About PR status when jobless

wickedpuppy

It is the re-enter permit that is affected. As long as he remains in SG, no issue.
This is probably the short , and best answer ... it is the coming in and going out that need to renew ... not the staying part ..

unless committed crimes of course ... but thats obvious ...

I am surprised a lot here doesn't know the difference between the two between PR and REP ... and wonders why alot of PRs can stay without converting to sinkie for years ... the system allows them to do so ...

There is no incentive or mandatory law to convert from PR to sinkie ... for that , the govt must come up with something....

orwell76

My FIL is getting CPFLIFE monthly but he kena terminated at work for some reason which I can't disclose,so question, would his PR status kena revoked? Would he need to apply re-enter permit if he goes oversea?
He has a HDB flat which is fully paid

He sponsored my wife to be a PR ,so would she kena affected as well?

From now on you sponsor your wife, he can continue to renew his PR on annual basis instead of the usual 5years

1982-1994

From now on you sponsor your wife, he can continue to renew his PR on annual basis instead of the usual 5years
Huh
Instead of every 5 years, he can choose to renew annually? Isn't that too troublesome since the time span is so short

1982-1994

Ok so far 7 pages, summary, PR status won't get revoked as long as one is not doing anything criminal or re-entry permit is invalid

wickedpuppy

Ok so far 7 pages, summary, PR status won't get revoked as long as one is not doing anything criminal or re-entry permit is invalid
Wrong again...

Pls differentiate between PR and REP ...

Even if REP is lapsed , PR can still stay... can't go out then come in ... if go out of SG with lapsed REP then PR is revoked.

Quite a few posts above have already clarified on that....

䏣炆玧示老太

My FIL is getting CPFLIFE monthly but he kena terminated at work for some reason which I can't disclose,so question, would his PR status kena revoked? Would he need to apply re-enter permit if he goes oversea?
He has a HDB flat which is fully paid

He sponsored my wife to be a PR ,so would she kena affected as well?
PR 5 yr validity when near expiry need to apply to renew so ICA may not approve renewal in which case is good wor............cut off SPR get back all CPF money can go back to home country to retire :s8: :s8:

wickedpuppy

PR 5 yr validity when near expiry need to apply to renew so ICA may not approve renewal in which case is good wor............cut off SPR get back all CPF money can go back to home country to retire :s8: :s8:
PR has no 5 years validity..

REP has ...

wickedpuppy

but can you not renew REP? it'll auto get cut off and never be re-approved again :s8: :s8: :s8:

ICA said must renew REP before expiry otherwise cut off means SPR also cut off effectively.
Really ? Where ICA states REP must be renewed or PR is revoked. Meaning PR tied to REP ...

Sauce pls ... someone already posted how many ways PR can be revoked and expired REP while staying in SG is not one of the reasons ... leaving then come back with expired REP , yes.

It's like saying Singapore passport must be renewed ... if you don't go out of SG , can you still be a sinkie with expired passport ?

䏣炆玧示老太

Really ? Where ICA states REP must be renewed or PR is revoked. Meaning PR tied to REP ...

Sauce pls ... someone already posted how many ways PR can be revoked and expired REP while staying in SG is not one of the reasons ... leaving then come back with expired REP , yes.

It's like saying Singapore passport must be renewed ... if you don't go out of SG , can you still be a sinkie with expired passport ?
so far it's never been heard of anyone not renewing REP
TS can email ICA to clarify :s8: :s8:

gnoes85

Before exit sg, make sure the REP is valid when he comes back. If REP expired while he is overseas, his PR will get revoke.

fire

Huh
Instead of every 5 years, he can choose to renew annually? Isn't that too troublesome since the time span is so short

No worries.. for retiree PR can renew 5 yrs. Just make sure his passport has 5 yrs or more validity, do note that the no. of years given for rep is also based on passport validity period.

fire

but can you not renew REP? it'll auto get cut off and never be re-approved again :s8: :s8: :s8:

ICA said must renew REP before expiry otherwise cut off means SPR also cut off effectively.

I renew REP few months after expiration before, no issue. Read previous posts SPR is permanent, want to get it revoked is much more difficult than getting it approve.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.