jogging and motivation thread

Mila Azul

Many times before. Try not to wear over tight shoes and avoid the shoe giving you the problem.

For me after a few months, the blackened nail will become normal again.

Sometimes the nail will drop off and also take a few months to grow back slowly to normal.

It’s strange to me—I’ve been wearing 4E shoes for years, and only recently started experiencing runner’s toe. :frown:

DigDub

Congenital is nothing lifestyle can help one. No way can diet your way or exercise your way out of it.
Born with it. What can be helped is early detection and possible correction thru surgery. Check with @DigDub .
Ya after 40s better go for a CT scan. Some ailments normal checkup cannot detect one.

WussRedXLi

Congenital is nothing lifestyle can help one. No way can diet your way or exercise your way out of it.
Born with it. What can be helped is early detection and possible correction thru surgery. Check with @DigDub .

Yeah man, sad truth. Just gotta screen it, know it and amass knowledge from the pros (specialists) on how to reduce risks if surgery cannot or only partially fix. Live life to the fullest also.......

BTW that guy i posted was supposed to be a popular fitness / bodybuilder influencer back in the 2010s.......not that he is the massive / bulky type but he was more into symmetry and aesthetics. Died early 20s.

animeonegai

first time using saf issued NB running shoe. very springy and fast, didn't expect that was the case. the only issue was it's quite heavy.

Ender

It’s strange to me—I’ve been wearing 4E shoes for years, and only recently started experiencing runner’s toe. :frown:
My experience, the trauma may not necessary come from the horizontal plane, i.e the forward or sideway motion of the toe hitting the wall of the shoes. My case with the qiaodan pb series, I can run them without the insole. That means I increased the vertical clearance.

Kuudere

Training load impact is cumulative. Especially for seasoned athletes, one or two high training load won't kill you if followed by deloading. Remember that Runtojapan guy who did 200km a day? or something like that. Training load definitely too high even for a Keyan athlete. Because he is a very seasoned runner, the resilience is there to tahan for a long time. But in the end he did break down, coz he had minimal deloading and recovery. but he bounce back was equally impressive, and owing to his resilience as a season athlete.
Jake barraclough run high 200s - 300km/week. I think kelvin kiptum actually came close or has high mileage as well.

US marathoner connor mantz peaks at 200km/week.

But yea reloading is important to let the legs recover.

sales69

Could be new shoes, new/old insole, how you run, causing your toes to press again the upper and front of shoe.

I even got it from a slightly longer shoe. There's empty space so the foot slide in front which cause the toe to hit the front part constantly.

On the other hand, some shoes that fit tighter with barely any space left are fine.

It's a mixed bag really.

GlassDoor

for me blacken toe nails in recent memories have all come from long runs in the rain. foot slide in shoe causing toes to hit the front of the shoe. Hard to notice in the moment as the shoe and feet are both wet. Normally only notice during shower after. Part and parcel of running especially if you clock higher mileage.

animeonegai

Screenshot-20260221-090043.jpg
Screenshot-20260221-090150.jpg

don't know fast or not.

for me blacken toe nails in recent memories have all come from long runs in the rain. foot slide in shoe causing toes to hit the front of the shoe. Hard to notice in the moment as the shoe and feet are both wet. Normally only notice during shower after. Part and parcel of running especially if you clock higher mileage.
the moment toe or where got issue, change shoes liao. esp true if you use that shoe for 1 year + or clock more than 400km. Shoes (running/training/in general) are never made to last.

Kuudere

WINGS Cross Country Championships 2026 - Women Open and Women Master (Winners & Finishers)​

edit - wah tribal triathlon fitluey also got go hoot the Open cat, finishing just after Goh Shing Ling. 18:42 and 19:10 respectively.

Considering Bedok reservoir surface, not bad leh..... not sure about their ages but dont seem to be over 50.

Goh Shing Ling

5k: 18.33
10k: 38.20
21.1k: 1:22:10
42.195k: 2.50.27 (cool) 2.59.25 (tropical)

Her scaling is quite good off 90k/week. And yes, Bedok Reservoir is tougher to run, so 18.42 is a good time there.
Screenshot-20260221-090043.jpg
Screenshot-20260221-090150.jpg

don't know fast or not.

the moment toe or where got issue, change shoes liao. esp true if you use that shoe for 1 year + or clock more than 400km. Shoes (running/training/in general) are never made to last.
It's pretty good, you probably can run 2.4km in 11 flat or possibly slightly under that

WussRedXLi

Goh Shing Ling

Her scaling is quite good off 90k/week. And yes, Bedok Reservoir is tougher to run, so 18.42 is a good time there.

