jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

Well true also....i forgot abt that.
Im also doing the hamgstring curls (w bands) and bicep curls. And the glute med and TFL and psoas group with resistance band raises. And of coz calf and tib raises. And shrugs. I used to do lateram arm side raises as well but since i think got interferece with my weighted dips, i stopped those. Esp coz now i am doing the Mike Mentzer style (i eased a bit to fail towards the 12 rep range liao with 1 single working set, as far as resistance is concerned)
Compound exercises would be all the usual fun stuff.
Cycling is fun lah.....so many things to faff and play around also. just need to do the strengthening and i dare say solid strengthening that's more towards body/powerlifting levels than just general strengthening.
CCP5 starts too early and too far from my house, if not i think i will join maybe early next year. I use Sava bike can liao. But safety really a concern still, esp with how they beat the lights. Maybe partial join lah, to gauge my fitness/power. Maybe join at WCH area for 5km....heh.

Beat red lights still join ah?

Ender

HR is 96 BPM, at 5:27 min/km. Anyway, I still think a good wrist base HR on the watch is pretty good for average HR, if you look at laps or overall runs. Still useful for post run analysis. But not instantaneous one off reading like looking for Max HR. Look at the regression plot from The Quantified Scientist channel on his review on all optical base HR, and see why.

WussRedXLi

Ride safe.

Do u know your ftp w/kg? If 3.5 and above u are already very good.

I dont have power meter, unfortunately. And my bike comp is just a $38 Magene basic one. 🤣
Luckily been started since 1990s (stopped in the 2010s that time around the heavy haze period and after that on and off via rentals) so no need maps or those stuff.

Even SRY said the wristwatches HR monitor no good (he is not very wrong, but i think mine is still reliable esp on the bike and i wear pretty tightly). I think no Favero Assioma no tok but anyway i dont do cleats so dont bother lah. :frown:
And i think some ones like Xcadey always spoil, then others buay zhun one.

Nowadays i try to be like running nowadays, use feeling one and trust the whole process (and i do feel im still getting faster and faster)

Nowadays I dont have issue with leg strength training (single leg squats, deadlifts) but the issue is that i think there is some interference with workouts....despite only 1 work set, the next day still a bit sore even after sleeping. So need to schedule properly. I think next time i might try is to cut down the number of cycling hours and cut down the zone 1/zone 2 aimless joyrides by myself.......and possibly only 1 fast workout session per week coz i have another fast run session albeit short km.

That's also why i was/have been considering TRT (medically supervised), suspect not recovering optimally (not overtraining per se) even though speel and diet/nutrition/supp all nalled.

WussRedXLi

I'd better train more and smarter.
Ah bang not slow already esp for surges. (check the wattages)
This is 1-on-1, no drafting.

Earlier on you can see the speed she ramps up WCH at Clementi side.
I am also very farmiliar with this stretch @ HBF / Vivo, cruising 40-42 and similar earliler on for past 5km is already my LT2 and some VO2 effort already.

If kena dropped by ladies jialat jialat in real life, very lao kui one. (no excuses regarding bike brand / age)

Creatine would be useful for such cases.

GlassDoor

HR is 96 BPM, at 5:27 min/km. Anyway, I still think a good wrist base HR on the watch is pretty good for average HR, if you look at laps or overall runs. Still useful for post run analysis. But not instantaneous one off reading like looking for Max HR. Look at the regression plot from The Quantified Scientist channel on his review on all optical base HR, and see why.

I don't fully agree with what he says. imho what he says only applies for himself.
My apple watch wrist hr sensor is on par with both coros hr monitor worn on the arm and a Polar H10 worn on chest for runs from easy to tempo runs. For my use case, wrist HR sensor only falls behind for intervals or max effort when the hand swings gets extreme. Between the coros and polar, the coros armband HR has a 2-3 secs lag . And I perspire by the boatloads! Personally tested all 3 extensively as I train almost exclusively via HR in the past.
So i just use apple watch for easy/tempo and long runs. Coros hr monitor for workouts. Polar H10 don't get much use nowsaday as the coros is much more comfortable to wear.

Ender

I don't fully agree with what he says. imho what he says only applies for himself.
My apple watch wrist hr sensor is on par with both coros hr monitor worn on the arm and a Polar H10 worn on chest for runs from easy to tempo runs. For my use case, wrist HR sensor only falls behind for intervals or max effort when the hand swings gets extreme. Between the coros and polar, the coros armband HR has a 2-3 secs lag . And I perspire by the boatloads! Personally tested all 3 extensively as I train almost exclusively via HR in the past.
So i just use apple watch for easy/tempo and long runs. Coros hr monitor for workouts. Polar H10 don't get much use nowsaday as the coros is much more comfortable to wear.
Your Apple Watch has the best optical wrist base HRM according to the Quantified Scientist channel . so is the Huawei Watches. Same experience with steady state HR training, wrist base HR is pretty alright to agar agar not to crossed a certain ceiling BPM. I think the people who question him about 170bpm for easy runs, are new runners who don't have a proper LT1 or LT2.

