jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Had to cut short the run to send the chewren to school.

Screenshot-2025-10-15-07-23-11-517-com-xiaomi-wearable-edit.jpg

Healthy dist n duration. Continue the routine and keep posting,

rarenick

For those who do not dig dry scooping creatine powder, can also try sardines. One of the highest sources out there, take about 150g of sardines daily, shd be sufficient. Unfortunately, while sardines is super good, majority of people would still find 150g of sardines a bit overwhelming. But a strategy might be to take a bit of sardines and top up the rest with say 3g of creatine powder for those with sensitive stomachs (flatulence, diarrhoea etc)
It contains around 5-10X that of chicken/pork. If you try with chicken, sure over-protein by a fair bit, ie at least 1.4kg of chicken meat. (250g of chicken meat is all that i need to hit 1.2g/kg of protein)

Sardines is a good source. There are also a few others with higher creatine, like herring, pork, beef, tuna and salmon, as per chatgpt.

WussRedXLi

Sardines is a good source. There are also a few others with higher creatine, like herring, pork, beef, tuna and salmon, as per chatgpt.

Think the AI (or rather quite a number of articles) messed up with the 100g and 1kg values.

Per 100g of the stuff
Sardines they said 3.4g to even 5g range per 100g , from several links, But got 1 source i saw is much lower, 2 grams for 453g of sardines.
So with this variability, still gotta supp. But then again, also dont know how true.
Edit again, or is it possible that the sardines is really gives 3.4 to 5g per kg? :unsure: 🤣
If that is so, then sardines might be 0.34 to 0.5g per 100g. 🤣 Coz now i saw1 source giving 3.5g per kg. Basket

Per 100g
Chicken 0.4g
Pork 0.7g
Beef 0,9

I used to buy the Farmland and Fairprice ones, but lately no offer, i think Farmland (Philippines) also they discontinued. Coz got DHA/EPA as well, good Mg and of coz cheap for the protein, and very very convenient to use and add on to cai png etc.
1 can of small Farmland is dry weight sardines around 95g (dry weight ie wo the zhup)
The big cans from FP and Farmland is around 250g of dry weight sardines

I digged further, from a ResearchGate article, seems like the 3 fatty fishes also not so high. Possible that it really is up to (just) 5g of Creatine per 1kg of sardines and not 100g that several links erroneously list, which is a factor of 10X

ppFevqv.jpg

WussRedXLi

So, moral of the story, just get iherb California Gold Nutrition 1kg pack, 30.xx sgd per 1kg.
Amazon prime sales got it down to 25 for 1kg recently, free shipping with Prime (subscribe and then order and then cancel subscription, can always re-subscribe later, it'll work)

Ender

When I started out Creatine, I did check on the internet if natural source was viable to reach 5g a day, and I found out it was not. At least for typical asian diet.

WussRedXLi

Yeah....somemore > 5g (eg 10g) is recommended for the cognitive benefits.
I just use 7-8g, 10g not so easy to take daily without significant flatulence. Already splitting into 3 doses.
That's one of the main drawbacks.

Come to think of it, now need to call my father to see if he has been taking + at the correct dosage, every now and then need to confirm, coz really really elderly....... :frown:

WussRedXLi

Nothing new here, but just came across another vid......

BMD of cyclists is really an issue. Significantly lower than even sedentary people. This is so even for sports cyclists in their teens and beginning to show signs, in the vid there was a case in which the teen is officially classed as having osteopenia.

Not sure what is the root cause. But one theory is that there is (1) no eccentric loading (unlike running, skipping, gym). (2) Cycling is ultra low impact.

The problem is also that cyclists generally dont like running + strength training.

But to be fair, the general population that do not exercise (or exercise sufficiently) / strength train also not that good. Just google the local stats...all there

WussRedXLi

Wah lao, Mica training to sub 2:30 at the end of the year :oops:

But then, got chance i guess. 5k 15:32 10k 32:28 HM 71 mins.

WussRedXLi

Old liao better not la. Not as though train the fingers so strong will help in anything. Once injured very hard for us to recover.
Can start with wall supported hand stand. Put tilam or thick thick exercise mat in front for safety.

Some people very agile. The leg just fall in front like somersault then back on feet.

Last time I train very clumsy one. Will get stuck, don't know how to come down. End up legs slowly crawl down from wall. If not careful, then crash onto tilam. :o

Just tried to 3 finger push up. F man, quite painful on the finger joints, 1 rep, enough...... it's risky alright.
Not sure how last time young i could tahan a few.

WussRedXLi

Interesting

Too bad not much spare income, if not can try TRT (under medical supervision safe one la)

Wah the Jack3d sounds like Caffeine, Beta Alanine and Creatine mix with 1,3-DMAA amphetamine derived on steriods.

c8uP3Nu.jpg

Oh yeah, the vid said it best. Do not train hard (eg LT2 1hr or tempo 2hrs etc) while dehydrated...the risk of a cardiac event skyrockets. Dont listen to what some others i have seen mentioning before (not in this thread or the folks here...the folks here all pros), they only drink water/bring hydration pack on their 25-30km long run. Best if properly electrolyted in isotonic concentration also

:s14: :s16:

@shorecasted9295

7 months ago
DMAA sent me to the hospital back in 2015. It wasn’t jack3d, it was another product called mesomorph, which had a similar formulation. I was driving to the gym and thought I was having a heart attack. I happened to be driving past urgent care at the time and quickly pulled in. My BP was insanely high, I was having palpitations, and it was having a stimulant induced panic attack, but luckily no heart attack. That was my last dance with DMAA. So yeah, 9/10 product, definitely works.

