jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Came across this.

Seems like just came out from Commando and now in uni.

No 36-37 min no talk lor........ fit zai can do it one, his physique i think within 6 months (easy) w structure can attain liao.
Now is 1k 3:20 intervals possible.......easily 40 min 10k.

See his strides form, already there.....

Diet on point.

No GF........

Sawlid sia, wish i was young again. :s16: 😓

rarenick

For the cognitive benefits against diseases, really gotta get closer to 10g. You can search for it.
For my father, it's really against his mild cognitive impairment. Like the pre dementia/alzeimers/parkinson etc.....
No way govt hospitals would recommend such things. No robust multi-center RCTs no talk, and no reason why there will be any in such supplements space. However, for pharma space, sure got.
Side :
Govt hospitals screwed up my wife's RA / right elbow flexion until she lost like 15 degrees of flexion due to under-treatment. Can't accuse the private spec is over-treating / in for the money also (though it does happen from time to time, i know).
It's not that they (public) do not have the monoclonal antibodies and those cutting edge stuff, it's just that the usage is governed by really aggressive thresholds and guidelines. First line (cheap) drugs with side effects and slowly titrate dosage up until lose flexion.......but cant blame the specs. It was only we went private then only we found out she lost flexion, the SGH spec at ARC didnt even detect/tell us. From the blood tests, we know is got issue, but we dont know got affect what part of her body or any risks....just know from the blood test @ SGH that got worsening issues despite titrating up first line drugs.
My own sis also used to be in public healthcare (SGH), jitao came out after ending bond. Buay tahan lol
Now in big pharma (she was actually involved in a JP covid vaccine dev but then failed lol)\
She always got lots of stories to tell.
And yeah, i mentioned to her before........ she says just give Creatine to pops lah.
1f923.png

Oh she was a pharmacist. Haha... I do know quite many sgh pharmacists due to work.

rarenick

Luckily i no issue with running (though mileage not really a lot, but still on par with regular exercisers) and no issue with strength training, hopefully sufficient enough.
Been cycling a fair bit. The carry over to running (mainly cardio i think) quite decent, though of coz it is nowhere near optimal as cross training versus other sports.
Do multiple types for muscle memory, adaptations, psychomotor, etc. Don't use the skills means will lose them eventually. Those when young learnt alot of skills, play musical instruments, play multi sports, will benefit alot when old. Coz no need to start from scratch.

Kuudere

Came across this.

Seems like just came out from Commando and now in uni.

No 36-37 min no talk lor........ fit zai can do it one, his physique i think within 6 months (easy) w structure can attain liao.
Now is 1k 3:20 intervals possible.......easily 40 min 10k.

See his strides form, already there.....

Diet on point.

No GF........

Sawlid sia, wish i was young again. :s16: 😓

Yeah as student, it's easier to clock higher mileage. As a working adult, if you do doubles on weekends, it's actually possible to hit 120km/week but must plan out well and be a decent runner.

National runner, Richard Heng does about 150-160km/week as a uni student, so will be a good gauge.

Back to this guy, he is very disciplined. Cook his meals + double runs + studies, it's not easy but he managed to do all that.

He lives near me, so doesn't live that far from uni. That's one plus point. Also, don't seem to socialise a lot on weekdays except going out for meals on weekends. Very focused and routine.

Napping is also very important, to run doubles.

For us, working adults, there's a way to run more to peak for races, maybe take 1 AL/week over 2-3 weeks before taper. It's possible to do 3 doubles a week without burning out physically and mentally.

That's something I am looking into. Also, inspired by the meal prep, will look to improve my cooking/baking skills haha

WussRedXLi

Yeah as student, it's easier to clock higher mileage. As a working adult, if you do doubles on weekends, it's actually possible to hit 120km/week but must plan out well and be a decent runner.

National runner, Richard Heng does about 150-160km/week as a uni student, so will be a good gauge.

Back to this guy, he is very disciplined. Cook his meals + double runs + studies, it's not easy but he managed to do all that.

He lives near me, so doesn't live that far from uni. That's one plus point. Also, don't seem to socialise a lot on weekdays except going out for meals on weekends. Very focused and routine.

For us, working adults, there's a way to run more to peak for races, maybe take 1 AL/week over 2-3 weeks before taper. It's possible to do 3 doubles a week without burning out physically and mentally.

That's something I am looking into. Also, inspired by the meal prep, will look to improve my cooking/baking skills haha

Correct, really no joke.......i think him being commando as NSF with the discipline that comes along with it is a big factor at play.
Yeah I think one big factor is also his sleep/nap routine.

But of coz, once stepping into adulthood with the "noises" from career/family, bo bian one lah, sure terok and affect big time. And also once older, those who are over 50s here would know, you gotta also take your aging parents into the picture and likely you gotta really keep tabs on them, and also worry about your growing kids. For me i also gotta worry about my wife's health condition (not a small one just that it is under control) and the associated nuances.

