cos they are getting a better and more reliability system at a slightly higher price

It's like buying a TV - won't you rather pay a bit more for a LG or Samsung vs a Prism Plus? Hahah

This is just my own speculation - the tender went to NCS cos it's owned by you know who ;)

carey

But edmw says ERP nv down wor.

If this is to be used with ERP2.0, confirm need to have high reliability.

Based on what has been shared, seems like LTA got it at good price. If OBU is as reliable as ERP, then it will be a very gd deal.

Ownself chk ownself working well?
ERP was built by ST Electronics IIRC

Military grade hardware and software

Philipkee

Who are these "people"?
tiagong from meetings plus don’t we all like to use the term profligate spending blah blah blah? We already criticise PAP for spending and increase GST and they spent $500 million for erp2. Imagine if they spent $1billion instead. What do u think edmw will say? Well done cos the quality is better? 😂

anyway

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/infrastructure-projects-lowest-bid-highest-risk

an old article talking about this which addresses why the lowest bid is taken and the weakness of it

https://www.mof.gov.sg/news-publica...eplies/Awarding-Of-Contracts-To-Lowest-Bidder

An even older article but the speaker is the current President

dev_stg_prd

but this COE/OBU is not even debated in GE..
I think this issue is irrelevant to all parties

ninelives

Next time need to install this type of fan or not? To blow the unit. ROFL

images
wah, this is jin old school. last time Taxi had this.

Philipkee

but this COE/OBU is not even debated in GE..
I think this issue is irrelevant to all parties
I think it’s not irrelevant but campaigning time is too short and it’s not likely going to be a good use of time debating this. Cos one will say this is bad, and the other will reply this is good and then no one has time to talk about COL before cooling day arrives

JAson1980

4.—(1) No person shall
(a) install an in-vehicle unit in a motor vehicle;
(b) remove an in-vehicle unit which has been installed in a motor vehicle;
(c) replace an in-vehicle unit which has been installed in a motor vehicle with another in-vehicle unit (whether of the same type or of another type);
  1. (d) carry out any maintenance or repair works to, or otherwise tamper with, adjust, alter or modify, an in-vehicle unit which has been installed in a motor vehicle;
  2. (e) manufacture or assemble an in-vehicle unit; or
  3. (f) sell or supply or offer to sell or supply an in-vehicle unit,
unless he is authorised to do so by the Registrar.
(2) Any person who contravenes paragraph (1) shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both.
Disconnecting the battery terminal don't break any rules above.

Emperor_Hippo

not bribe lah. they award to cheapest tender loh. just that cheapest doesnt means quality. for this case, cheapest means sub par. they can just put all comply
If lowest tender win bid, that doesn't give the project manager any excuse to just rest on his laurels and accept whatever the contractor gives them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.