jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

SH past few days also lagi hot. At Shanghai Tennis Masters, Medvedev totally drained himself out, Sinner kena cramps & retired and Djokovic puked few times in a match but prevailed. Although this morning was cooling.
This morning first run after 2.5weeks without running, better take it easy at 6-7min/km pace at short distance.

KLSCM they runners also kaobei bloody warm, last sunday same as F1.

This one last year one i think

Ender

course routes out. This year no Sheares and no wch. Interesting flat course

They have taken care most of the unshaded areas of the later part of the route. Except at the 28.5kmkm mark all the way to Marina Barrage is totally unshaded. The majority of the mass, 5 hour finish time, will be there at around 8:30am -9am. Base on last year, not too bad. after 9:20am was when the sun was up and hot.

After that, the rest of the route are mainly inside CBD, should be safe from the sun. But garden by the bay will get morning sun, coz it's east side is unblocked.

GlassDoor

Like this morning, I also felt a bit unwell when trying out a bit overdistance at just LT2 pace, wanted to do 8k if possible 10k. Too warm. Just 6k into it and felt like too warm already....no point risking it for the workout

Imagine doing HM with direct solar and where you can heat soak more coz longer duration, no amount of regular training (w/o any dedicated heat training) would get me to run at this pace. With a wee bit of mid morning/early evening running then perhaps, maybe.....just maybe with a bit of luck and active cooling can finish 10k with a bit of late 7-8am sun. (i started 10k AHM past 7am with all the other folks got cleared, still open lol...but then failed to realise HM joins 10k later wtf...either that or you need to be seeded way way in front)

lVEUEBh.jpg
this morning's heat and temp imo still manageable. did a 12k tempo after 10am on a 60-70% shaded route.
personally my own protocol is to ease into the run. use the frist 1.5-2km to reach target pace then monitor heart rate (usually it will stablise and settle into a slow drift upwards).
if hr does not settle by 3rd to 4th km... its a early warning sign. I typically slow down the pace and see if it settles. If not will stop and fight another day :cool:

WussRedXLi

this morning's heat and temp imo still manageable. did a 12k tempo after 10am on a 60-70% shaded route.
personally my own protocol is to ease into the run. use the frist 1.5-2km to reach target pace then monitor heart rate (usually it will stablise and settle into a slow drift upwards).
if hr does not settle by 3rd to 4th km... its a early warning sign. I typically slow down the pace and see if it settles. If not will stop and fight another day :cool:

My main limiter i think is the heat, for > 5k distance. This morning not the first time already, back in 2023 when i was trying to sub-40 10k i first few times also experienced this at the 7-8k so around the same as today's 6.5, before i tried that active cooling with iced water / towel and loops, the advice that i gave to you also.

So i think in a certain way, no way i can do things like sub 1:30 or sub 3 even if i trained for it unless i go all out with heat training. Quite sensitive to heat compared to others.

Heh hehe.........i think partly also coz of my office. I always put digital thermo at my desk, sometimes get too cold and i will tell the admin to tell building mgmt to adjust central. It gets to 20.5 deg C, pretty cold.
And also that i wear sports top "lycra" for my t-shirt.....coz i run to work and lunchtime and then back, 1.1k bt home and office. So in office it would be pretty cold, until sometimes if i dont move i'd even need to put on windbreaker.
And then "training" in server room lagi colder, 14-18 deg C.

And at home, wife would switch on AC from 7.30pm onwards. I pang kang at 6 and reach home ~ 6.12-6.15 depending on the office and home lifts.

And then of coz for cycling, the higher windspeed vs RPE and associated heat generation also means not much heat training, esp since riding is almost done early morning and nights, save for the weekends with some slight exposure to the sun (but usually we choose shaded as much as possible)

GlassDoor

My main limiter i think is the heat, for > 5k distance. This morning not the first time already, back in 2023 when i was trying to sub-40 10k i first few times also experienced this at the 7-8k so around the same as today's 6.5, before i tried that active cooling with iced water / towel and loops, the advice that i gave to you also.

So i think in a certain way, no way i can do things like sub 1:30 or sub 3 even if i trained for it unless i go all out with heat training. Quite sensitive to heat compared to others.

Heh hehe.........i think partly also coz of my office. I always put digital thermo at my desk, sometimes get too cold and i will tell the admin to tell building mgmt to adjust central. It gets to 20.5 deg C, pretty cold.
And also that i wear sports top "lycra" for my t-shirt.....coz i run to work and lunchtime and then back, 1.1k bt home and office. So in office it would be pretty cold, until sometimes if i dont move i'd even need to put on windbreaker.
And then "training" in server room lagi colder, 14-18 deg C.