Like my nephew/BIL who is living with us now coz of divorce proceedings, my FIL/MIL asked me to help teach and lecture a bit...... i was like wtf. N level, he comes out of his aircon room never close door one and i am the fella paying SP utilities bill, go toilet never flush or urine over the floor (and i am cleaning after him 2X a day, sometimes with bleach even coz of the smell). actually scolded his father vulgarities / i actually wonder what the heck is actually happening in their family + the divorce. Even my kid also buay tahan him and and keeps his distance and recognises is bad. Aiyoh i myself also stressed/headache...... But what to do, heng is temporary and moving out 1 more month's time, if complain too much others wont be happy, cant be quarelling over this. Now i really count my lucky stars my own kid not like that.
Ok, long naggy story cut short, family issues ba.

WussRedXLi

:s14: :s14:

For nutrition, maybe i shall share this......which i find quite doable. For pre or post workout, can try soba (buckwheat) and soba sauce. If budget is lower, go use those what....egg noodles (flour) that you can get from the china stores selling china products, i get mine from People's Park Complex that store near the Park Road side entrance, $2.90 for 900g.....goes well with the don donki $8.80 for 1L 4X concentration soba (?) sauce. Last time i used to get Somen (wheat flour) from don donki at $5 per 1kg but now they dont do such lower priced stuff liao.
edit - maybe sheng siong might have some good options for egg noodles or similar, but my place no SS.
NTUC Fairprice no good cheap options compared to the china stores.

Very fast to cook, not really artificial flavouring, easy to clean coz basically water would do (no need soap).
Soba is best and healthiest but costly.
Instant noodles and stuff like snickers/kit kat worst, but still would do as fuel for pre and post workout glycogen recovery meal/snack. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Oh she was a pharmacist. Haha... I do know quite many sgh pharmacists due to work.

She got double degree i think, lab, pharmacy, test tuber washer and other areas also got do, then principal scientist, now is paper pusher in meetings. 🤣
Now she tells me pay too high, dont tio aim and kena pok can liao. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Do multiple types for muscle memory, adaptations, psychomotor, etc. Don't use the skills means will lose them eventually. Those when young learnt alot of skills, play musical instruments, play multi sports, will benefit alot when old. Coz no need to start from scratch.

Also, actually not sure if it is broscience or n=1 or not, but from cursorily watching from youtube vids and youtube comments, reddit, quora etc..... it seems that running and walking, rope skipping and similar stuff is just ranks a bit better than sedentary with regards to BMD. Cycling and swimming and rowing stuff (gym or say dragon boat/kayak) is worse than sedentary, wierd and counterintuitive but true from studies.

Rucking, weight/power lifting or real resistance exercises then is up there. And some exercises in Hyrox that are really load bearing, eg wall ball throw.

Also, there is +ve in bearing load to your phalanx (finger digits bones), wrist, elbow, scapula and collarbone, and even spine got upper/lower back differences. But i think once you load it up with big compound exercises like the usual dips/pull-up/squat/deadlift and maybe even push ups, you are more or less good to go. Isolation exercises comparatively not as useful.

Of coz i am just a nobody and watch youtube vids/comments, take it with a pinch of salt and as a non-medical posting.

rarenick

Also, actually not sure if it is broscience or n=1 or not, but from cursorily watching from youtube vids and youtube comments, reddit, quora etc..... it seems that running and walking, rope skipping and similar stuff is just ranks a bit better than sedentary with regards to BMD. Cycling and swimming and rowing stuff (gym or say dragon boat/kayak) is worse than sedentary, wierd and counterintuitive but true from studies.
Rucking, weight/power lifting or real resistance exercises then is up there. And some exercises in Hyrox that are really load bearing, eg wall ball throw.
Also, there is +ve in bearing load to your phalanx (finger digits bones), wrist, elbow, scapula and collarbone, and even spine got upper/lower back differences. But i think once you load it up with big compound exercises like the usual dips/pull-up/squat/deadlift and maybe even push ups, you are more or less good to go. Isolation exercises comparatively not as useful.
Of coz i am just a nobody and watch youtube vids/comments, take it with a pinch of salt and as a non-medical posting.

Yes compound is better than isolation. But isolation is sometimes useful to train/compensate any imbalances and also to beef up certain muscles. Anything that is weight bearing will strengthen our bones. Cycling indeed giving me some problems in terms of bones, hence stopped for time being. Once I am more well rounded, I will slowly integrate back cycling at modest amount.

sph777

Haha that's only possible if u also don't have family yet.

WussRedXLi

Yes compound is better than isolation. But isolation is sometimes useful to train/compensate any imbalances and also to beef up certain muscles. Anything that is weight bearing will strengthen our bones. Cycling indeed giving me some problems in terms of bones, hence stopped for time being. Once I am more well rounded, I will slowly integrate back cycling at modest amount.

Well true also....i forgot abt that.