@GlassDoor

The last one Oxandralone = Anavar / Oxandrin (you might have heard that before in bodybuilding)

iQmKGgw.jpg

rarenick

Yeah....somemore > 5g (eg 10g) is recommended for the cognitive benefits.
I just use 7-8g, 10g not so easy to take daily without significant flatulence. Already splitting into 3 doses.
That's one of the main drawbacks.
Come to think of it, now need to call my father to see if he has been taking + at the correct dosage, every now and then need to confirm, coz really really elderly.......
frown.gif

To me, got eat until 5g per day good enough. If nature (food diet) doesn't give so much creatine then i think no need to force or overdo it. If really so good, govts and hospitals would have strongly recommended it.

WussRedXLi

To me, got eat until 5g per day good enough. If nature (food diet) doesn't give so much creatine then i think no need to force or overdo it. If really so good, govts and hospitals would have strongly recommended it.

For the cognitive benefits against diseases, really gotta get closer to 10g. You can search for it.
For my father, it's really against his mild cognitive impairment. Like the pre dementia/alzeimers/parkinson etc.....

No way govt hospitals would recommend such things. No robust multi-center RCTs no talk, and no reason why there will be any in such supplements space. However, for pharma space, sure got.

Side :
Govt hospitals screwed up my wife's RA / right elbow flexion until she lost like 15 degrees of flexion due to under-treatment. Can't accuse the private spec is over-treating / in for the money also (though it does happen from time to time, i know).
It's not that they (public) do not have the monoclonal antibodies and those cutting edge stuff, it's just that the usage is governed by really aggressive thresholds and guidelines. First line (cheap) drugs with side effects and slowly titrate dosage up until lose flexion.......but cant blame the specs. It was only we went private then only we found out she lost flexion, the SGH spec at ARC didnt even detect/tell us. From the blood tests, we know is got issue, but we dont know got affect what part of her body or any risks....just know from the blood test @ SGH that got worsening issues despite titrating up first line drugs.

My own sis also used to be in public healthcare (SGH), jitao came out after ending bond. Buay tahan lol
Now in big pharma (she was actually involved in a JP covid vaccine dev but then failed lol)\
She always got lots of stories to tell.
And yeah, i mentioned to her before........ she says just give Creatine to pops lah. 🤣

rarenick

BMD of cyclists is really an issue. Significantly lower than even sedentary people. This is so even for sports cyclists in their teens and beginning to show signs, in the vid there was a case in which the teen is officially classed as having osteopenia.
Not sure what is the root cause. But one theory is that there is (1) no eccentric loading (unlike running, skipping, gym). (2) Cycling is ultra low impact.
The problem is also that cyclists generally dont like running + strength training.
But to be fair, the general population that do not exercise (or exercise sufficiently) / strength train also not that good. Just google the local stats...all there

I told some local cyclists, dun want listen. Want to chiong cycling performance.

WussRedXLi

Saw quite a few studies on creatine on cognition / neuro diseases but of coz is small scale lah, pre-clinical lah. 2025 stuff.

If wanna wait till large scale n= few tens of K, multi centre double blind RCTs, gotta wait.

By that time i think my pops not around already. Maybe my mum too.

But the funny thing is, my pop's knee pain, they (poly) just give eteriocoxibs and even glucosamine sulfate. Tho the poly doc did say is more like placebo than anything else (and i do believe him as quite a few studies really not showing any benefits and so is mixed at best, but no harm trying as long as no risks and cheap enough).

End up now i really put my father through strengthening of all muscles (last time only glute med), now is i think coming to 3rd week, literally no pain liao.
But still, cannot do chair squats past around 45 deg flexion. I think maybe really cartilage near kosong liao, through years and years of abuse.
Recently i also started him on type II collagen, see how, fingers crossed. This one quite ex tho. :(

Why poly doc never refer to PT? Dont ask me why. In the end I DIY solved (luckily no harm done also)

WussRedXLi

I told some local cyclists, dun want listen. Want to chiong cycling performance.
Luckily i no issue with running (though mileage not really a lot, but still on par with regular exercisers) and no issue with strength training, hopefully sufficient enough.

Been cycling a fair bit. The carry over to running (mainly cardio i think) quite decent, though of coz it is nowhere near optimal as cross training versus other sports.

Ender

Other then the points you made, I can add is cycling is basically sitting down throughout the 1 to 2 hours of training. Carrying your body weight is itself a load bearing effort at base level which cycling lack for those couple of hours training.

WussRedXLi

Other then the points you made, I can add is cycling is basically sitting down throughout the 1 to 2 hours of training. Carrying your body weight is itself a load bearing effort at base level.

Yah man, the upper body really literally kosong.

And i think dont even have to be impact / direct compressive or shear load. Even pulling like deadhangs shd have benefits, though smaller....but i think if can compensate via daily loading, shd be decent still

Interesting....... really true. :s14:

Yes, dead hangs can strengthen bones by loading the wrist and arm bones, a process that stimulates bone density. This happens because bone tissue responds to stress by becoming stronger, similar to how muscles build mass when loaded.

How dead hangs help bone health
  • Loading the bones:
    Hanging puts a tensile load on the bones in your wrists and arms, signaling the bone cells to increase their mass.

• Loading the skeleton:
    Dead hangs are a form of functional exercise that strengthens muscles, bones, and joints through a more natural range of motion.

• Improving grip strength:
    A stronger grip is linked to better bone mineral density and a lower fracture risk, notes ascentchiropractic.com.

• Building a foundation:
    Regularly performing dead hangs can help build a stronger, more resilient body, which is crucial for overall bone health as you age, explains Petra Fisher Movement.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.