ACCA Students.

cloudreamist

hmm. if reservist. it depends on the schedule. for my batch, the officer is ok with it, provided it don't clash with main activity. you shld get a letter from your school to prove your lesson time also.

caymanS

hey guys i am a NSF clerk. i have a dip in accountancy and finance. i have decdided to take acca night class. but i am deciding whether to take 2 or 3. any opinions??

vbhelper

F1-F3 it is easy to self study?
Do u need to take a lot of time on these modules?
Where to get the notes from F1-F3?

Konnichiwa

F1-F3 it is easy to self study?
Do u need to take a lot of time on these modules?
Where to get the notes from F1-F3?

F1 is easy to self-study. Since u are already a ACCA student member u just need to go to SAA library and borrow the BPP F1 textbook and revision kit.

F2 and F3 are advisable to take lecture because u need good foundation for later modules. If u have relevant diploma, u should get exemptions.

sdsdsd

Hi all, question for anyone who has taken P1 and P3. Does the syllabus for the 2 exams change? If i took classes but for some reason was unable to take the exam do I have to take classes again if sitting in the next session? I was thinking not because its not as dependent on for example tax rules which change from exam to exam. Thank you.

vbhelper

F1 is easy to self-study. Since u are already a ACCA student member u just need to go to SAA library and borrow the BPP F1 textbook and revision kit.

F2 and F3 are advisable to take lecture because u need good foundation for later modules. If u have relevant diploma, u should get exemptions.

Thanks a lot.

Actually how to apply for F1,F2,F3 if I want to do CBL?

is it go SAA to register for ACCA membership, register for online tests?
Are F1-F3 CBL exams held in December too?

sneggg

Thanks a lot.

Actually how to apply for F1,F2,F3 if I want to do CBL?

is it go SAA to register for ACCA membership, register for online tests?
Are F1-F3 CBL exams held in December too?

CBE u mean ? You have to go ICPAS to register both ACCA n icpas member 1st, 66 pounds for ACCA n 130 for icpas. Written exams are held at dec ,u can register thru e acca website, for CBE u need to go down SAA to register. exams are held every month n u get yr results straight away after u finish e exam, so u can attempt again n again from now till dec. Exam fees for CBE is 175 though while written is 50 pounds.

vbhelper

CBE u mean ? You have to go ICPAS to register both ACCA n icpas member 1st, 66 pounds for ACCA n 130 for icpas. Written exams are held at dec ,u can register thru e acca website, for CBE u need to go down SAA to register. exams are held every month n u get yr results straight away after u finish e exam, so u can attempt again n again from now till dec. Exam fees for CBE is 175 though while written is 50 pounds.

from this website, I am abit blur
http://www.saa.org.sg/acca_cbe.html

is it $175 for a paper or for 3? :D

belgarathc

hi vbhhelper, im self studying F1-F3 now as well. i get notes n go thru the video lectures from this site n im goin to get the BPP study text from SAA as well. http://www.opentuition.com/acca/

Thanks for the site, looks pretty good. Are the notes there updated to the latest syllabus?

I would probably self study F1 but take classes for F2 and F3. I wonder why SAA included revision lessons in its F1 part time classes at Raffles Quay.

Any reasons why one should choose CBE instead of paper exams?

IDevil

dun feel bad failing, once you have tat feeling, its gg liao. it should be better for u nxt round since u already did P2 before. P2 is about ur luck with the examiner nia, if he happy come out with a easy type of consolidation for Q1 then most likely u can pass if you can pluck in numbers and draw out whole financial statements. even if figures wrong also can gain alot working marks.

P3 i used to feel that it is very tough, now that im doing the OBU degree, i find it useful to apply for my project. if u r gd at business models understanding, shouldnt be a prob with P3 la. most pple fail P3 cos they cant apply the models into the scenario. P6 also ok 1 just brush up on ur basic like tax computation format for individual & company, know some basic reliefs, partial exemption and capital allowances for computation.

have fun with P papers, these papers give u indepth knowledges. u must learn to enjoy the lesson in order to do well and pass.

Hi Honge, may I know who is ur mentor for the OBU degree?

Does SAA or FTC have any such service whereby student can request a lecturer to be their mentor?

hongge

my mentor is khyron goh. i hardly communicate with him just once awhile email him to ask whether im on the right track. mentoring is important as u will be required to write this communication process as part of the 2000words learning experience.

Kaplan will assign mentor to u, u cant choose ur mentor unless u personally approach the lecturer and request for it. some very gd lecturers like sami do not take OBU students as they got no time.

if u have friends who is a CPA or ACCA member, ask them to be the mentor lor, save the $650 mentoring fee and able to skip the project presentation. imo, the email mentoring provided by kaplan not very useful and over-priced but signed up due to no CPA friends around to help me. maybe u can go the big4 thread and ask for someone who is already qualified to be ur mentor. haha

vbhelper

if selfstudy F1-F3, how long do u think the person is prepared to take CBE?

IDevil

my mentor is khyron goh. i hardly communicate with him just once awhile email him to ask whether im on the right track. mentoring is important as u will be required to write this communication process as part of the 2000words learning experience.

Kaplan will assign mentor to u, u cant choose ur mentor unless u personally approach the lecturer and request for it. some very gd lecturers like sami do not take OBU students as they got no time.

if u have friends who is a CPA or ACCA member, ask them to be the mentor lor, save the $650 mentoring fee and able to skip the project presentation. imo, the email mentoring provided by kaplan not very useful and over-priced but signed up due to no CPA friends around to help me. maybe u can go the big4 thread and ask for someone who is already qualified to be ur mentor. haha

oic, thanks for the info :o

so is it a one time fee?
Does the sch provide any assistance like classes to educate students on how to start and work on the OBU degree?
Or are we on our own?

hongge

ya it is a 1-time fee. the package consists of 2 tutorials + 1 presentation. tut1 guides u how to prepare ur report, tut 2 guides u how to write the learning experience. the presentation of cos is to present ur proj to the grp.

other than the 2 tuts, u r on ur own, but u can email ur mentor to ask for advice. the proj submission dates are april and nov each yr i think. so if u signed now, u got 5mths to do it or even 10mths if u opt to submit in april.

sneggg

Thanks for the site, looks pretty good. Are the notes there updated to the latest syllabus?

I would probably self study F1 but take classes for F2 and F3. I wonder why SAA included revision lessons in its F1 part time classes at Raffles Quay.

Any reasons why one should choose CBE instead of paper exams?

the notes r updated up to jun 09 exams its written there, nt sure when the dec09 be out most prolly end july but i alr started studying using the jun notes i believe its 99% same. CBE u get results str8 away eg if u take in aug n u failed u can attempt again in sep or as many times u want for this exam cycle.

CurryFish

I wan to ask if im going into army on early oct .. is it feasible to take f4 and f5 together for the december paper or take either one of them? I plan to self study as i have cover some of the topics during poly and i can start studying now. Thx alot..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.