ACCA Students.

hongge

if u are rusty with F6 knowledge then P6 will be tough lor.. on the other hand if u are weak in F8 and P2 then P7 will be tougher.

in class i feel P7 tougher than P6 but end up i score better in P7 so it is kinda hard to judge which is tougher. it depends on how well u understood the foundation paper and of cos interest plays a part too.

as for ur last sem, you can start working and do nite classes or u can take P4 as well for extra knowledge and in case u cant cope with P7, can sign up other exam.

sneggg

hi all i like to ask, lets say u only pass some papers on yr 2th attempt, will the transcript/cert show? does the transcript/cert actually show the marks u get and the no of times attempted. will it affect during job searching ?

Biogentic

if u are rusty with F6 knowledge then P6 will be tough lor.. on the other hand if u are weak in F8 and P2 then P7 will be tougher.

in class i feel P7 tougher than P6 but end up i score better in P7 so it is kinda hard to judge which is tougher. it depends on how well u understood the foundation paper and of cos interest plays a part too.

as for ur last sem, you can start working and do nite classes or u can take P4 as well for extra knowledge and in case u cant cope with P7, can sign up other exam.

wow, i am weak in f8 and my knowledge for f6 is rusty too... but anyway i have already signed up for p2, p3 and p6 today... p7 shall be my last paper. honge btw, did you pass all your exam in a single attempt? i feel so bad failing...
honge can post your cert up? curious to know how it looks like..

sneggg

i called n asked abt the cert thingy. they told me there are 3 certs, there will be a cert awarded at level 1 if u achieve at least 85 for all 3 (forgot the name of the cert), the skills cert upon completeing F4-F9 n finally the professional cert upon completeing P1-P3 n 2 opt papers. Cert will not show marks/no of attempts only transcript will n is only available upon request.

Biogentic

i called n asked abt the cert thingy. they told me there are 3 certs, there will be a cert awarded at level 1 if u achieve at least 85 for all 3 (forgot the name of the cert), the skills cert upon completeing F4-F9 n finally the professional cert upon completeing P1-P3 n 2 opt papers. Cert will not show marks/no of attempts only transcript will n is only available upon request.

then no cert to certify we complete level 1? did they mail you the cert after completing level 2?

sneggg

then no cert to certify we complete level 1? did they mail you the cert after completing level 2?

she only told me the level 1 cert will be awarded only if all yr 3 papers r at least 85 marks nv mention there is cert if below 85. maybe some kind soul who completed can advise ? i just registered for acca, nt very sure also. TIA

clockclock

hi. if you scored 85 and above for any 1 of f1 - f3, they will award you with this cert call "certificate of achievement". meaning, if all of your 3 papers scored 85 and above, you will get 3 certs and they mail it to your house. no marks printed on your cert, they only put paper name and a pass, thats all.

from my experience last year

hope it helps !

70niner

Under the old syllabus, you will get a certificate to say you passed level 1, after passing 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3.

Think with the new syllabus, they have changed the criteria to only issue level 1 certificate if you pass F1 - F3 with passing mark of over 85.

hi all i like to ask, lets say u only pass some papers on yr 2th attempt, will the transcript/cert show? does the transcript/cert actually show the marks u get and the no of times attempted. will it affect during job searching ?

To reply your other question, upon passing all ACCA exams, you will get the Affiliate cert. I forgot if they will also give you the transcript but u can request 4 it if they don't mail it to you. On the transcript will be all the subjects you have passed / exempted, with the scores, and the session upon which you passed the subjects.

If the employer wants to see the transcript, they will know your scores. They may not know straightaway if you have failed some subjects, since some people do take a semester off and do not attempt any papers for that sitting. I am not sure if failing some modules and taking a longer time to complete will have any bearing on your job hunting.

evoked87

hi, i think i will go ahead with p2, p3 and p6 first. i cant take 4 modules because i have a 3weeks long reservist in august... it gonna have some impact on my study. now come the quandary, with only one module to take at the next sitting, what can i do with the rest of the time? lol... just feel so upset that got to retake the paper.

another question is p6 vs p7, which is the more difficult paper?

Hello, I going to ORD soon and also taking ACCA.

I understand that you have a long reservist on August, shouldn't there be any classes then?

So will you be missing those classes in August? Cannot defer to those short free weeks or after ACCA? lol. NS is a certain liability.

Take care and Good luck to us. :)

xLioNx

hi ..

just wanna ask a question, I opted to see if my diploma can get any exemptions anot and the result is No. So, do I still have to pay for the exemption fee even if I didnt get any exemptions?

