Andrew Loh| Mr Tang Liang Hong has passed away

Philipkee

Last time become opposition member really is no joke one, kana sued/bankrupt/jailed, etc. If you fight them head on like JBJ, TLH and Francis Seow, etc. they will fix you jialat one.

The only reason why LTK and CST survived so long, is because they got no threat and also did not openly challenge PAP. Also the fact that they managed their constituency well.

Well CST was proven to be of no threat, and he never really had much ambition too after he fell out with Wong Hong Toy and the rest.

LTK stayed low whilst waiting for the right opportunity to strike (GE 2011) Looking back they probably regret not fixing LTK back before Internet/Social Media era. The AHTC was the best they can come up with.

They probably did Not expect that WP grew to the stature it did now, when though WP only has around 10% of the seats but at least they somewhat still have the power to bring to attention NTUC Income-Allianz deal and Minimum Wages (which PAP later repackage it as PWM), etc.
Apparently CST was also related to LKY

One of Chiam's maternal aunts, Mabel Lim, married Kwa Soon Siew, who was a brother-in-law of Singapore's first prime minister Lee Kuan Yew.[40]

Joseph12

Sinkies no guts then to vote out any high calibre ministers.

If pappies keep harping the consequences of lising such ministers if they are voted out, it strongly shows they have very serious flaws in their BCP. Can't afford to lose any ministers.
What is BCP

Kaylin

Ah gal U knew Tiang liang hong ? U exposed ur age. U are not that young. but i older then u as much.

That Tiang is a Run Road Politician ..... hor ? In Sin Opposition Party all ready run road one.

For me I do parachuting...... 😅 :ROFLMAO:
i just put a wikipedia link, didnt know this one can sexpose the age one.

actually ya la, i AM abit older than u think. im 78 years old ah por liao. did u see my walking stick? my old flower eyes cant see clearly :(

Dew36

RIP Mr Tang. the Cheng san incident was spectacular. it forced the gov's hands on so many things, etc..... it's a pity that I was too young then to really experience it properly.

vee4044

i just put a wikipedia link, didnt know this one can sexpose the age one.

actually ya la, i AM abit older than u think. im 78 years old ah por liao. did u see my walking stick? my old flower eyes cant see clearly :(
Suddenly so humble...ah por dun sexpose like one leh. why u know i got walking stick flower eyes 20yrs ago. So scare to date U.... 😅 :ROFLMAO: :love:

krikering

Apparently CST was also related to LKY

One of Chiam's maternal aunts, Mabel Lim, married Kwa Soon Siew, who was a brother-in-law of Singapore's first prime minister Lee Kuan Yew.[40]
Always heard of that, but I highly doubt CST himself was close to any of the ministers though. Anyway no reason for LKY and gang to touch him, since he never really harboured much ambition.

LTK was the one, slowly building WP's political capital and reformed the party from within, to eventually become the force it is today.

He expelled a lot of troublemakers (or Non-Team Players) under his watch.

JBJ is a good politician, but as a leader perhaps main-character syndrome was too strong. Many of the Barisan Socialis members like Lee Siew Choh whom joined WP had difficulties working with him.

mynickname

So anyone from wp acknowledged his contribution to their cause yet?

Kaylin

Suddenly so humble...ah por dun sexpose like one leh. why u know i got walking stick flower eyes 20yrs ago. So scare to date U.... 😅 :ROFLMAO: :love:
ok la im not ah por im ah gong. u wanna go on date with ah gong? :(

snapp

23a5d91e409f54cb8a93881b17c5108eb04032a6f15d8ee64d7639810ef690b8

ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY

Mr Tang left Singapore after the election and eventually moved to Australia. He also lived in Malaysia and Hong Kong in his later years.

At the wake on Oct 2, Ms Kelly Tang and Mr Brendan Tang said their father had not left instructions for his funeral, but they had arranged for his wake and funeral to he held in Singapore as this was what he would have wanted.

Mr Tang never returned to Singapore, and did not attend the funeral of his wife Teo Siew Har when she died in 2019. She had lived in Singapore with Ms Kelly Tang and her family.

Ms Kelly Tang said her father had stayed interested in Singapore’s current affairs and developments, and read the newspapers every day.

Living alone in Australia and then Malaysia - before eventually moving in with his older daughter and her family in Hong Kong - he threw himself into the study of economics, which became his passion.

He also had an active social life with friends from different walks of life, cultures and faiths whom he discussed philosophy, politics, history and international affairs with, added Ms Tang.

On the 1997 episode, Mr Brendan Tang said his father did not talk about it much in his later years. “But he continued to speak of returning home one day,” he added.

The family declined to comment further on the episode.

Ms Kelly Tang said her father was accepting of the different religions practised by his wife and children, including her Christian faith.

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...s-party-politician-tang-liang-hong-dies-at-90

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.