Personally i use arm band Polar OH1 for long runs, for long duration comfort. All others I use chest strap Garmin Dual HRM. But my target intensity is pace based according to my AI trainer. So HR are just for data collection for the AI to calculate my training loads and form and for myself if I want to deem my run as harder than usual so I can cut short and DNF the training.

GlassDoor

Your Apple Watch has the best optical wrist base HRM according to the Quantified Scientist channel . so is the Huawei Watches. Same experience with steady state HR training, wrist base HR is pretty alright to agar agar not to crossed a certain ceiling BPM. I think the people who question him about 170bpm for easy runs, are new runners who don't have a proper LT1 or LT2.

Personally i use arm band Polar OH1 for long runs, for long duration comfort. All others I use chest strap Garmin Dual HRM. But my target intensity is pace based according to my AI trainer. So HR are just for data collection for the AI to calculate my training loads and form and for myself if I want to deem my run as harder than usual so I can cut short and DNF the training.
if 170bpm is easy run then that runner should be beginner... just need to run more. any run is an anaerobic effort cos no aerobic base to speak off.

speaking for HR.. you guys notice your MAX hr dropping as you age?.. when I started running few years back it was like 182... then... this year the max i have seen is 179 and it is a confirmed max effort hr during tt

xllms

if 170bpm is easy run then that runner should be beginner... just need to run more. any run is an anaerobic effort cos no aerobic base to speak off.

speaking for HR.. you guys notice your MAX hr dropping as you age?.. when I started running few years back it was like 182... then... this year the max i have seen is 179 and it is a confirmed max effort hr during tt
170bpm is easy to run when one is young, eg. in teens and early 20s and some in their 30s. Anaerobic effort can push to max and recover fast. With proper training and good fitness base, some in their 40s will feel 170bpm is not too taxing as well. As one grows older, it will naturally drop. now i am in my 50s, i no longer dare to push too hard (die is ok but not half dead and become a liability to ppl around me). HR max usually around mid 170s with occassional low 180s.

I wear my apple watch and coros watch + hr sensor whenever i run. comparing my Apple Watch and Coros HR sensor (bicep band), they are quite close (most of the time, +/-1)

Ender

Like that, how to PB in Japan? You will miss out all the buffet food if you gun for PB,

Ender

170bpm is easy to run when one is young, eg. in teens and early 20s and some in their 30s. Anaerobic effort can push to max and recover fast. With proper training and good fitness base, some in their 40s will feel 170bpm is not too taxing as well. As one grows older, it will naturally drop. now i am in my 50s, i no longer dare to push too hard (die is ok but not half dead and become a liability to ppl around me). HR max usually around mid 170s with occassional low 180s.

I wear my apple watch and coros watch + hr sensor whenever i run. comparing my Apple Watch and Coros HR sensor (bicep band), they are quite close (most of the time, +/-1)
When did you joined the 50s club?
Max Hr, I never measured before, coz I haven't pushed myself hard enough.
I can only estimate from my estimated lthr which from my latest 10km race (real run) is 158 bpm there about. Assuming I have plateaued, lthr would be around 90% of max hr. So it's around 175 nia.

xllms

I can only estimate from my estimated lthr which from my latest 10km race (real run) is 158 bpm there about. Assuming I have plateaued, lthr would be around 90% of max hr. So it's around 175 nia.
just this yr ;)

GlassDoor

humm.. you mid-late 50s? if so 175 max hr is spot on for someone with a exercise regiment

ps. for those using apple watch.. the max hr is based on age... and is over conservatively low. And so the zones are all out of wack low. So do spend some time to do your own manual input.

Tudo88

Tbh,your body is the best gauge. One should be able to tell the diff between a HR of 120-130 and 150-160.

In fact I also find my watch to be inaccurate. Sometimes I am running at sub 5 pace but my HR is like less than 140. Don't think it's accurate

winningeleven

At Fukuoka for past few days. Went to all major sport shop such as alpen and sport depo. No sign of ASICS megablast and Superblast 2 totally sold out . But then the metaspeed sky / edge Tokyo are easily available. Very attractive price of 27000 yen before tax. Which is less than sg$240 as compared to Asics sg $379. Previously when I was in Tokyo Jan 2025. Metaspeed sky/edge Paris and Superblast 2 were sold out everywhere.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.