Im also doing the hamgstring curls (w bands) and bicep curls. And the glute med and TFL and psoas group with resistance band raises. And of coz calf and tib raises. And shrugs. I used to do lateram arm side raises as well but since i think got interferece with my weighted dips, i stopped those. Esp coz now i am doing the Mike Mentzer style (i eased a bit to fail towards the 12 rep range liao with 1 single working set, as far as resistance is concerned)
Compound exercises would be all the usual fun stuff.

Cycling is fun lah.....so many things to faff and play around also. just need to do the strengthening and i dare say solid strengthening that's more towards body/powerlifting levels than just general strengthening.

CCP5 starts too early and too far from my house, if not i think i will join maybe early next year. I use Sava bike can liao. But safety really a concern still, esp with how they beat the lights. Maybe partial join lah, to gauge my fitness/power. Maybe join at WCH area for 5km....heh.

Kuudere

Correct, really no joke.......i think him being commando as NSF with the discipline that comes along with it is a big factor at play.
Yeah I think one big factor is also his sleep/nap routine.

But of coz, once stepping into adulthood with the "noises" from career/family, bo bian one lah, sure terok and affect big time. And also once older, those who are over 50s here would know, you gotta also take your aging parents into the picture and likely you gotta really keep tabs on them, and also worry about your growing kids. For me i also gotta worry about my wife's health condition (not a small one just that it is under control) and the associated nuances.

Like my nephew/BIL who is living with us now coz of divorce proceedings, my FIL/MIL asked me to help teach and lecture a bit...... i was like wtf. N level, he comes out of his aircon room never close door one and i am the fella paying SP utilities bill, go toilet never flush or urine over the floor (and i am cleaning after him 2X a day, sometimes with bleach even coz of the smell). actually scolded his father vulgarities / i actually wonder what the heck is actually happening in their family + the divorce. Even my kid also buay tahan him and and keeps his distance and recognises is bad. Aiyoh i myself also stressed/headache...... But what to do, heng is temporary and moving out 1 more month's time, if complain too much others wont be happy, cant be quarelling over this. Now i really count my lucky stars my own kid not like that.
Ok, long naggy story cut short, family issues ba.
Career is one of the things that could've affected me since i was suggested to do phd part time and work full time. Grappled with the idea for some time and decided not to go for it last month. Not worth the time, money, effort, considering it's unsponsored.

My parents are still young, haven't hit 60 yet, so not an issue.

No relationship to worry about also.

Not hard to go all in on running.
:s14: :s14:

For nutrition, maybe i shall share this......which i find quite doable. For pre or post workout, can try soba (buckwheat) and soba sauce. If budget is lower, go use those what....egg noodles (flour) that you can get from the china stores selling china products, i get mine from People's Park Complex that store near the Park Road side entrance, $2.90 for 900g.....goes well with the don donki $8.80 for 1L 4X concentration soba (?) sauce. Last time i used to get Somen (wheat flour) from don donki at $5 per 1kg but now they dont do such lower priced stuff liao.
edit - maybe sheng siong might have some good options for egg noodles or similar, but my place no SS.
NTUC Fairprice no good cheap options compared to the china stores.

Very fast to cook, not really artificial flavouring, easy to clean coz basically water would do (no need soap).
Soba is best and healthiest but costly.
Instant noodles and stuff like snickers/kit kat worst, but still would do as fuel for pre and post workout glycogen recovery meal/snack. 🤣
Thanks, will try to look up on that and try making it.
Haha that's only possible if u also don't have family yet.
Nowhere close, that's why it's possible to do doubles on weekends + nap in between the day.

rarenick

Well true also....i forgot abt that.
Im also doing the hamgstring curls (w bands) and bicep curls. And the glute med and TFL and psoas group with resistance band raises. And of coz calf and tib raises. And shrugs. I used to do lateram arm side raises as well but since i think got interferece with my weighted dips, i stopped those. Esp coz now i am doing the Mike Mentzer style (i eased a bit to fail towards the 12 rep range liao with 1 single working set, as far as resistance is concerned)
Compound exercises would be all the usual fun stuff.
Cycling is fun lah.....so many things to faff and play around also. just need to do the strengthening and i dare say solid strengthening that's more towards body/powerlifting levels than just general strengthening.
CCP5 starts too early and too far from my house, if not i think i will join maybe early next year. I use Sava bike can liao. But safety really a concern still, esp with how they beat the lights. Maybe partial join lah, to gauge my fitness/power. Maybe join at WCH area for 5km....heh.

Beat red lights still join ah?

Ender

HR is 96 BPM, at 5:27 min/km. Anyway, I still think a good wrist base HR on the watch is pretty good for average HR, if you look at laps or overall runs. Still useful for post run analysis. But not instantaneous one off reading like looking for Max HR. Look at the regression plot from The Quantified Scientist channel on his review on all optical base HR, and see why.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.