About PR status when jobless

menthol28

PR no link to work. PR is permanent. Unless he did something criminal that caused dismissal and potentially revoke PR.
PR is not permanent status, it's renewable every 5 yrs or so. Plenty of PRs get revoked, you dun contribute to IRAS or economy or by adding population ( marriage & childbirth) why dafug we need to give you PR?

greenbubble

It is the re-enter permit that is affected. As long as he remains in SG, no issue.

Ronin881

PR no link to work. PR is permanent. Unless he did something criminal that caused dismissal and potentially revoke PR.
PR is "permanent" as long as certain conditions are maintained.

PR has been revoked before and will continue to be revoked if people do not follow the rules.

Ignorance of the rules is not an acceptable excuse.

Joseph12

My FIL is getting CPFLIFE monthly but he kena terminated at work for some reason which I can't disclose,so question, would his PR status kena revoked? Would he need to apply re-enter permit if he goes oversea?
He has a HDB flat which is fully paid

He sponsored my wife to be a PR ,so would she kena affected as well?
No and no
Never heard of such thing

virtualape

If revoke even better. Can sell hdb and take out all cpf. Go back buy a big house to stay. Then apply for job under ep new salary 5.6k minimum.

virtualape

Ok I mean if nothing happens
not sure with the pr regulations. i suppose need to remain in sg for x number of days to fulfill the requirement. i dont recall any restrictions from owning multiple properties for pr.

I want to be Your Canary

PR is only valid if you have REP, the REP has expiry date, upon renewal of REP ICA will review and determine if they will renew your REP, if they decide not to, you sort of losing PR already because once you leave Singapore you can only reenter as foreigner

titusilvering

One possible scenario: PR spouse is the sponsor and they got divorced sometime ago, sponsor remarry and sponsored his current spouse instead.

PR now cannot renew REP, but can still stay in Singapore. Can only renew REP when a new sponsor is found.
Ya if the PR spouse lost sponsor aka divorced, unless got job here working here legally else the entry permit likely can't renew then the PR have 2 choice to make. Lol forever can't travel out sg cuz once exited mean lost PR

wickedpuppy

PR is not permanent status, it's renewable every 5 yrs or so. Plenty of PRs get revoked, you dun contribute to IRAS or economy or by adding population ( marriage & childbirth) why dafug we need to give you PR?
Have you read the thread from beginning to the end ?

PR need not renew ... it is the re-entry permit ...

wickedpuppy

PR is only valid if you have REP, the REP has expiry date, upon renewal of REP ICA will review and determine if they will renew your REP, if they decide not to, you sort of losing PR already because once you leave Singapore you can only reenter as foreigner
Then tell them not to leave SG ... PR wont be revoked even if REP is not renewed ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.