And at home, wife would switch on AC from 7.30pm onwards. I pang kang at 6 and reach home ~ 6.12-6.15 depending on the office and home lifts.

And then of coz for cycling, the higher windspeed vs RPE and associated heat generation also means not much heat training, esp since riding is almost done early morning and nights, save for the weekends with some slight exposure to the sun (but usually we choose shaded as much as possible)
heat can be a good stimulus also like pace and distance. but do make sure you are hydrated.
my delta for before and after weight was 2.6kg this morning... so imagine going for the run in a dehydrated state!

WussRedXLi

heat can be a good stimulus also like pace and distance. but do make sure you are hydrated.
my delta for before and after weight was 2.6kg this morning... so imagine going for the run in a dehydrated state!

Yeah, i thnik they did studies before, it's basically like altitude training, just a bit different in the number of days for adaptation and then after that duration that you can hold that before losing the edge.
Think it is like 10 days before you adapt.

But of coz in order to take full advantage of that for PRs, you'd need to train in SG weather and then go to cooler climates to run races lah. For eg you go KLSCM it's basically walking 3 steps front and then 3 steps back. Only pro is that you do no DNF, while if you are sufficiently heat prepped then maybe still can run same as training runs in SG. Of coz for full effect, train hot and run cool.
It's the same as altitude training, you train at 6k ft AMSL but race at 5k ft, really no diff. 🤣

And of coz like for me, office / server cold, and then home also AC. And training all shaded....... you race fast pace say mid 3 min paces here in SG, surely physics would still screw me one.

Not sure if you watch triathlons like T100. Lucy charles barclay loves hot climates. She usually no issue with Ironman Kona or T100 SG or similar hot venues.

WussRedXLi

Same as Sawe @ recent Berlin which was very warm (some vid indicated 29 deg C ambient and you also gotta factor in the solar radiation, Berlin starts way later than SG). All others dropping , while bro able to gun a 2:02:15.

He def was heat prepped, but no way that is able to WR successful or even getting close to 2hr. (Kipchoge got 2:01:09 there as prev WR, cooler then......2018 was also Berlin @ 2:01:39)

GlassDoor

Yeah, i thnik they did studies before, it's basically like altitude training, just a bit different in the number of days for adaptation and then after that duration that you can hold that before losing the edge.
Think it is like 10 days before you adapt.

But of coz in order to take full advantage of that for PRs, you'd need to train in SG weather and then go to cooler climates to run races lah. For eg you go KLSCM it's basically walking 3 steps front and then 3 steps back. Only pro is that you do no DNF, while if you are sufficiently heat prepped then maybe still can run same as training runs in SG. Of coz for full effect, train hot and run cool.
It's the same as altitude training, you train at 6k ft AMSL but race at 5k ft, really no diff. 🤣

And of coz like for me, office / server cold, and then home also AC. And training all shaded....... you race fast pace say mid 3 min paces here in SG, surely physics would still screw me one.

Not sure if you watch triathlons like T100. Lucy charles barclay loves hot climates. She usually no issue with Ironman Kona or T100 SG or similar hot venues.

got difference if you do your training near noon and race 7am in the morning :ROFLMAO:
personally for me even 2-3 deg drop in temp can see significant changes in HR and pace

WussRedXLi

got difference if you do your training near noon and race 7am in the morning :ROFLMAO:
personally for me even 2-3 deg drop in temp can see significant changes in HR and pace

12 noon cannot lah. So I choose easy way out, just active cooling for above 5k, below 5k (esp 3k) just go all out.
3k is like VO2max territory, i like, suited to me ..... 🤣

Dont know how they do one, for sure extreme heat conditioning. Damn warm during bike leg but at least got more cooling, the initial part of the run at 4+pm also damn warm.

But Ashely Gentle this year gave up and DNF, citing heat and humidity. (she was 2023 Singapore champion, so she can do it one as long as sufficiently prepped)

For amateur age groupers, the triathlon means you run 18k around 11pm/noon time. Siao one.
Coz they flag off at 7am (duathlon long and short flag off slightly earlier nia).
They not like SCSM or KLSCM, bloody early.

GlassDoor

12 noon cannot lah. So I choose easy way out, just active cooling for above 5k, below 5k (esp 3k) just go all out.
3k is like VO2max territory, i like, suited to me ..... 🤣

Dont know how they do one, for sure extreme heat conditioning. Damn warm during bike leg but at least got more cooling, the initial part of the run at 4+pm also damn warm.