I know this seems like a dumb question but I just received my welcome pack and there is a letter saying I have to pay exemption fees but I didnt get any exemption.

Anyone experienced this be4?

sneggg

Under the old syllabus, you will get a certificate to say you passed level 1, after passing 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3.

Think with the new syllabus, they have changed the criteria to only issue level 1 certificate if you pass F1 - F3 with passing mark of over 85.

To reply your other question, upon passing all ACCA exams, you will get the Affiliate cert. I forgot if they will also give you the transcript but u can request 4 it if they don't mail it to you. On the transcript will be all the subjects you have passed / exempted, with the scores, and the session upon which you passed the subjects.

If the employer wants to see the transcript, they will know your scores. They may not know straightaway if you have failed some subjects, since some people do take a semester off and do not attempt any papers for that sitting. I am not sure if failing some modules and taking a longer time to complete will have any bearing on your job hunting.

thanks for e input! wont the transcript indicate the no of attempts ?

70niner

thanks for e input! wont the transcript indicate the no of attempts ?

The transcript will only show the scores and the exam session of passing. Of course if there is only 1 or no subject passes for a particular exam session, then the employer may enquire on the reason...

cloudreamist

hihi. sorry, just wanna ask around for recommended lecturers for following:

P1: marty windle, philip woo, dominic, chee hay keong
p3: marty windle, philip woo, dominic, nageb

how are their teaching style and lecture notes like?

advice deeply appreciated. thanks!

hongge

hmm... i received the following "low quality print" certs from ACCA

lvl1 cert for passing 1.1 1.2 1.3

after syllabus changed, got a foundation cert for conv pass for F1,F2,F3,F4,F5,F6 under old syllabus and pass for F7.F8.F9

moving on, received a congratulation letter for completing all subjects and asked to join as affiliate. the letter will come a transcript which shows, the date and score which u passed each modules.
eg 1.1 - Dec 2006
F9 - June 2008
P7 - Dec 2008

so if ur employer asked for ur transcript, can show this to him, it shows date passed but if the pass date between 2 papers is too long, ur employer will know u struck in that paper long enough haha. althou i failed F8 once, im quick to pass on 2nd attempt. therefore if i bluff through that i cleared all at 1st attempt, employer will not know unless they asked for result slip. my 1st paper pass was on Dec 2006, last paper pass date was Dec 2008.

recently i received another "low quality A4 print" cert stating i cleared professional level of ACCA namely for P1,P2,P3,P6,P7.

In conclusion for new ACCA syllabus students, u should receive 2 low quality cert for Foundation papers F1-F9 and professional level P1-P7. (not sure if they still issue cert for F1,2,3)

althou after passing ACCA, you are considered affiliate, they will not mail u additional cert for being affiliate but they will send u a package to sign up for 1. by doing so, you can use the ACCA affiliate name and subject to yearly membership fees. i did not sign up as i find it stupid to pay for the title. you can always apply for full ACCA member when u accumulated enough experience for ur PER.

same for ICPAS, they will mail u a package to ask u join as ICPAS-provisional members for a fee every yr, again i find it stupid to pay. you can sign for CPA when u qualify after 3 years.

if u do not intend to join ACCA or CPA, then upon graduation, you will not need to pay for anymore membership fees.

hongge

wow, i am weak in f8 and my knowledge for f6 is rusty too... but anyway i have already signed up for p2, p3 and p6 today... p7 shall be my last paper. honge btw, did you pass all your exam in a single attempt? i feel so bad failing...
honge can post your cert up? curious to know how it looks like..

dun feel bad failing, once you have tat feeling, its gg liao. it should be better for u nxt round since u already did P2 before. P2 is about ur luck with the examiner nia, if he happy come out with a easy type of consolidation for Q1 then most likely u can pass if you can pluck in numbers and draw out whole financial statements. even if figures wrong also can gain alot working marks.

P3 i used to feel that it is very tough, now that im doing the OBU degree, i find it useful to apply for my project. if u r gd at business models understanding, shouldnt be a prob with P3 la. most pple fail P3 cos they cant apply the models into the scenario. P6 also ok 1 just brush up on ur basic like tax computation format for individual & company, know some basic reliefs, partial exemption and capital allowances for computation.

have fun with P papers, these papers give u indepth knowledges. u must learn to enjoy the lesson in order to do well and pass.

alexyj

hi all.. need some advice from all.

i am a part time student.. just wondering whether it is advisable to take f6 f7 and f8 together in one sem?

also i have a reservist trg coming in oct.. anyone tried asking for permission to go for classes?

thanks all for your help..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.