TV repair discussion thread (consolidated)

blue00

Haiz....hubbie watch soccer halfway tv give way...no pwr at all....
dun even hv standby light.
No sound no picture no nothing.
Change socket oso no respond.

Check with sharp "tor gor" n they say mabbie powerboard fail.
Just to come and chk need $120 b4 gst and if reali pwrboard then $180 more.
Total is $300 + 7% lor.

Tv onli 3year 4 mth.....warranty no more.

Anybody guru can help adv if I should repair or should I juz get a new set?

If new set any recommendation for below 1.4K and 46-47 inch?

3 year 4 mth only...very xim tia......

TIA

u want a tv last 10 yrs?

those were the days....

electronics stuff nowadays usually spoil after 1- 5 years...

blue00

Any brand to recommend?
Stuck between Sony, Samsung and LG.
Some say Sony hard to get spare parts but pic veli nice.
Samsung made in china and LG made in msia.
then the sales tell me LG beta then Samsung and cheeper.
we very basic use. onli soccer and kids watch cartoon.
need just a mid range? below 1.4K
Many Many Thanks.

get a tv with 3 years warranty best..

Reborn

my led tv analog and av blank screen. works when using hdmi or dvb-t tuner. is it worth it to repair if i get those non authorised tv repair man to do it ?

civicguy

Samsung LED TV broke down after 2 years only... very bad experience with samsung repair :(

Came and then replaced my LED TV power panel... said possibly another panel behind spoilt but no parts.. so only replace power panel.... ok. no problem but then indeed, the TV still not working after a few days..

again, go through the whole process of calling and waiting for them to call back. Had to keep chasing for an appointment. After 3-5 days, finally appointment today again.

Same guy came very late for appointment and suddenly said my front whole panel spoilt when I showed him videos of how my TV spoilt. When asked a bit more questions on why, came up with all kinds of stories. He has a back panel part with him but said it is not this part spoilt. All his explanation do not even make sense and logic one.

Say must go back and indent the front panel... looks like TV has to wait another few weeks again :(

cscs3

Any brand to recommend?
Many Many Thanks.

Is true for SONY. Anyway, SONY also made in Malaysia.

ABuNeNe

I've this Toshiba REGZA LCD TV 37" 37AV550E which will turn off the display (sound still playing) after power on about 30 mins.

Any idea what's wrong and how to fix it?

prestosa

Hi all brands hook the same story when panel is spoilt . Mine LG 42LW5700 using for 2yrs 20 months . The service man told me the panel pcb corroded and no warranty on that . I told them show me how the moisture goes into tv and corroded the pcb . All can't proof to me . Gtg to complain lg center , anyone face this problem

FinchGuy

Any brand to recommend?
Many Many Thanks.

Panasonic. Very tahan!!

Bieffe

Hi all brands hook the same story when panel is spoilt . Mine LG 42LW5700 using for 2yrs 20 months . The service man told me the panel pcb corroded and no warranty on that . I told them show me how the moisture goes into tv and corroded the pcb . All can't proof to me . Gtg to complain lg center , anyone face this problem
moisture enter due to high humidity. But under warranty they should change. Pls call LG to fight.

Bieffe

I've this Toshiba REGZA LCD TV 37" 37AV550E which will turn off the display (sound still playing) after power on about 30 mins.

Any idea what's wrong and how to fix it?
should be a capacitor.

absolute.raaj

Hey everyone,
My Samsung LCD tv 40 inch
(Coming to 4 years) was kinda dying a slow death.
Sometimes it takes like 30 mins plus to switch on...
Yesterday took an hour just to switch on.
Even the colors specially black will change to white or pink sometimes.

Tried looking at the forums,
Found one number of a tv repair men..
I called him and he came over to repair.
Charged me $90 bucks to fix the coloring and the power supply that was giving problems.

He basically changed the the capacitors *i think* and the color board or something like that.

Charged me $90 bucks... Definitely worth repairing for someone who doesn't want to buy a new tv yet.