But Ashely Gentle this year gave up and DNF, citing heat and humidity. (she was 2023 Singapore champion, so she can do it one as long as sufficiently prepped)

For amateur age groupers, the triathlon means you run 18k around 11pm/noon time. Siao one.
Coz they flag off at 7am (duathlon long and short flag off slightly earlier nia).
They not like SCSM or KLSCM, bloody early.

originally my personally challenge for next year was to go after 1:25 HM. Now I am having second thoughts. primarily due to heat stress concerns. body not getting any younger
so maybe i will go after a 38m 10k since I am enjoying the speed so much :p

still thinking about it... to see if there is something more "fun"

Kuudere

originally my personally challenge for next year was to go after 1:25 HM. Now I am having second thoughts. primarily due to heat stress concerns. body not getting any younger

If you want to go 1:25 HM why not try overseas? I will doing my first race overseas HM next year and see how well I can perform.

WussRedXLi

Cycling more fun for me. But dangerous, but i guess coz last time i played cars before so more fun in a way.
At the side, also more things to tinker and faff around, like changing rotor size, brake pads, play saddles, aerodynamics with helmets and even things like putting water down your front jersey to save some watts (not insiginficant) etc.
As for sports/races, can play duathlon.

If overpush in the heat for long durations, can lead to this. Total peng san and go horsepeter

WussRedXLi

If overpush in the heat for long durations, can lead to this. Total peng san and go horsepeter

Still remember my colleague spending around 2 weeks in hospital due to heat injury (a few days ICU think he was unconcious when he was brought to the hospital)......to which extent i do not know but he further took like another 6-12 months after that to nearly fully recover, speech and cognition etc. Really fully recover or not, not that sure only god knows. Guess emails you wouldnot know coz nowadays got help from computer etc. His cognition was pretty slow and spoke slowly during meetings/discussions when he returned to work. Triathlon also, Ironman 70.3.....

That is why i dont F with heat nowadays, yesterday morning when i felt a bit unwell, i stopped liao. Even though my performance was pretty ok (5k equivalent of 18:20 i think, since 3:40 pace for 6.51k)
This is like the 4th or 5th time i have stopped short due to heat.....no point trying to complete zhun zhun 10k or what.

Closer up vid at around the same angle by another fella, actually looks more serious than i had originally thought but luckily no lasting injuries.

But i think the rest of the season, he was quite affected by this "heat incident" and wasnt competitive liao.
He was in pretty good shape, he actually got first in Singapore.

mrpolo

Is there any unspoken rule that one is not supposed to run in the opposite direction on a stadium track? Was running yesterday at around 5 plus on lane 8 when a stadium staff commented that i was not supposed to do that as i might bump into other people. In fact there wasnt many people in the stadium yesterday at all. Decided not to argue and heeded his advice.

WussRedXLi

Wow......now then i know that Mike Mentzer donated one of his kidneys to his brother (Ray). Mad respect.

Too bad i wasnt into sports / muscle building when i was a teen, else i would have come across him.

WussRedXLi

Is there any unspoken rule that one is not supposed to run in the opposite direction on a stadium track? Was running yesterday at around 5 plus on lane 8 when a stadium staff commented that i was not supposed to do that as i might bump into other people. In fact there wasnt many people in the stadium yesterday at all. Decided not to argue and heeded his advice.

Technically not really.......... It's not like keeping left on PCN shared paths or dedicated cycling lanes, which is "well advised" by signs all over the place. Not really a track person so i dont know if there are keep to counterclockwise dir signages.

Outermost lane (lane 8) ought to be ok esp for 1 single pax, but if got more than say a dozen other people then better dont do that liao. But if lane 1-7 then better don do that regardless of number of pax on the track.
Even stadiums in Kenya got people running opp direction outermost lane this way, but then they are all super pros super experienced so totally no issue for everyone. lol

You got a certain muscle imbalance that needs to run clockwise direction?

sph777

Like this morning, I also felt a bit unwell when trying out a bit overdistance at just LT2 pace, wanted to do 8k if possible 10k. Too warm. Just 6k into it and felt like too warm already....no point risking it for the workout

Imagine doing HM with direct solar and where you can heat soak more coz longer duration, no amount of regular training (w/o any dedicated heat training) would get me to run at this pace. With a wee bit of mid morning/early evening running then perhaps, maybe.....just maybe with a bit of luck and active cooling can finish 10k with a bit of late 7-8am sun. (i started 10k AHM past 7am with all the other folks got cleared, still open lol...but then failed to realise HM joins 10k later wtf...either that or you need to be seeded way way in front)

lVEUEBh.jpg
Still sick time as always

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.