It's pretty good, you probably can run 2.4km in 11 flat or possibly slightly under that

9 mins for temperate vs tropical in reality is insane actually, or 1 min per 4.6km. That means even for 5k it bare minimum can shave us 30 seconds diff over here liao.

Yah good scaling, probably train at that distance majority of the time. 2:50 for FM is 4:02 pace, but then the converse is also true ba, if 5k can only manage something like 19:30 but you are a comfortably sub-3 runner, then........the muscle fibres be like. But of coz, i guess for middle aged folks that could still be a possibility due to age......im seeing on letsrun forums that there are 19:xx sub 3 middle aged runners.
On reddit or similar forums, there are even some 16:xx folks ( not talking about 16:59 lol) who cant go sub-3 even . Of coz youngsters collegiate / cross country type runners who are running that distance more for fun and without specific long distance aerobic training ....also unknown factors like cramps / bone or simi pain / fuelling. You dont train for it of coz bo huat.....same goes for ultra distances like Mont Blanc 175km and humongous elevation gain.

I remember last time we were wondering what 2.4 / 5k timing that sprinters like Shanti can run. heh....... :grin:

edit - i gai siao you if you love racing and dont mind a bit of danger (controlled danger), come over to cycling and do duathlons. I think you'd love multi displine sports. Last weekend i came across Quantum racing team @ Sentosa. Not say racing per se, but really the pace is no joke and it's very dynamic in nature, not just racing on PCN kinda condtions. Quite addictive with the adrenaline. There are also other rides that are racy in nature, but involves beating red lights sometimes, so...... better not, not asking you to go those types. Sentosa quite a fair number of fast fellas sometimes that you can meet, coz over there also got triathletes training.
How much cycling can carry over to running, i think we cannot say for sure as it is quite individualised based on so many factors, but lately got 2 good examples in which it works for them. (generally cycling does not really carry over to running much, but we'll never know, esp if the volume is high + there is some specificity in some areas). Anyway, running can carry over more to cycling also ba.

Peanut15

My experience, the trauma may not necessary come from the horizontal plane, i.e the forward or sideway motion of the toe hitting the wall of the shoes. My case with the qiaodan pb series, I can run them without the insole. That means I increased the vertical clearance.
I got black toe twice from qiandan PB5. 1 of the nail drop off!

Bought adidas with 0.5 size bigger and it felt better. I realise my toe is hitting the shoe even though it's not tight

Ender

Goh Shing Ling

I have seen her trained at SK pcn frequently. Her regular daily runs are like my threshold, probably in the sub 4:45 min pace. And she also do her intervals there on pcn. Not sure if any where done at the stadiums.

animeonegai

Goh Shing Ling

already age group 7... :(

Ender

I got black toe twice from qiandan PB5. 1 of the nail drop off!

Bought adidas with 0.5 size bigger and it felt better. I realise my toe is hitting the shoe even though it's not tight
By right a snug fit should better to prevent movement of the feet. So a little tightness is helpful in theory to prevent the feet moving inside the shoes as opposed to a loose fit. But lately all these super shoes, in pursue of breathability and lightness, their upper have very weak structures. Even with nice wrap around feet, the structure collapse easily to give way to feet movement. Just look at those athleisure shoes , they are the opposite, lack breathability, heavy weighted upper, but structure wise is strong and firm once you able to lock it down to your feet. All compromise here and there. Ultimately resign to fate and live with the problem.

WussRedXLi

By right a snug fit should better to prevent movement of the feet. So a little tightness is helpful in theory to prevent the feet moving inside the shoes as opposed to a loose fit. But lately all these super shoes, in pursue of breathability and lightness, their upper have very weak structures. Even with nice wrap around feet, the structure collapse easily to give way to feet movement. Just look at those athleisure shoes , they are the opposite, lack breathability, heavy weighted upper, but structure wise is strong and firm once you able to lock it down to your feet. All compromise here and there. Ultimately resign to fate and live with the problem.

Is this related to distance? Just curious.....never kena this issue before and seriously speaking i have never paid much attention all these shoe wrapping feet correctly kind of good wrapped fit. Of coz, not incorrectly sized until the heel counter can move up and down the heels lah. I have a somewhat slim feet, normal arch.
But issues like metatarsal bone behind the toes pain lah, PF, shin splint (but way last time before real run training), ITBS, upper tendon of hamstring pain all kena before.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.