Basically,
I asked him on the phone..
He cudnt give a definite answer to the problem, he said he needs to come and have a look.
But he estimated at $90
And he did say, if it's damage done needs fixing above $90, he will inform me.. And then up to me.
If I choose to say no, I just have to pay for his transport $20.
Otherwise the $90 I paid (includes his transport).

Sincere and Genuine Uncle, not someone who is like a salesman purposely wanting to charge extra.

So for those who wanna save cost,
Try the uncle.
Definitely recommended.
Since he saved my life (I need tv!) lol
Thought I could help him get more business.

His name : Mr. Ho
Number : 6252 4555

Do pass this message around for those looking for a reliable tv repairemen.

Or those planning to sell to kana guni,
Might as well get it repaired from him then sell as secondhand.. Still can profit minimum of $100 (better than nothing).

bagger 288

my samsung hdtv when i connect to hdmi port 1 the screen like a bit blur, what's the issue?

fatboy9174

My LG tv just went dead on me. It is still under warranty. The earliest date the tech can come is next tues. Can i send it to the service centre myself to reduce waiting time?

valenti

my samsung lcd tv having those green tints on darken images.. any workaround on this or gg liao?

discoburg

My Philips UA-46EH5306 just died on me, the display that is. Was watching a program then the screen hanged but the sound still plays on. Stop the tv and re-powered it and sounds still playing but display is dark but can see a line of two =. After a min of two, a blue line appeared on the top of the screen. Repairable?

Smartypants

Not entirely sure if this is the right place to ask, but is there any place where you can sell faulty tvs ? My tv can power on but the buttons are dodgy (probably could be fixed).

gimkeat

Hey everyone,
My Samsung LCD tv 40 inch
(Coming to 4 years) was kinda dying a slow death.
Sometimes it takes like 30 mins plus to switch on...
Yesterday took an hour just to switch on.
Even the colors specially black will change to white or pink sometimes.

Tried looking at the forums,
Found one number of a tv repair men..
I called him and he came over to repair.
Charged me $90 bucks to fix the coloring and the power supply that was giving problems.

He basically changed the the capacitors *i think* and the color board or something like that.

Charged me $90 bucks... Definitely worth repairing for someone who doesn't want to buy a new tv yet.

Basically,
I asked him on the phone..
He cudnt give a definite answer to the problem, he said he needs to come and have a look.
But he estimated at $90
And he did say, if it's damage done needs fixing above $90, he will inform me.. And then up to me.
If I choose to say no, I just have to pay for his transport $20.
Otherwise the $90 I paid (includes his transport).

Sincere and Genuine Uncle, not someone who is like a salesman purposely wanting to charge extra.

So for those who wanna save cost,
Try the uncle.
Definitely recommended.
Since he saved my life (I need tv!) lol
Thought I could help him get more business.

Do pass this message around for those looking for a reliable tv repairemen.

Or those planning to sell to kana guni,
Might as well get it repaired from him then sell as secondhand.. Still can profit minimum of $100 (better than nothing).

My 3 years old Philips 40 inch LED TV has broken down this morning. Lost of power, no red standby light, basically dead.

Called Philips hotline, the operator mentioned that the visit of repairman will cost $120 excluding GST and spare parts. I checked with Philips of the availability of the power supply spare part. It was no longer available and I was advised not to proceed with the repairman appointment (which is available only on weekday working hours).

Then I googled and found this thread. Called Mr Ho and he came down within 1 hour (today is Saturday), opened up my TV, identified the burnt component (rectifier) and replaced with a new one. Now my TV is fixed and I am a happy man again. :)

The cost of repair is $90 nett. Mr Ho has mentioned that if there is a need to replace with expensive spare parts, I can choose not to proceed and pay him $20 for the travel and service. He is a nice uncle and really experienced with TV repairs.

Highly recommended!

His contact as below:

Pigsinc

My 40" Samsung LCD just decided to rest today. Use the remote control to turn on but it won't. Changed the batteries on the remote but no use. Then I noticed that there's no red light on the tv itself. Wat could be wrong?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.