MyRepublic fibre - Part 4

ComPuiTer

25 is damn chui even for N15U...should be some distance away then kena this kind of speed.

Homeplug is a hit and miss depending on your electrical wiring.

I think wired>solid wireless>homeplug. He should have upgraded to N56U if wanna run mainly on wireless

Aiyo like that how...still can contact MR to buy their N56U @ 89 :(..Any MR rep can answer my question?

Lehnsherr

Aiyo like that how...still can contact MR to buy their N56U @ 89 :(..Any MR rep can answer my question?

Maybe u play around the settings see can hit 40mbps or not. However if u just want 80mbps no need to do anything liao contact MR for the N56U lol.

Tuakong

If your speedtest is to their local recommended speedtest server (BBQ running on Amazon in Singapore), then 120+ should not be acceptable. If it's 120+ (by which I assume you mean < 130) occasionally, that's okay, but if it's consistently below 130, I think there's something wrong somewhere and you have a justifiable reason to call Support.

Hmmm. Point noted. I will monitor. Yes, speedtest is to their local server in Singapore.

There shouldn't be. I have a similar setup - switches, routers, etc, and can consistently get 150 in every room. I'm assuming here that the speedtest in your bedroom PC was done using a wired connection and not wifi (this is not to say wifi can't comfortably exceed 150 - just that there are too many variables with wifi). Check that your network cables (inter-room) are Cat 5E or Cat 6, check that the network cable you've connected to your PC (in the bedroom) is Cat 5E or Cat 6, and check the speed of the NIC in your PC (should be gigabit, not 10/100).
- V.

Yup. Wired connection only 40+ mbps. Wireless (about 70+ mbps) in my room is much higher than wired :s13:
I suspect it's the NIC in my PC cos I am using Cat 6 all round. All routers & switches in my bedrooms are gigabit.
I will check tonite if the NIC is 10/100

summersky1986

Just whack lah.. this type of cost.. arbo u sign 38 bucks a month for 100mpbs just to get 25mbps.. like that kum lan right :s13:

25mpbs just go back to cable, many cheaper deals now lol

misato

Funny I got MR subscribers replying to me defending MR and the admins keeping quiet.

Noted that you don't have any vested interest in MR; like apple fanboys who don't have any in apple too.

If you would use the mighty search function to check the type of post I have made in this forum, I am sure you will find the word "fanboy" hardly apply to me.

Enjoy your stay in this part of the forum, meanwhile, the reason which you don't want to find out and know about continues to have fun on your expense.

ComPuiTer

do upgrading the router really make a difference? I dont want to upgrade in the end the result is still the same....Any tested and proven source to share?

Tuakong

Yup. Wired connection only 40+ mbps. Wireless (about 70+ mbps) in my room is much higher than wired :s13:
I suspect it's the NIC in my PC cos I am using Cat 6 all round. All routers & switches in my bedrooms are gigabit.
I will check tonite if the NIC is 10/100

Ok, I connected direct from wall lan-point to PC and it hit DL speed 156mbps and UL 76mbps.
So, the NIC is ok.

When I connected back using the TP-Link 300mbps Gigabit router, it drop to 45+/mbps DL speed.

I powered off and On the router and the speed shot to 155mbps for DL and 72mbps for UL.
All fine now.

kira86

do upgrading the router really make a difference? I dont want to upgrade in the end the result is still the same....Any tested and proven source to share?

not on MR.
but im using AC68U + PCE 68
both AC, router in living room.
room is next to the living room with 2 walls in between.
torrenting,hosting , youtube and surfing all at the same time.

ComPuiTer

not on MR.
but im using AC68U + PCE 68
both AC, router in living room.
room is next to the living room with 2 walls in between.
torrenting,hosting , youtube and surfing all at the same time.

that is really impressive, pardon me for the noob question, how do i know which router to buy and at the same time not to buy one that is overkill for my current plan (D= 100Mbps, U = 50Mbps):o

Tuakong

Damn...speed now back to 40+mbps on wired
Dunno what is wrong

Ok, I connected direct from wall lan-point to PC and it hit DL speed 156mbps and UL 76mbps.
So, the NIC is ok.

When I connected back using the TP-Link 300mbps Gigabit router, it drop to 45+/mbps DL speed.

I powered off and On the router and the speed shot to 155mbps for DL and 72mbps for UL.
All fine now.

Boltersdriveer

that is really impressive, pardon me for the noob question, how do i know which router to buy and at the same time not to buy one that is overkill for my current plan (D= 100Mbps, U = 50Mbps):o

Would recommend you to buy something powerful now - routers usually can last quite a long time - and if you buy from MR we cover your warranty too :D. AC68U / 56U are both good routers, as well as the AC66U.

Bolts

jamespang

Asus N66 router wifi problem

Would recommend you to buy something powerful now - routers usually can last quite a long time - and if you buy from MR we cover your warranty too :D. AC68U / 56U are both good routers, as well as the AC66U.

Bolts

Hi Bolts,

I bought my Asus N66 from MR last year and there is something wrong with the Wifi. It used to download at 150mbps but two weeks back, it dropped to 30-45 mpbs.
Do I bring it back to MR for 1-to-1 exchange?

misato

wa got nom nom ;)
Just nice and in time for the pioneer subscribers to consider if they want to continue with MR a not. I do hope it is something useful instead of following the other players with providing higher speed which hardly can be achieved outside of SG.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.